Switch Theme:

Charging, Overwatch, and Hazardous Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers






Tapping the Glass at the Herpetarium

Here's the issue I can't solve.

Unit A is going to charge the enemy Unit B, which is made up of a single model with a hazardous weapon.

Unit B plays the overwatch stratagem, fires and obliterates themselves.

What happens to Unit A? Do they finish the charge? Consolidate? Or just stand around?

Thank you for your assistance.

 BorderCountess wrote:
Just because you're doing something right doesn't necessarily mean you know what you're doing...


"Vulkan: There will be no Rad or Phosphex in my legion. We shall fight wars humanely. Some things should be left in the dark age."
"Ferrus: Oh cool, when are you going to stop burning people to death?"
"Vulkan: I do not understand the question."

– A conversation between the X and XVIII Primarchs


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

I think they would count as having failed the charge.

They must get within an inch of the enemy unit-if the unit isn’t on the table, they cannot.

Edit: this is wrong, see next post.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2024/11/01 03:54:52


Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

You make the Charge Move before the Mortal Wounds from Hazardous are applied.
CORE RULES UPDATES VERSION 1.3 (WITH RULES COMMENTARY 1.5) wrote:Page 28 – Hazardous
Change to:
‘Weapons with [HAZARDOUS] in their profile are known as Hazardous weapons. Each time a unit is selected to shoot or fight, after that unit has resolved all of its attacks, for each Hazardous weapon that targets were selected for when resolving those attacks, that unit must take one Hazardous test. To do so, roll one D6: on a 1, that test is failed. For each failed test you must resolve the following sequence (resolve each failed test one at a time):
■ If possible, select one model in that unit that has lost one or more wounds and is equipped with one or more Hazardous weapons.
■ Otherwise, if possible, select one model in that unit (excluding Character models) equipped with one or more Hazardous weapons.
■ Otherwise, select one Character model in that unit equipped with one or more Hazardous weapons.

If a model was selected, that unit suffers 3 mortal wounds and when allocating those mortal wounds, they must be allocated to the selected model.

If a unit from a player’s army is selected as the target of the Fire Overwatch Stratagem in their opponent’s Charge phase, any mortal wounds inflicted by Hazardous tests are allocated after the charging unit has ended its Charge move.’
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: