Switch Theme:

Use this Stratagem...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Alot (maybe all?) of the stratagems in the 9ed dexes are very specific on when you use them. But most of the older dexes have stratagems that say "use in the fight phase" or "use in the shooting phase".

For example, a strat says "use in the fight phase, unmodified wound rolls of 6 cause 1 mortal wound in addition to the normal damage".
Can I use this strat after I have made my wound rolls to see how many 6 i roll? Since this is in the fight phase.

   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





If you rolled and then played it, it would have no effect. Those rolls happened before you played the strat.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Kryddbov wrote:
Alot (maybe all?) of the stratagems in the 9ed dexes are very specific on when you use them. But most of the older dexes have stratagems that say "use in the fight phase" or "use in the shooting phase".

For example, a strat says "use in the fight phase, unmodified wound rolls of 6 cause 1 mortal wound in addition to the normal damage".
Can I use this strat after I have made my wound rolls to see how many 6 i roll? Since this is in the fight phase.


Are you sure this is the entire text of the stratagem ? Doesnt it say something like play this stratagem at the start of the fight/shooting phase ? Can you provide a full quote of the stratagem ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/25 09:22:47


 
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Sure thing:

Use this stratagem in the fight phase. Select one Beast of Nurgle unit from your army. Until the end of the phase, when resolving an attack made by a model in that unit, an unmodified wound roll of 6 inflicts 1 mortal wound in addition to any other damage.

   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Ok, the stratagem says when resolving an attack made by a model. The rules terms glossary on. p. 366 says that resolving an attack is the same as making an attack. After you have rolled for your attack(s), they are resolved, and you cant use the stratagem anymore. Wound rolls come after attack rolls. You must use that stratagem before making attack rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/25 10:22:17


 
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks, that makes sense and clears it up.
Follow up question. Since Beasts of nurgle have a random number of attacks, can I use the strat after rolling to determine the number of attacks?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, because you determine the number of attacks before you actually roll for the attacks. So this also happens before you make your attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/02/25 12:03:44


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: