Switch Theme:

Summoning Daemons and Movement/Charging/Combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Hey!

If I summon daemons, what can they do on the same turn? The codex says the character summons instead of movement. Does this mean the summoned units come in at the end of the movement phase and thus can't move themselves?

What about charging? That's later in the turn. I have to set up my units 9" away from the enemy, but if I roll 9+ on a charge roll, is that fine? Shooting?

Also, can the character summon instead of move, but still shoot/fight/do psychic things? Like, if I have a character in combat, can they summon AND fight?

Thanks in advance!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When does it say the summoning occurs? If it is during the movement phase, then you're still ok to move.

Further, unless it states otherwise then they're free to act as normal, so shooting or charging.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Yeah, the only mention of phases is "instead of moving" for the character. So I'm guessing the summoned unit can do anything? And the character can do anything but move?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, but I'm fairly sure the daemons are reinforcements meaning they cannot be moved further, so no warp time for example
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

A summoned unit is treated as reinforcements, and cannot move in the turn they arrive for any reason. What i find hilarious is that they cant even remain stationary. If a unit cannot move it must remain stationary. But it cant do that either.

DAEMONIC RITUAL
.
.
.
Roll up to 3 dice – this is your summoning roll. You can summon one new unit with the Daemonic Ritual ability to the battlefield that has a Power Rating equal to or less than the total result so long as it has the same Chaos God keyword you chose at the start (in the case of units that have a choice of allegiance, such as Furies, the unit when summoned will have this keyword). This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any enemy model. If the total rolled is insufficient to summon any unit, the ritual fails and no new unit is summoned.

If your summoning roll included any doubles, your character then suffers a mortal wound. If it contained any triples, it instead suffers D3 mortal wounds.

2. REINFORCEMENTS
.
.
.
Reinforcement units cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary in the turn they arrive for any reason, but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, fight etc.). Models in units that arrived as Reinforcements count as having moved a distance in inches equal to their Move (M) characteristic in this Movement phase. If models in the unit have a minimum Move characteristic, those models count as having moved a distance in inches equal to their maximum Move characteristic.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

 p5freak wrote:
A summoned unit is treated as reinforcements, and cannot move in the turn they arrive for any reason. What i find hilarious is that they cant even remain stationary. If a unit cannot move it must remain stationary. But it cant do that either.

DAEMONIC RITUAL
.
.
.
Roll up to 3 dice – this is your summoning roll. You can summon one new unit with the Daemonic Ritual ability to the battlefield that has a Power Rating equal to or less than the total result so long as it has the same Chaos God keyword you chose at the start (in the case of units that have a choice of allegiance, such as Furies, the unit when summoned will have this keyword). This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any enemy model. If the total rolled is insufficient to summon any unit, the ritual fails and no new unit is summoned.

If your summoning roll included any doubles, your character then suffers a mortal wound. If it contained any triples, it instead suffers D3 mortal wounds.

2. REINFORCEMENTS
.
.
.
Reinforcement units cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back or Remain Stationary in the turn they arrive for any reason, but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, fight etc.). Models in units that arrived as Reinforcements count as having moved a distance in inches equal to their Move (M) characteristic in this Movement phase. If models in the unit have a minimum Move characteristic, those models count as having moved a distance in inches equal to their maximum Move characteristic.
I don't get the hilarious part. They come in and have moved their max movement. You aren't placing them on the table and then moving them, though. Placing them on the table counts as their max move. They aren't stationary. Seems pretty straightforward. There is no conflict.

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Standard p5 attempting to staple two half rules together and prove that up = down.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Ahh! Reinforcements!

Thanks all.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 deviantduck wrote:
I don't get the hilarious part. They come in and have moved their max movement. You aren't placing them on the table and then moving them, though. Placing them on the table counts as their max move. They aren't stationary. Seems pretty straightforward. There is no conflict.


If a rule refers to move, its the same as a normal move. But they cant make a normal move either, because they are reinforcements.

Move normally: Rules that refer to move/moves/moving normally are the same thing as making a Normal Move, e.g. a rule that states ‘instead of moving this unit normally’ means ‘instead of making a Normal Move with this unit’. If a rule simply tells you to make a move as if it were the Movement phase, but does not specify what kind of move is being made, it is a Normal Move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/04/06 05:02:54


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, that's incorrect.
You have missed off the "normally part of the condition. Rules that refer to move NORMALLY or moving NORMALLY or moves NORMALLY means making a normal move.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, that's incorrect.
You have missed off the "normally part of the condition. Rules that refer to move NORMALLY or moving NORMALLY or moves NORMALLY means making a normal move.


No, thats incorrect. You have missed the e.g. part. Rules that refer to move normally is just an example.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




I see what you are trying to say p5freak, but it's largely irrelevant to this discussion - yours is more a concern about reinforcements in general, and not Daemon summoning specifically.

@OP,
As others have said, summoned Daemons are treated as reinforcements, which means that they cannot make a Normal Move, Advance, Fall Back, or Remain Stationary the turn they come in on. They can otherwise act normally (cast powers, shoot, charge, pile-in, fight, consolidate, etc)

Also, the Character can act normally after summoning. So they effectively give up their movement phase in order to summon. But they can cast powers, shoot, charge, etc. And yes, you can summon whilst in close combat.

I hope that helps clear things up for you.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, that's incorrect.
You have missed off the "normally part of the condition. Rules that refer to move NORMALLY or moving NORMALLY or moves NORMALLY means making a normal move.


No, thats incorrect. You have missed the e.g. part. Rules that refer to move normally is just an example.

I have the base rule. The example must key off that base rule. You've conflated move and moved/moves/moving normally as if they are the same thing, when the rule clearly distinguishes them.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:

I have the base rule. The example must key off that base rule. You've conflated move and moved/moves/moving normally as if they are the same thing, when the rule clearly distinguishes them.


The slashes mean or. If a rule refers to a unit move OR moves OR moves normally, its the same as making a normal move. We dont need to discuss this further, its just an oddity i noticed, and has no real relevance.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you're parsing that incorrectly

It is (moves, move, moving) normally

Meaning
Move normally
Or
Moves normally
Or
Moving normally
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks, Jake, that clears things up.

Question: Does the Advance happen in movement or charge phases? Because it's usually "advance or charge, not both", but it seems to be in movement phase...
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Advancing occurs in the movement phase. If you advance it restricts the types of weapons you can shoot (assault weapons only), and prevents you from declaring a charge later that turn.

Some units have special rules that override these restrictions. Take a look at the Slaanesh locus of swiftness for an example.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Ahh, cool. Thanks.

I have a Masque, and she can advance and charge in the same turn. Just wasn't sure which phase an advance happens in. Now I know - movement phase!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: