Switch Theme:

Imperial Guard - Valkyrie rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi all.

I am hoping for some clarity of the rules of the Valkyrie please.

When it says units can disembark at any time during the movement, if I have several units in the vehicle do they all have to disembark at the same time?

Eg: I am moving 25 inches. I want to deploy Command Squad 1 after 10 inches and Command Squad 2 after 20 inches.

When it says that if the vehicle moved over 20 inches, disembarking units must roll a dice - does this movement apply to the vehicle’s total movement or the distance moved at disembarkation?

Eg; The Valkyrie moves 25 inches but disembarked it’s unit after 18 inches. Do they need to take that test?
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Rules for grav-chute insertion, including the FAQ change:

Models may disembark from this Vehicle at any point during its move, but if they do they cannot move further during this phase; if the Valkyrie moves 20" or more, you must roll a D6 for each model disembarking. On a 1, that model is slain. Models that disembark in this manner must be set up more than 9" from any enemy models.

Regular transports have no requirement for all passengers to disembark at the same time, so I see no reason why they would have to do so via grav-chutes. It looks like there is nothing stopping you from dropping different units at different points along your move.

I think the intention is very much that if the Valkyrie's total move is more than 20" then you have to roll for deaths. If it said 'if the Valkyrie has moved 20" or more' then you might have an arguement, but that is not the wording. This makes sense, because the danger comes from the aircraft dropping people off at a higher speed, and this would still be a problem if it happened near the start of the move rather than near the end.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





So to be clear - I could pop into hover mode, use a stratagem to keep my -1 to hit, move 19 inches, deploy 3 units anywhere along that line and do so within 9 inches of an enemy unit as I didn’t travel the extra inch?

Or is the final bit relating to disembarking apply to all disembarkation while moving?
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Sumilidon wrote:
So to be clear - I could pop into hover mode, use a stratagem to keep my -1 to hit, move 19 inches, deploy 3 units anywhere along that line and do so within 9 inches of an enemy unit as I didn’t travel the extra inch?

Or is the final bit relating to disembarking apply to all disembarkation while moving?


No.

If you are using Grav-chute insertion, the Greater than 9" from enemy models always applies.

What would not apply, in your example, is the d6 roll/model.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Rookie Pilot




Brisbane

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Sumilidon wrote:
So to be clear - I could pop into hover mode, use a stratagem to keep my -1 to hit, move 19 inches, deploy 3 units anywhere along that line and do so within 9 inches of an enemy unit as I didn’t travel the extra inch?

Or is the final bit relating to disembarking apply to all disembarkation while moving?


No.

If you are using Grav-chute insertion, the Greater than 9" from enemy models always applies.

What would not apply, in your example, is the d6 roll/model.


Within 9" is allowed if he uses the Precision Drop Stratagem, down to a minimum of 5"... So we get to completely ignore the 9" rule in this situation!

I will not rest until the Tabletop Imperial Guard has been reduced to complete mediocrity. This is completely reflected in the lore. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Slayer6 wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Sumilidon wrote:
So to be clear - I could pop into hover mode, use a stratagem to keep my -1 to hit, move 19 inches, deploy 3 units anywhere along that line and do so within 9 inches of an enemy unit as I didn’t travel the extra inch?

Or is the final bit relating to disembarking apply to all disembarkation while moving?


No.

If you are using Grav-chute insertion, the Greater than 9" from enemy models always applies.

What would not apply, in your example, is the d6 roll/model.


Within 9" is allowed if he uses the Precision Drop Stratagem, down to a minimum of 5"... So we get to completely ignore the 9" rule in this situation!


Yes, but only if you have a Militarum Tempestus Detachment; just an Astra Militarum detachment(e.g. Steel Legion) with Scions wouldn't grant the Strat(and it is only Tempestus units that it works on anyway).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: