Switch Theme:

Codex DH mastercrafted "loophole"?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Guardsman with Flashlight





I was sifting throught the DH codex, looking at the Inquisitor's retinue options.  The acolyte can take up to 15 pts of wargear.  If that wargear is mastercrafted (say a mastercrafted powerfist) the model could exceed this limit? 

Is this an accurate understanding?

Thanks,

CE

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

First of all, he can only take 15 points from the entire Armoury, not just wargear. Secondly, you can not exceed this limit. If you decide to take master-crafting you've wasted 15 points since he does not have a weapon to apply it to.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




No, he can apply it to his laspistol or CCW (yes I know it's still a waste of points)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Oklahoma City, Ok.

i'd say no also.

"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC

"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC

 
   
Made in de
Guardsman with Flashlight





The reason it seemed that he could take the MC is because under the MC description, it states that only the 15pt master crafted counts against the total wargear limit, or something to that effect.  the cost of the weapon, as I understand, counts against the total point total of the army, but not the characters limit.   Any other model could exceed their 100 pt limit if they had something mastercrafted.

That is, if I understand the MC weapon description correctly.

CE

   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran




Baltimore, MD

No, your understanding of how "Mastercrafting" works, is correct.

Your understanding of how the Acolyte works is what's off. It explicitly states he can take 15 points worth of stuff from the Daemonhunter Armory, which includes both weapons and wargear. So a mastercrafted powerfist would be 40 points worth of stuff from the armory. Hence, it's illegal for an acolyte to have.

Personally, I would think giving the guy power armor would be a good usage of points. =][= Lord pawns off a wound to a 3+ save (so he'll likely make the save) and lives to be a sacraficial lamb for another day.

Proud owner of &


Play the game, not the rules.
 
   
Made in de
Guardsman with Flashlight





I believe I have just been enlightened.

Let me review to make sure my understanding is correct.  My Inquisitor can take a force weapon and and plasma pistol, costing 55 pts, and then buy an additional 100 pts of stuff from the wargear, for a total of 155 pts of gear from the armory.  Is that how wargear/weapons/armory equipment works?

That seems logical now that I think about it.

CE

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yes. Weapons do not count against your wargear limit and never have.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: