As the title says. Is it legal to fire Pistol weapons at a charging unit when engaged? I argue, as rules are now, yes. I've scoured the rules and the Commentary and cannot find anything against it. Here's the break down:
Fire Overwatch is used by a unit within 24" of a target unit that has either started or ended its Normal Move, Advance Move, Fallback, or Charge move. This lets you shoot as if it was the Shooting Phase with the restrictions that you can only hit on 6s and must target that unit.
Pistols are weapons that can be fired at enemy units within Engagement Range.
For a Charge to succeed it needs to end within Engagement Range. My unit has Pistols which let me shoot at Engaged Enemy units. So even if my unit is already Locked in Combat, because I can fire Pistols at an Engaged enemy, which is now in Engagement Rage because it successfully charged me, I can Fire Overwatch.
I would never personally do this because getting maybe 10 shots, if that, isn't really worth the CP, and I personally don't think this was an intended interaction but as rules are now does work.
|