| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/23 22:05:52
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I've been trying to wrap my head around something for a couple of weeks.
A unit Consolidating after it fights is NOT optional. However, each model making a Consolidation move (or not) IS optional.
Wouldn't that effectively make Consolidating optional?
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/23 22:14:57
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:I've been trying to wrap my head around something for a couple of weeks.
A unit Consolidating after it fights is NOT optional. However, each model making a Consolidation move (or not) IS optional.
Wouldn't that effectively make Consolidating optional?
Something that triggers based on Consolidating triggers, even if you choose not to move.
Is there anything that triggers off that? I dunno.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/24 04:00:41
Subject: Re:Consolidation
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
I agree. The three steps of Fight are not optional, but you don't have to move during Pile-In or Consolidate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/24 15:23:34
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Winged Kroot Vulture
|
The way I've always interpreted it is that while you MUST consolidate, you can CHOOSE to have that consolidation value be zero.
As JNA said, this is very likely to make sure that any abilities that trigger upon consolidation still happen even if the distance moved is zero.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/24 21:19:44
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks, folks. I appreciate the input.
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/31 21:18:19
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
So by the same reasoning... if I elect not to charge... there is still a charge phase and my opponent can still heroically intervene?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/31 22:32:18
Subject: Consolidation
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Heroic Intervention happens after a Charge Move is completed. Not just in the Charge Phase.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/07/31 23:44:57
Subject: Re:Consolidation
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
So if I elect not to charge, even if I am within 3" of a character.... there can be no heroic intervention?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/08/01 01:17:32
Subject: Re:Consolidation
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:So if I elect not to charge, even if I am within 3" of a character.... there can be no heroic intervention?
Correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2024/08/01 13:54:27
Subject: Re:Consolidation
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
Remember that Heroic Intervention is now a Stratagem with different rules from prior editions:
HEROIC INTERVENTION
WHEN: Your opponent’s Charge phase, just after an enemy unit ends a Charge move.
TARGET: One unit from your army that is within 6" of that enemy unit and would be eligible to declare a charge against that enemy unit if it were your Charge phase.
EFFECT: Your unit now declares a charge that targets only that enemy unit, and you resolve that charge as if it were your Charge phase.
RESTRICTIONS: You can only select a Vehicle unit from your army if it is a Walker. Note that even if this charge is successful, your unit does not receive any Charge bonus this turn (pg 29).
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|