If the Reductus Saboteur comes in from underground, and uses the ability Deploy Explosives, does it still work as normal?
The Deploy Explosives ability is normally triggered in the command phase.
Deploy Explosives: This model can perform the following action: It triggers the Plant explosives action.
Plant Explosives (Action): One REDUCTUS SABOTEUR model from your army can start to perform this action in your Command phase. This action is completed at the end of your Movement phase. If this action is successfully completed, place a Reductus explosives marker within 1" of the model that performed this action and that model cannot perform this action again. If that model is destroyed, remove its Reductus explosives marker from the battlefield.
The RS arrives at the end of the movement phase which would for most armies negate any opportunity to use command phase abilities. But the GSC has a caveat in the Underground rule that allows the ability to happen.
Underground Exception:
If a unit set up underground has any abilities that are used in your Command phase (e.g. Meticulous Planner), then the first time that unit is set up on the battlefield, it can use any or all of those abilities as if it were your Command phase.
I'm on the fence. While underground allows you to use the ability as if it were the command phase, does that action also get permission to act as if it were the command phase?
Camp 1: Underground lets you use the ability out of phase as if were the command phase, the ability triggers the actions. All good.
Camp 2: You have permission to use the ability, but when it calls the action, you are out of phase so the action can't be started/fails.
|