Switch Theme:

What would I need to hit a unit under the effects of Putrid Miasma and Illusory Supplication.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




What would I need to hit a unit under the effects of Putrid Miasma and Illusory Supplication. Would I need 4, ignoring the -1 from the spell or 5's?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Putrid miasma is -1 to hit and Illusory Supplication is unmodified hit rolls of 1-3 fail. If the attacking unit hits on 3s you would need 4+ to hit. If it hits on 4+ you would need 5+. Hitting on 2+ would also require 4+, because unmodified 1-3s fail.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/09/05 06:43:55


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for the answer. However, I still don't understand why the two effects don't stack. Is this a similar rules interaction as bonuses and minuses to hit?
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

The4thEnemy wrote:
Thank you for the answer. However, I still don't understand why the two effects don't stack. Is this a similar rules interaction as bonuses and minuses to hit?
Think of it this way, if it helps.

Illusory Supplication means that any 1s, 2s, or 3s on die (after any rerolls) automatically miss. So, when you roll your hits, after you've done your rerolls just remove any dice showing 1, 2, or 3.
Then, you compare the remaining dice (all showing 4, 5, or 6) with any modifiers to your BS.

With a BS of 3+, that means that each die showing a 4 counts as a 3, which is equal to or greater than your BS and so hits.
With a BS or 4+, each 4 on die counts as a 3 and therefore misses.

Another way that might help remind you is that Illusory is unmodified rolls.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: