Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/03 22:19:35
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I recently starting using the Vindicare assassin with my Vostroyans and loving the long-ranged threat he poses to characters. However.... several of my opponents have attempted to call me on a rule I was quite positive about. Now I am not so sure.
When deploying the Vindicare per the Agents of the Imperium Rule, does he count as moving or not? I would think not since this modifies how he sets up. Units that are set up at the beginning of the game do not count as moving. Only units placed in strategic reserves are arriving via a "deep strike" rule defined in their datasheet count as moving.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/03 22:31:56
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
I think the rule you're referring to is called independent operative and yes it would count as reinforcements and thus having moved. It's fundamentally a deepstrike. You're reading into the lore a little because it describes him revealing his position like he's always been there which isn't the case rules wise.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/02/03 22:33:43
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/03 22:49:03
Subject: Re:Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
yhea, if your taking advantage of the following rule:
INDEPENDENT OPERATIVE
This model can never have a Warlord Trait. During deployment, you can set this model up in concealment instead of placing it on the battlefield. At the end of any of your Movement phases, this model can reveal its position – set it up anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models.
then your assassin, form a rules perspective, is arriving form reinforcements/strategic reserves, the same as if he teleported in or jumped out of a passing thunderhawk. so he's moved and suffers the penalties that go with that.
i think this is one of those situations where the rules would benefit form making "deepstrike" a keyword that could be added to rules like this, to clarify the interactions that govern these rules. this would be a perfect place to do so ("at the end of any of your Movement phases, this model can reveal its position – set it up anywhere on the battlefield as per DEEPSTRIKE")
|
To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.
Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 01:54:28
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
I mean, I can see how they were trying to make this really cool sounding ability, but then they totally forgot there are actual rules regarding this, and said screw it. So yeah, unless you are using him as "deployed" on turn 1, he's gonna be kinda dead in the water for a whole turn. Which again, given the lore and fluff of these characters, is dumb. Oh well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 14:20:48
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Thanks everybody. I buy that explanation, and I'm glad I played it how my opponents said it should be interpreted.... consistent with your rulings.
I have amended his lore in my head. Now after he's been stalking the battlefield and scoping out enemy characters for days, he gets hungry and needs to go to the store for some junk food. Only to realize when he gets back the battle is underway!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 20:18:20
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Librarian with Freaky Familiar
|
So ill play devil advocate here.
Whats the wording for deep strike rules?
|
To many unpainted models to count. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 20:30:48
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
What devil’s advocate is there to play here
There isn’t a generic deep strike rule but the Assassin’s has been posted above.
We know from the Core Rules that this counts as Reinforcements and as such he counts as having moved.
Bit lost as to what wiggle room you think is left?
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 20:44:21
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Warptide wrote:Thanks everybody. I buy that explanation, and I'm glad I played it how my opponents said it should be interpreted.... consistent with your rulings.
I have amended his lore in my head. Now after he's been stalking the battlefield and scoping out enemy characters for days, he gets hungry and needs to go to the store for some junk food. Only to realize when he gets back the battle is underway!
if it helps, dont think of him hiding in a fire position, but rather hiding in deep in a corner with a cloak over him, or in the sewers, etc, and his deployment is him scrambling up out of his hide into the firing position.
like johnny said, their is no single "deepstrike" rule anymore, but dozens of similar rules that we collectively call "deepstrike" as a understood legacy term that covers them. its been clarified that these rules count as arriving form strategic reserves, and that a unit coming form reserve counts as already having made a Normal Move, so it can't deploy, then move, then make a short charge (main reason for it).
what i was saying that we shoud bring back "deep strike" as a keyword to better define the interactions of certian rules, so we could be clear if a given rule is a deepstrike, a infiltration/forward deployment, etc.
|
To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.
Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 20:47:13
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Librarian with Freaky Familiar
|
Yeah after digging through the rules.
Nah, he counts as arriving form reserves. However GW horribly worded it. And i could 100% make a good argument for him not technically arriving from reserves.
|
To many unpainted models to count. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 20:53:14
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Except the rules say he has. No grey area.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/04 21:44:31
Subject: Vindicare Assassin - Counts as Moving?
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
Yeah, this is pretty cut and dry. I believe they also specifically called the Assassins out in an FAQ back when they made the whole, no turn 1 DS anymore rule.
|
|
 |
 |
|