Switch Theme:

Dumb n00b question about ranged weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ch
Regular Dakkanaut





Zurich, Switzerland

So I recently watched Midwinter Minis' batrep/intro to 10th edition video, and he claims at one point that one model can only shoot multiple ranged weapons in the same turn if they're all the same profile, i.e. more specifically iirc he has a Master of Possession who has a pistol and whose psychic attack also has the pistol profile, and he says that's the reason why he can use both. Near as I can tell from the core rules, that's not accurate at all - it just says that if a weapon has multiple profiles, you have to choose one, and you have to resolve all attacks made with weapons of one profile before you move on to the next profile. Kind of a big distinction for e.g. Redemptor Dreadnoughts who have a whole plethora of ranged weapons.

And while we're at it, models who have both a pistol and another ranged weapon can use both as long as they're not in close combat, right?

   
Made in nl
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




netherlands

Nope if you have a boltpistol and a boltgun you have to choose what weapon to shoot. you can shoot your pistol or you shoot your boltgun.

If the model has more weapons options or spychic attacks, In your case he can shoot his pistol options so his boltpistol and his pistol spychic attack. or if he had one other type of gun could chose the other gun. you never can shoot pistols and non pistols at the same time.

full compagny of bloodangels, 5000 pnt of epic bloodangels
5000 pnt imperial guard
5000 pnt orks
2500 pnt grey knights
5000 pnt gsc
5000 pnts Chaos legionars
4000 pnt tyranids
4000 pnt Tau
 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

You did the rules correctly. But you skipped.the pistol part of the rules. Re-read the pistol entry and be on the lookout for psykisk powers with the pistol keyword.

   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 spacehamster wrote:
So I recently watched Midwinter Minis' batrep/intro to 10th edition video, and he claims at one point that one model can only shoot multiple ranged weapons in the same turn if they're all the same profile, i.e. more specifically iirc he has a Master of Possession who has a pistol and whose psychic attack also has the pistol profile, and he says that's the reason why he can use both. Near as I can tell from the core rules, that's not accurate at all - it just says that if a weapon has multiple profiles, you have to choose one, and you have to resolve all attacks made with weapons of one profile before you move on to the next profile. Kind of a big distinction for e.g. Redemptor Dreadnoughts who have a whole plethora of ranged weapons.

And while we're at it, models who have both a pistol and another ranged weapon can use both as long as they're not in close combat, right?


You can shoot all pistols or non-pistols. Not both. Unless you are vehicle or monster at which point you can shoot em all.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in ch
Regular Dakkanaut





Zurich, Switzerland

Thanks, guys! Always something you miss. I gotta get more practice games in.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: