| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 02:52:11
Subject: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dives with Horses
|
Situation: A minefeild is dropped under where a vehicle is sitting, when the vehicle tries to move it sets off the mine and takes a 'crew stunned' result. What happens? A. The vehicle moves and is then stunned and can't move next turn. B. The vehicle does not move. I would opt for B which is how we played it but it is quite unclear in the rules how this is dealt with.
|
Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.
engine
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 04:43:31
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
I'd guess it behaves in the same way as a tank that is stunned by a DoG attempt while making a tank shock.
If a vehicle is stunned by a DoG attempt, it stops right in front of the guy who shot it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 04:43:58
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
(the reason I draw that parallel is that it's the only other circumstance I can think of where a vehicle is damaged in the middle of making a movement action)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0020/06/14 05:05:09
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
So, it would be stunned only for the turn during which it was hit then? It seems a bit much for it to be stunned for 2 turns...especially as it will still be on the minefield the next time it tries to move...
If there is something in the rules to the effect that you remove all stunned/shaken counters at the beginning of your own turn, that would make the most sense. I seem to recall such a thing, but I may be thinking of some other game with better writers...
|
-S
2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 08:37:16
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
I'd suggest following the example for vehicles in difficult terrain. Its a different case but has parrells because it's the vehicle's movement triggering a result that prevent's it's own movement. The requirement there is to stop immidately and not move at all.
Similarly I think that the vehicle would take the stunned straight away in it's own turn, and be recovered by the begining of it's next turn after a full game turn has passed as normal.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 09:37:18
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Let's pretend we're not considering Tank Shock/DoG as options for ruling.
Crew Stunned, p67: "The vehicle is seriously knocked about by the attack, scrambling the targeting information and temporarily losing control. The vehicle may not move or shoot next turn."
If you read by RAW and don't take into account the corollary evidence under Death or Glory, the vehicle still may move and shoot this turn but may not move or shoot next turn. It doesn't say 'until next turn' it says 'next turn,' which encompasses its game turn only.
Now, where it gets muggy!
Does 'next turn' apply to your next turn, or the next single turn. I think this kind of thing has been discussed a lot (e.g. whether a 'turn' refers to a 'game turn' like major psychic powers or a 'player turn'/'round of assault' like a Waaagh - let me know if I'm remembering waagh wrong)
There're two potential readings if you assume that tank shock is not an issue. None of these rulings suggest the vehicle stops in its tracks. NO MATTER WHAT, the vehicle gets to act normally in the turn it is injured by the mines. This is unless we apply other rules to the situation which do not seem to apply by RAW (tank shock, dangerous terrain tests)
Reading 1: Assumes that 'next turn' refers to the next player turn, e.g. the opponent's. This is lame. The tank may move and shoot normally. It is unable to move or shoot in its opponent's next turn, but may then shoot and move again in its turn.
Reading 2: Assumes that 'next turn' refers to the next game turn, e.g. the entirety Turn 2 or what have you. This would also result from assuming that 'next turn' meant 'during the player's own next player turn.' The tank may move and shoot normally. It is unable to move or shoot in the next game turn.
So unless you ad lib the rules a little and start following reasoning from the tank shock or dangerous terrain style rules you always get to finish your movement and shoot. This seems reasonable to me. But you should read it as 'the player's next turn' or 'the next game turn,' so that the damage effect matters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 09:42:16
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
If you start following tank shock or dangerous terrain, the conclusion changes.
Premises from readings of dangerous terrain (p61) and tank shock (p71) 1) If a vehicle is immobilized or destroyed in dangerous terrain, it halts immediately and suffers the damage results specified immediately that turn. 2) If a vehicle is stunned during a DoG attempt, the vehicle stops immediately. It may still shoot, but may not move further, and suffers the stunned result in the next player or game turn (as discussed above). The tank shock rules are fairly clear that all that happens is that the vehicle suffers the stunned result as per the rules for stunned, which means it occurs next turn. Since the only thing the DOG attempt applies is the inability to move any further, we must assume that the vehicle may still shoot this turn (reread the rules on 'stunned' if you are confused here).
If I were to run into the situation myself as a judge, I would probably take the strictest reading, which is that you can finish your move and shoot, but may not shoot/move next turn.
If I were to run into the situation as a player and it was my vehicle, I would have it stop moving and still be able to shoot, but be stunned next turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 11:33:49
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
This should be added to the Dakka FAQ. Happypants or Longshot can you post a reminder in that thread?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/06/14 18:55:30
Subject: RE: Vehicles hit by Castillian mines.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Doing so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|