Switch Theme:

Hive nexus and synaptic imperative  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Each synaptic imperative ability can only be selected once per battle. Hive nexus also says you select an synaptic imperative ability, which is then active for one unit, in addition to the one you selected at the start of the battle round. Does this selection with hive nexus count towards the one time use of a synaptic imperative ability ? Can i select a synaptic imperative ability with hive nexus which i have selected at the start of a previous battle round ?

SYNAPTIC IMPERATIVE ABILITIES

If every unit from your army has the HIVE TENDRIL keyword (excluding UNALIGNED units) and each of those units (excluding LIVING ARTILLERY units) is from the same hive fleet, then SYNAPSE units from your army gain a Synaptic Imperative ability depending on which one is currently active for your army.

Each SYNAPSE unit has their own Synaptic Imperative. These are abilities that affect friendly units within a set range, in much the same way as aura abilities do. As with auras, the effects of multiple, identically named Synaptic Imperative abilities are not cumulative (i.e. if a unit is within range of two models with the same Synaptic Imperative ability, that ability only applies to the unit once). However, while similar in many regards to aura abilities, Synaptic Imperative abilities are not affected by rules that affect aura abilities, and vice versa.At the start of the battle round, you can select one of the Synaptic Imperative abilities from a unit from your army (see below). You cannot select a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability if that unit is not on the battlefield, or if you have selected that ability earlier in the battle. Until the end of the battle round, that Synaptic Imperative ability is active for your army, and it is gained by each of the SYNAPSE models from your army. The Synaptic Imperative abilities, and which SYNAPSE units unlock them, are found below.


PSYCHIC POWER: HIVE NEXUS
Blessing: Hive Nexus has a warp charge value of 7. If manifested, select one friendly LEVIATHAN unit within Synaptic Link range of this PSYKER and select one Synaptic Imperative ability of a friendly LEVIATHAN SYNAPSE model that is also within Synaptic Link range of this PSYKER. Until the start of your next turn, that unit benefits from that SYNAPSE model’s Synaptic Imperative ability as if it was active for your army (in addition to the one that is currently active for your army) and as if they were within 6" of one another.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Yes, you can select a synaptic imperative ability that was used earlier in the battle and no, it doesn't consider the synaptic imperative you choose while casting "hive nexus" to be consumed if it hasn't been activated yet for that battle.

Think of it in this respect. At the start of the battle round, you pop the Synaptic imperative for the entire army, purveying the listed bonus to all synapse models and every other unit within 6" of 1 of those synapse models.
When you cast "Hive Nexus", because it is getting cast in the psychic phase, then the synaptic imperative bonus it provides for a single unit wouldn't be considered a use of the synaptic imperative for any synapse unit you chose to utilize for the power. It's just a baseline extra buff that is bestowed in the psychic phase. The only pre-requisite that you need to fulfill is a successful cast of the psychic power and to have the synapse creature you want to use the synaptic imperative of be alive, on the board and within SLR of the caster. Then you can purvey the bonus to any other unit within SLR.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

But it says you cannot select a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability if you have selected that ability earlier in the battle, its one time use only. It doesnt say that selection via hive nexus is excluded from the one time use only. All that matters is the selection of a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability, and each ability can only be selected once per battle. If i have selected a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability X at the start of battle round 1, i cannot select ability X with hive nexus in battle round 2, because it has already been selected in battle round 1.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That's how I read it. They both select.
I doubt it was intended

One for the faq team.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







 p5freak wrote:
But it says you cannot select a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability if you have selected that ability earlier in the battle


Can you explain why you think the part in red is referring to anything other than the part in green?
At the start of the battle round, you can select one of the Synaptic Imperative abilities from a unit from your army (see below). You cannot select a unit’s Synaptic Imperative ability if that unit is not on the battlefield, or if you have selected that ability earlier in the battle.


   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I have explained why, i dont know how else to do that. Each units synaptic imperative ability can only be selected once per battle. Both hive nexus and at start of the battle use the wording select a units synaptic imperative ability.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. The power lets you select. You're told, when selecting the "normal" use, that you cannot select a power that has been selected before. The psychic power absolutely selects.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/04/24 07:01:24


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Absolutely not intended to deny you the opportunity to use an Imperative as your Battle Round pick.

Email the FAQ team if truly invested in this. Seems clear to me that a Psychic Power doesn’t scupper your main army rule, but you do you.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:That's how I read it. They both select.
I doubt it was intended

One for the faq team.
I’m with nosferatu1001 on this. Sloppy writing leading to unintended consequences.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







"There's nothing here to prevent me from reading this text completely out context" isn't slopping writing.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

The lack of any qualifying language in either rule means the logically correct reading is selection by the Psyhic power is equal in the eyes of Synaptic Imperative. If that is not the rules designers intention it is due to sloppy writing.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 solkan wrote:
"There's nothing here to prevent me from reading this text completely out context" isn't slopping writing.

It is being read entirely and completely in context.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: