Switch Theme:

Shooting one unit, and assaulting another?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can anything still do this?  I was under the impression the bikes, termies, and tmc could all do this at some point.

Has this been ommitted from the latest batch of rules?  If it hasn't, what page can I find it on?

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I do not think any unit is allowed to shoot one thing, and then assault another thing even if it counts and standing still for the purpose of shooting.  I recall reading rules that allowed a unit to do that in a chapter approved, but I do not have my rulebook one me right now. 

david
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nothing can anymore.

"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





an exception is tau with target lock. The target lock model can shoot something else but they must still assault the unit that the tau unit was shooting.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




NJ

Space Wolf Long Fangs?


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Posted By Blank on 06/26/2006 4:20 PM
Space Wolf Long Fangs?
 
 
Nah, they can still split their fire, but unless NONE of the heavy weapons fire they can't assault anyway.


   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




NJ

You're right, my bad, those are the ones that can shoot 2 different squads... Sorry


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Im not sure if this works, but I belive that if you shoot one squad and then charge two squads (the one you shot at and an adjacent unit) you could be technically shooting at one and charging another...

   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran




Baltimore, MD

Yes, you can do it that way... but that's the ONLY way.

Proud owner of &


Play the game, not the rules.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Space wolfs long fangs with assault weapons!
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I lent my rule book out but was meaning to look this up:

Does it say anywhere that you have to reach the target you shot at? Can you shoot at one, declare assults on two targets, and not reach the squad you shot at?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


p36:

"If the unit fired in the Shooting phase it must start its charge by engaging the unit it shot at."



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in nl
Fresh-Faced New User




Maassluis, NL

Eldar Farseer with Mindwar? Although this might actually not be real shooting as such.

"Dolf is rechtvaardig!"
- Inwoners van Grootwaterland 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ok that clears it up, ty.
   
Made in au
Furious Raptor






Australia

What happens if you destroy the squad that you shoot at?
e.g 10 Khorne Berzerkers get within 6 and shoot at the last five guardians of an eldar squad and wipe them out, there is another guardian squad within 6 and they have to declare a charge.

The Purple Patrol
==============================
DS:90S+G+MB--I+Pwhfb05#++D++A+++/hWD200R+T(T)DM++
==============================
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

"What happens if you destroy the squad that you shoot at?"


Then you don't have anything to charge.

 
   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant




Lost in L.A. smog

I think the rule you mentioned Breazeal in the 1st post is from the trial assualt rules before 4th ed., but they threw those rules out in the main rulebook. I need a brain scrub as well to get those rules outta my head as well, they just confused people when 4th ed. came out.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: