| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 01:42:17
Subject: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
To paraphrase the codex, "terminators teleporting within 6" of a model with a teleport homer do not scatter." My question is which of the following is the correct conclusion? 1. Does this mean the whole squad (after placing the central model and completing the deep strike) has to be entirely within 6" 2. The whole squad has to be partially within 6". i.e 1 or 2 of the model's bases are not entirely within 6" but part of their base is. 3. Only the central model has to be within 6" (or partially within 6"), then the rest of the models complete the deep strike (potentially placing 1 or more completely outside 6")
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 03:47:24
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Commonly in 40k, 'within' is used to mean 'a tiny part of its base must be within' whereas 'entirely within' seems to mean 'the whole model must be under.'
it's weird and kind of hazy from what I've seen.
It seems like busting out the dictionary isn't a ton of help, since it doesn't clarify whether within is a binary condition -- you either are or you are not, or it is a partial sort of condition.
I'm pretty sure I'd play it as 'partially within' since almost every AoE rule in 40k is like that. Fear of darkness, Icons of Chaos Undivided, etc.
Someone else is going to have to analyze it for you some more but I think it's going to leave some room for confusion anyway
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 03:58:28
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
I though it might be #3 because after you place the center model is when the scattering takes place. After scattering you place the remaining models. Since the teleport homer prevents scattering, the center model is placed (not scattering), then place the remaining terminators. You still go through the normal process of deep striking with the exception that the scatter never occurs.
Of course I may be wrong. Thats why I posted the question.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 04:00:20
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Longshot clarified the "within" part of the question quite well, but here's my take on the other part (just the first model vs. entire squad).
Deepstriking has three steps: 1. Place first model 2. Scatter 3. Place remaining models
The teleport homer affects step 2 during which the squad is represented by a single model. Therefore only the first model has to be 'within' 6", so 3 is correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 04:31:29
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
actually Adeon makes good sense. since the whole squad isn't there when you would scatter, it makes sense that that first dude is the only one that is affected.
so if that dude in 6", you no scatter!
Now the clarification i'd like to see is whether that single dude has to be entirely within or or within in the sense of disembarking (which means a sliver of the base must be within).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 04:42:49
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
I think it would be just part of the base as is the case with daemon summoning and only be partially under the template, and disembarking when you must only be partially within 2" from the exit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 05:28:02
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
London, England, UK, Europe, Northern Hemisphere, Earth
|
On the same subject: do homers work when the model carrying the homer is in a vehicle?
Andrew.
|
"Cheese is anything that your army can do that mine can't.
Or else anything that kills my Marines really well.
Sad fact of life." - Skyth on WarSeer |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 05:34:43
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
I dont think the homer adresses it, so I dont think so. You messure from the model with the homer, which would be difficult to determine if it is inside a rhino/razorback/land raider.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 10:06:06
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
I'd play it like a Chaos Icon that isn't on the table. Maybe not RAW, but close enough.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 11:45:19
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
heres another question. Can you use an opponents teleport homer if you are teleporting your own terminators?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 11:45:55
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
The intent is probably no, but does the RAW allow it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 12:18:55
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
probably, just like you can use someone else's necrons for WBB if you're necrons
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 12:31:32
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
Original question, option #3
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/11 23:46:05
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Icons cannot be used to summon while in a vehicle because they have a rule which says they may not.
Teleport Homers do not have such a restriction so they may, of course, be used when on a model embarked on a vehicle.
Of course, you will have to come up with an acceptable gaming convention to both players to determine where the model inside the vehicle is, but that shouldn't be any more difficult then agreeing to remove the models from the table when they embark on the vehicle (as that isn't in the rules either).
And yes, RAW you can use other player's teleport homers with your own teleporting models. But be warned that the game can really start to break down if you allow either army to use each other's wargear. Especially if you are playing the same army type (Necron vs. Necron or Bug vs. Bug to name probably the two worst cases of this). The game is really constructed upon the (unsaid) premise that each army may only utilize it's own special rules unless those rules specifically say that they effect the enemy army.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/12 01:00:07
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
I never intended to actually use some one elses teleport homer. I just wanted to know if one could, because there is some one at my local store that might actually do it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/12 05:11:10
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
London, England, UK, Europe, Northern Hemisphere, Earth
|
Posted By Me_Person on 06/12/2006 6:00 AM I never intended to actually use some one elses teleport homer. I just wanted to know if one could, because there is some one at my local store that might actually do it.
You've got to admit though -- it would be a hilarious trick to pull :-D Andrew.
|
"Cheese is anything that your army can do that mine can't.
Or else anything that kills my Marines really well.
Sad fact of life." - Skyth on WarSeer |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/12 07:10:16
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Orlando, Florida
|
Especially because I play a lysander wing!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/12 07:40:18
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Eye of Terror
|
Teleport homers work for Deathwatch kill teams.
|
Loved by many!!! Don't you know it too! Heh. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|