Switch Theme:

Parasite of mortrex  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The parasite can infect an enemy unit with parasites in melee using a barbed ovipositor (close combat weapon, parasitic infection is an ability from the ovipositor), and with a stratagem. What happens when i move over a unit and use enfolding strike, infect it with parasites, then charge, attack, and successfully wound the enemy unit with its barbed ovipostor, which would infect it with parasites ? Does it suffer 1MW in addition to any normal damage, or not, because it is already infected with parasites from the stratagem ?

Can i use enfolding strike to infect a VEHICLE ? The stratagem doesnt need to wound the enemy unit, and VEHICLES are not excluded.

ENFOLDING STRIKE

Use this Stratagem in your Movement phase, when a PARASITE OF MORTREX model from your army finishes a Normal Move or Advances. Select one enemy unit that PARASITE OF MORTREX model moved across this phase. Roll one D6: on a 2-5, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds and becomes infected with parasites (see Parasitic Infection ability, on model’s datasheet); on a 6, that unit suffers 3 mortal wounds and becomes infected with parasites.


Parasitic Infection:
Each time an attack made with this weapon successfully wounds an enemy unit (excluding VEHICLE units), that unit suffers 1 mortal wound in addition to any normal damage and becomes infected with parasites. At the start of your opponent’s Command phase, for each enemy unit that is infected with parasites, your opponent must roll one D6:
On a 1-3, that unit being rolled for suffers D3 mortal wounds and is no longer infected with parasites.
On a 4-6, that unit being rolled for suffers D3 mortal wounds and remains infected with parasites.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I would say either you are infected or you are not. Hence it does not stack. (Stil do the mortal though.)

It would seem the stratagem can infect vehicles. Play it as is and expect an FAQ.

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Maybe we should wait for a Codex to be in people’s hands before doing the edge cases?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Do you expect major changes in the codex ? All the rules discussed here have been shown on warcom, i very much doubt the rules pictures posted there will be different from those in the codex.

https://www.warhammer-community.com/2022/03/08/sighted-a-terrifying-new-tyranid-organism/
https://www.warhammer-community.com/2022/03/25/whats-the-deal-with-mortrex-and-how-did-it-get-such-a-vicious-tyranid-monster-named-after-it/
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






What happens when i move over a unit and use enfolding strike, infect it with parasites, then charge, attack, and successfully wound the enemy unit with its barbed ovipostor, which would infect it with parasites ? Does it suffer 1MW in addition to any normal damage, or not, because it is already infected with parasites from the stratagem ?

That's really no different from just hitting an infected unit a second time. Each time you attack with an ovipositor, you deal one extra MW and the unit becomes infected with parasites, none of the rules care whether it has already been infected or not.

Can i use enfolding strike to infect a VEHICLE ? The stratagem doesnt need to wound the enemy unit, and VEHICLES are not excluded.

Yes. Maybe an oversight, but the rule is crystal clear.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: