Switch Theme:

X-Wing:Miniatures // Rules Question: Dealing Damage Cards and the Order in Which They are Drawn.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Grot Snipa






New England

Hello,

When a ship suffers damage and it has to draw each kind of damage card (faceup/down), in which order are they drawn?

How does this scenario play out:
"Boba Fett has Greedo on board for S&V. He fires with his Mangler Cannon at a Khiraxz Fighter at full health. He rolls 3 Damage results, and the Khiraxz wiffs defense dice."


I assume it happens in this order since hits land first before crits:
1 Damage result turns into a Crit result in the Modify Step. During the dealing damage step, 1 Damage is cancelled by the shield and no card is dealt. The second Damage is uncancelled and it is the first Damage card "dealt" thus gets flipped up by Greedo. Finally, since crits hit the ship last, the Khiraxz takes another face-up from the Mangler Crit.

Am I right to assume that Crit cards are drawn last since normal damage is resolved against shields first and it would keep the pattern? Am I correct on Greedo's ability targetting "dealt cards" not "shield damage"?

The contrary to the scenario above would be:
"2 damage and 1 crit results land on the Khiraxz."
Mangler turns it into 1 damage and 2 crits. Greedo's normal damage resolves first, but his trigger opportunity is eaten by a shield and then the Khiraxz suffers two critical hits afterwards.

Thank you!

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota



Mangler would change the results before you actually deal the damage cards. So:

Boba rolls attack dice and get three hits.
3 hits become 2 hits and a crit due to the Mangler. During the modify attack dice step.
Khiraxz rolls defense dice and whiffs.
Hits become damage during the compare results step.
First damage removes the shield token.
The second damage is turned face up due to Greedo's ability, and any effects are resolved.
The crit is dealt as a face-up and any effects are resolved.


Ultimately, do what the card says to do... don't do what the card doesn't say to do.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/02/24 02:40:36


DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Gun Mage





First up, shields don't cancel damage. You are still being dealt damage even if you don't take a card, which matters for some abilities.

Let's look at the rulebook:

You deal normal damage before criticals. Flipping one of those cards is the entire point of Greedo.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Correction noted, but I fail to see the distinction.

BTW, Da Kommizzar there is a stickied thread for this type of question.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
Made in us
Gun Mage





If damage is entirely cancelled, by defense dice or evade tokens, you are not considered to be "hit". That matters a lot for Stealth Device, Twin Laser Turret, and all of the Ion weapons. Shields don't cancel damage, so they don't stop you from being hit.

I'm being nitpicky here, but I have played against someone who thought that his shields meant he wasn't being "hit" and therefore shouldn't be taking ion tokens from a turret.

Edit:
The fact that shields suffer damage and not cancel it also matters for this:
http://xwing-miniatures.wikia.com/wiki/Reinforced_Deflectors

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/02/24 01:35:59


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






South Dakota

Adjusted answer.

DS:70+S+G+MB--I+PW40k10-D++A++/sWD391R+T(R)DM+

My Project Blog: Necrons, Orks, Sisters, Blood Angels, and X-Wing
"
"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How it got into my pajamas, I'll never know." Groucho Marx
~A grammatically correct sentence can have multiple, valid interpretations.
Arguing over the facts is the lowest form of debate. 
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: