Switch Theme:

Can Trigga Discipline Be Used from Transport?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





"Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase, when a BLOOD AXES LOOTAS unit from your army is selected to shoot. Select one enemy VEHICLE unit. Until the end of the phase, each time a model in that LOOTAS unit makes an attack against that VEHICLE unit, you can re-roll the hit roll. If that LOOTAS unit contains 10 or fewer models, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP."

Normally, units can't use stratagems from a transport because they're not technically on the field, but in this case the stratagem says select an enemy vehicle. So I'm curious.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yiu can't use strats on a unit that's embarked. You're NOT doing so.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Not sure what selecting an enemy vehicle has to do with it, but no you can't choose a unit that's embarked.
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy





You’re not applying a buff to the lootas as much as a debuff to the other unit, so I’d say it’s legal.

"Us Blood Axes hav lernt' a lot from da humies. How best ta kill 'em, fer example."
— Korporal Snagbrat of the Dreadblade Kommandos 
   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




dorset

 Some_Call_Me_Tim wrote:
You’re not applying a buff to the lootas as much as a debuff to the other unit, so I’d say it’s legal.


I agree. The target of the stratagem is the vehicle your debuffing. The lootaz can benefit from that fine, they just can't be selected as the target of a stratagem themselves or benefit from auras, etc.

To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.

Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





"Stratagems cannot be used to affect units while they are embarked." Thus, the lootas cannot be affected by the part of the stratagem that gives them re-rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/12 21:43:05


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Cj4594 wrote:
"Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase, when a BLOOD AXES LOOTAS unit from your army is selected to shoot. Select one enemy VEHICLE unit. Until the end of the phase, each time a model in that LOOTAS unit makes an attack against that VEHICLE unit, you can re-roll the hit roll. If that LOOTAS unit contains 10 or fewer models, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP."

Normally, units can't use stratagems from a transport because they're not technically on the field, but in this case the stratagem says select an enemy vehicle. So I'm curious.
Per the red above, you are using the Stratagem on the Lootas in question, which violate the rules for Open Topped Transports.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: