Switch Theme:

Demonhost and Teleport Homers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Can a Demonhost who rolls the teleport skill use teleport homers?

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Interesting. Wording in the DH dex states "If the template for the teleporting GREY KNIGHTS"... so it appears it only works in a DH army for Grey Knights that teleport and not for Daemonhosts.

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





What does it say in the wargear book though?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The Wargear book version of the Teleport Homer applies to Marines, Inquisition and Chaos, and only works for Terminators.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




It also states that units entering play using jump packs drop pods etc. cannot use the teleport homer. Since Grey Knights and Terminators cannot use either of those, I would assume that the rule is not specific to them.

The question unfortunatly is wether teleport means teleport or does it mean not teleport?

The rules for teleport are in the book while the Demonhost uses it's own rules, so does it have it's own unique definition of the word teleport or is it the same word teleport with modifications to the rules?

sorry Im confused.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It also states that units entering play using jump packs drop pods etc. cannot use the teleport homer. Since Grey Knights and Terminators cannot use either of those, I would assume that the rule is not specific to them.

The statement about jump packs and the like is just clarification. Regardless of what else it says, the entry clearly only deals with Terminators.

Specifically:
"If Terminators wish to teleport onto the battlefield via Deep Strike and choose to do so within 6" of the model carrying the homer..."

No effect is listed for anything other than Terminators. The Homer therefore has no effect for anything other than Terminators.

So it makes no difference whether the Daemonhost telrports or not. All that matters is whether or not it is a Terminator.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





And I read the DH dex entry and apparently Daemonhosts are 'summoned' when appearing via Deepstrike not "Teleporting".

Teleport is a result on the power table that has nothing to do with the initial arrival of the daemonhost. Teleport the power only uses the 'scatter' portion of the deep strike rule and that's it, it's NOT deepstriking when it teleports.

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Mine says it uses the rules for deep strike, it even references the page number in the rulebook but they are modified by allowing the DH to assault.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Mine says it uses the rules for deep strike


Mine says "the daemonhost may immediately move anywhere on the table provided it is not within 1" of an enemy model or within impassible terrain, and scatters as with Deep Strike (see scenario special rules Warhammer 40,000 rulebook). It may assault that turn."

So yea it uses some of the rules of Deep Strike but it is not deep striking, if it were deep striking it would just say "Deep Strike" and not specify which rules to use. Much like the Drop Pod rules.

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

And I read the DH dex entry and apparently Daemonhosts are 'summoned' when appearing via Deepstrike not "Teleporting".

GK Terminators aren't listed as Teleporting either. They simply Deep Strike.

It makes no difference. The Teleport Homer refers to Deep Strike also, so that's all good.

The problem is simply that the Homer only has any effect on Terminators. Or more precisely, the line that tells you what the Homer actually does only refers to Terminators. Since the Daemonhost is not a Terminator, this rule does not apply to them.

The end result is simply that, yes, the Daemonhost can 'use' the Homer. It just doesn't actually do anything...


(Oh, and for the record, Space Marine Terminators in fact can use Drop Pods...)

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So what we are saying is that a Demonhost can Teleport, he just cannot teleport teleport.  Its all so clear now. 

   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

If you stop trying to apply logic or "common sense" to GW rules, your brain will live longer, trust me.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





the D-host can only teleport if he rolls a teleport result on the chart. He isn't teleporting when he doesn't teleport so in essence he can teleport but normally isn't considered teleporting as he doesn't teleport unless the result of the roll is teleport.

makes perfect sense to me... [/joke]

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So what we are saying is that a Demonhost can Teleport, he just cannot teleport teleport. Its all so clear now.

We are? Where did we say that?

What I'm saying is simply that the Daemonhost can teleport, but he doesn't gain any benefit from a teleport homer because he isn't wearing Terminator Armour.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Interesting, so the DH teleport homer now cannot guide in power armoured GKs teleporting in as a Fast Attack choice.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




[sarcasm] Yay, we have all just made the Grey Knights that bit more crappy. They really needed downgrading, just look at the amount of GTs they have won in the past few years! [sarcasm]

And hang on a minute...

In my Deamonhunters book, it mentions nothing about terminators, instead just saying that any grey knight squad teleporting may use the homer.

Yes, we now use the space marine book, and it only mentions terminators. But think about this- this is because only terminators can teleport in the marine codex! Nothing else can teleport! So, it  makes sense that the marine codex only mentions terminators.

I am assuming GW did not think about power armoured Grey Knights when they told us to use the space marine version of the teleport homer. Im fairly sure they would not have just revoked grey knights ability to use the teleport homer.

Yea, im arguing intent here, again. But its hardly as if Grey Knights are the most overpowered army out there, is it? They certainly didn't need this, and GW obviously didn't put much thought into this when they said use the space marine rules. They just didn't think.

Wow...its amazing. A couple of hours on this board can really change your attitude to GW and their poorly worded rules.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Interesting, so the DH teleport homer now cannot guide in power armoured GKs teleporting in as a Fast Attack choice.


That would appear to be the case, yes.


Yes, we now use the space marine book,

No we don't. We have an unofficial FAQ telling us to use the Marine Codex, which has been superceded by an official publication (The Wargear book) which combines all armies' Teleport Homers into the same entry.

But yes, I would agree that Power Armoured Grey Knights were possibly overlooked. On the otherhand, IIRC in previous incarnations of the rules, the ability to lock onto a Teleport Homer was a built-in feature of Terminator Armour. So it's possible that they actually intended only Terminators to be able to use the Homers.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: