Switch Theme:

Terminology question regarding casting of spells (specifically Seraphon)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So, Age of Sigmar is kind of rough in a "rules as written" vs. "rules as intended" sense, as I feel like I try to capture the spirit of the warscrolls, but so many issues arise. As such, I am hoping someone here might help clarify something.

When we talk about spell ranges... what is included in the term "range" per se? For instance, Lord Kroaks Celestial spell has no casting range so to speak, but instead asks players to draw a 3d6 line in inches for deciding what is hit. Now paired with an Astrolith Banner which expressly says it adds 8" to spells range, does it make this line 3d6+8, or is that not an instance of "range" as the word itself is nowhere to be found in Kroak's spell?

11527pts Total (7400pts painted)

4980pts Total (4980pts painted)

3730 Total (210pts painted) 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





I would personally take it as 3d6+8. It's just like the magic scenary option standing next to it give's you +1 to your casting score.

So say you are rolling for arcane bolt which is a 6 you get a 5 thanks to the scenary its a +1 so you get the spell off.

The banner gives says it gives you +8 range but as you are god dam Kroak your magic range is determined by 3d6 according to his rules. So you would add the 8 after you roll your range.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/06/10 16:52:40


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'm growing to really love this game thanks to several Comps out there... but man do I wish the language was clearer, and less fluffy, though.

I really do feel like the heart of the rules are excellent, as evidenced by how quickly people found ways to make a strong, competitive game (something all the ITCs in the world still haven't fully been able to do with 40k), but its fast-and-loose writing which keeps a game from reaching that next level IMO.

11527pts Total (7400pts painted)

4980pts Total (4980pts painted)

3730 Total (210pts painted) 
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





NewTruthNeomaxim wrote:
I'm growing to really love this game thanks to several Comps out there... but man do I wish the language was clearer, and less fluffy, though.

I really do feel like the heart of the rules are excellent, as evidenced by how quickly people found ways to make a strong, competitive game (something all the ITCs in the world still haven't fully been able to do with 40k), but its fast-and-loose writing which keeps a game from reaching that next level IMO.


True they are trying to keep it fluffy(which I like) but it can lead to some confusion at times something similar happened to me when I used Vanhel danse macabre which allows skeleton and zombies to pile in and attack twice. I wondered if that meant they could get extra attacks but after clarifying with the manager at my GW they do their normal attack profile. Then they pile in again and you do their attack profile again with any units that are in range which fits what the spell does lore wise since they jerk forward and attack again since well they are puppets.

What has started to help me figure stuff out is to think the rule kinda in fluffy terms. Then the gears in my head start turning. Huh just talking about this just made me realize using the spell could put your units in a bad position because you are required to pile in... well learn something new everyday.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/06/10 17:37:45


 
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





NewTruthNeomaxim wrote:I really do feel like the heart of the rules are excellent, as evidenced by how quickly people found ways to make a strong, competitive game


Glad to hear it! And 100% agree The mechanics are a real gem and on top of great points costings from the community this game has just blown me away over the last year. I love it so much.


shinros wrote:
What has started to help me figure stuff out is to think the rule kinda in fluffy terms. Then the gears in my head start turning. Huh just talking about this just made me realize using the spell could put your units in a bad position because you are required to pile in... well learn something new everyday.


Pile-in is always optional, even under Vanhel Danse "units can...", but then I can't think when you wouldn't want to pile-in skellies as they are the ultimate tarpit!

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

It's hard to see what Lord Kroak's 3D6 is if it is not the range of his spell. This the +8 inches bonus would add 8 inches to the initial 3D6.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM





The ability does say the 3D6 is the "spirit's range", but then the next line says "Each enemy unit within range" - so yes, I would say does extend it 8"

Bye bye Dakkadakka, happy hobbying! I really enjoyed my time on here. Opinions were always my own :-) 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: