Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/17 16:51:23
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
If my opponent has a stratagem that says "roll one fewer dice," then normally I would have to roll one die for the Psychic test.
But then if I use my stratagem....
GK Codex p61 wrote:Each time a Psychic test is taken for that unit, roll one additional D6 and discard one of the dice.
Does this still mean that I will be at only a single die in the end?
I start with two dice, opponent removes one die with strat, I use strat to roll an extra die bumping me back up to two, then I discard one of those two dice.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/17 18:38:09
Subject: Re:GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Sounds right to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/17 19:31:36
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/17 22:00:17
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Would discarding a single die fulfill the condition of both my and opponent's stratagem, though?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/17 22:08:18
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, why would it? You have two rules to satisfy, not one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/18 00:56:50
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I discard a single die. I check my opponent's stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. I check my stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. If I discard two dice, then I have not discarded only one die per the instructions on the stratagems. I can resolve both stratagems simultaneously.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/18 01:10:48
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
It's your turn, which means you pick the order, not that you get to decide they're the same time. Things that happen "simultaneously" are said to happen in the order decided by the player whose turn it is. Therefore you choose which happens first, but can't arbitrarily decide that they're now at the same time and therefore the same requirement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/18 01:11:09
8000
2700 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/18 01:13:27
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I discard a single die. I check my opponent's stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. I check my stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. If I discard two dice, then I have not discarded only one die per the instructions on the stratagems. I can resolve both stratagems simultaneously.
Wrong parsing of the rules. You have to execute each rule as it is written. Neither rule says, "if you haven't discarded a dice, discard a dice". They both say "discard a dice". So you have to discard a dice for each rule, which means two dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/18 12:52:49
Subject: GK Psychic Channelling Stratagem
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I discard a single die. I check my opponent's stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. I check my stratagem and see that the condition is fulfilled. If I discard two dice, then I have not discarded only one die per the instructions on the stratagems. I can resolve both stratagems simultaneously.
You must process both rules
You choose the order
You process rule a, and you discard a die
You process rule b, and see you nee to discard a die. The die yiu discarded previously doesn't count, as you weren't processing rule b then, but rule a
|
|
 |
 |
|