| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 08:05:27
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
Hi all! I have an interesting rules question for you today.
So the new Mortificator consul looks great, basically a Praevian for Dreadnoughts. However, there is an interesting rules interaction here that I want to hear what others think about. So, the Mortificator has a special rule:
"The effects of the Mortificator's Legiones Astartes rule do not confer to the Dreadnoughts in this unit in anyway."
This sounds pretty straight forward, but the Alpha Legions Mutable Tactics makes me wonder. So let's say that I choose Tank Hunter for my mutable tactics, would these rules be given to the Dreadnoughts?
Tank Hunter only requires ONE model in the unit to affect the whole unit:
"A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule re-rolls failed Armour Penetration rolls".
So the question here is; since Tank Hunter only requires one model in the unit to affect the whole unit, and the Mortificator gets that rule, will the Dreadnoughts also get to re-roll AP rolls? Or will the effects be nullified completely, even if the Dreadnoughts themselves do not get the Mutable Tactics rule and it's just the Mortificator that grants them the effect?
|
Alpharius? Never heard of him. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 08:58:20
Subject: Re:Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If Tank Hunter rule comes from Legiones Astartes rule then it doesnt effect Dreadnoughts.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 1614/09/01 13:47:16
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
Legiones Astartes grants Mutable Tactics, which won't affect the Dreadnoughts. It does affect the Mortificator though, and he gets Tank Hunter from it if chosen, and then the rule itself only requires that one model in the unit has it.
That's my reasoning.
|
Alpharius? Never heard of him. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 10:06:56
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Moustache-twirling Princeps
|
alleus wrote:Legiones Astartes grants Mutable Tactics, which won't affect the Dreadnoughts. It does affect the Mortificator though, and he gets Tank Hunter from it if chosen, and then the rule itself only requires that one model in the unit has it.
That's my reasoning.
I'd agree with that - Tank Hunter would normally confer across, but the Mortificator rule stops that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 10:17:51
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
But Tank Hunter does not confer to the Dreadnoughts. All that Tank Hunter does is allow the unit to re-roll AP rolls if one model in the unit has the Tank Hunter rule.
So again, my reasoning is that nothing is conferred to the Dreadnoughts, they just benefit from the rules since the rules themselves only need one model to have it, which in this case is the Mortificator.
|
Alpharius? Never heard of him. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 10:40:46
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Legiones Astartes rule is full of contradictions. Completely rule unto itself. There is nothing more messy in the current ruleset.
For example if i put a WB Centurion in a squad of human Militia does it roll 3d6 for morale tests? Or even better a IW Centurion in a Militia squad who can completely ignore morale. I would say no but there are different opinions.
Also can AL Centurion in a unit of different allied Legiones Astartes buff them with Tank Hunter? I would say no but you could argue that he indeed does.
Your reasoning completely invalidates the rule "The effects of the Mortificator's Legiones Astartes rule do not confer to the Dreadnoughts in this unit in anyway.". You would have no Tank Hunter if not for AL Legiones Astartes rule and Dreads cant use Legiones Astartes rule. Therefore you cant have it.
In other words Legiones Astartes gives you Tank Hunter but the same Legiones Astartes cant give the Dreads the same Tank Hunter. AL gets Tank Hunter only through Legiones Astartes and Dreads happen to ignore Legiones Astartes bonuses all together.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/16 11:22:17
Subject: Alpha Legion Mortificator - Mutable Tactics
|
 |
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster
|
Yup, you are probably right. Someone in a Facebook group I'm in put it the same way. I'm on the same page now :-)
I have still sent an e-mail to FW in order for them to clarify it in a FAQ, so no one else gets my ideas.
|
Alpharius? Never heard of him. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|