Switch Theme:

Mechanicum Rules Question: Rad Furnace  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

The rad furnace's rule states:
All models locked in combat with one or more units with a rad furnace suffer -1 to their toughness value for the duration of the combat. Models with rad furnaces are immune to this effect as well as those of rad grenades. Any weapon with the Poison or Rad-phage special rule only wounds a model equipped with a rad furnace on a d6 roll of a 6.


So... would that affect other friendly units? Say I have a unit of Thallaxi and a unit of Scyllax (the unit that comes with rad furnaces) locked in combat with <insert Legion unit here>. Strictly speaking, the Thallaxi are not "locked in combat with" the Scyllax, as the rule reads, but they are "locked in a combat" with the Scyllax. The only unit locking the Thallaxi in combat is the <insert Legion unit here>, since you cannot be locked in combat with friendly models.

So... my question basically is: will the Thallaxi suffer -1T from the Rad Furnaces on the Scyllax if they're both locked in the same combat against an enemy unit? Or do the Scyllax not count as being locked in combat with the Thallaxi?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Addendum:

Furthermore, if an Independent Character is in the Scyllax squad, would they suffer -1T? Surely you cannot be locked in combat with your own unit?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/20 06:39:20


 
   
Made in gb
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus







Yes, that was how i read it too.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-px27tzAtVwZpZ4ljopV2w "ashtrays and teacups do not count as cover"
"jack of all trades, master of none; certainly better than a master of one"
The Ordo Reductor - the guy's who make wonderful things like the Landraider Achillies, but can't use them in battle..  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

So friendly units aren't affected by the Rad Furnace if they're in the same combat?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




You can only be locked in combat with enemy models, so rad furnace does not affect friendly models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/12/21 03:48:18


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Sounds sweet.
   
 
Forum Index » The Horus Heresy
Go to: