Switch Theme:

Destroyed transport and movement/when-destroyed abilities of embarked models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






Some thing I recently thought about and where I'm note sure if I understand the rules correctly.

As far as I understand the core rules the sequence when a transport is destroyed is:
1. the models inside disembark, so are set up outside
2. the transport is removed, the disembarking models are NOT subject to the transports deadly demise
3. the disembarked models roll if they suffer mortal wounds for disembarking
4. they count as having made a normal move

Now what I'm unsure of: as the models are outside of a transport and on the board from step 1 onwards, do abilities triggering on death/after movement work on them?

a specific examples:
Cyclops demolition charge from the IG list has a deadly demise ability itself + the ability "Demolition charges" which triggers "Each time this model or an enemy unit ends a move, if this model is within 3'' of one or more enemy units [...]
=> does that mean the Cyclops would trigger its own deadly demise if it is destroyed from the disembarking process?
=> would the charges trigger if it disembarkes into 3'' of an enemy unit, as it counts as having made a normal move?

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Southern New Hampshire

Just because a unit 'counts as having made a Normal move' doesn't mean that they actually made one.

Also, given that the Cyclops takes up seven transport spaces and has four wounds, it's highly unlikely to ever die from disembarking from a destroyed transport. BUT, in the event that it did, yes, its own Deadly Demise would trigger.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

 Pyroalchi wrote:
Now what I'm unsure of: as the models are outside of a transport and on the board from step 1 onwards, do abilities triggering on death/after movement work on them?

a specific examples:
Cyclops demolition charge from the IG list has a deadly demise ability itself + the ability "Demolition charges" which triggers "Each time this model or an enemy unit ends a move, if this model is within 3'' of one or more enemy units [...]
=> does that mean the Cyclops would trigger its own deadly demise if it is destroyed from the disembarking process?
=> would the charges trigger if it disembarkes into 3'' of an enemy unit, as it counts as having made a normal move?
The answer is no, the Cyclops's Demolition Charges rules cannot be triggered when the model disembarks from a Transport.
Rules Commentary wrote:Count as Having Made a Normal Move: Reserves units always count as having made a Normal move in the turn they are set up on the battlefield. This is simply to clarify that they cannot move further in this phase but have not Remained Stationary; such units have not made a Normal move, however, so their arrival cannot trigger Stratagems or abilities that are used after a unit makes a Normal move.

Similarly, a unit that disembarks from a Transport that made a Normal move this phase also counts as having made a Normal move, but has not made a Normal move, so such a unit’s arrival cannot trigger Stratagems or abilities that are used after a unit makes a Normal move (see Embarked Units and Reserves).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: