Switch Theme:

IG Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

Sorry for dumb@ss question but I don't have the 'dex.

When IG place units, is a whole platoon placed at the same time in different places or is each unit in the platoon placed at seperate times?

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

They follow the rules as listed on page 81 of the Warhammer 40,000 4th edition rulebook.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord





Canada

An IG platoon is a single FOC that is composed of several different units.

In general, the entire platoon is deployed at the same time. However, each unit may be placed wherever you like, they don't need to be adjacent. When rolling for reserves, a single roll is made for the entire platoon - again, it come in all at once, but each unit may move on in a different place.

There is an exception for the Light Infantry Doctrine, which is explicitly laid out in the FAQ. Light Infantry may be given to single units within a platoon, there is no need to give it to all units within a platoon. And LI lets that unit infiltrate in missions where infiltration is allowed.

Therefore, when you deploy a platoon which includes units with the LI doctrine, the LI units deploy after all normal forces are down, like any other infiltrator. If the platoon was in reserve for some reason, then the LI units would be able to infiltrate as normal, and the rest of the platoon would come in on a single reserves roll.

The much more popular Drop Troops doctrine is usually treated the same way: dropping units are held in reserve, and non-DT units are deployed at the beginning of the game. When Dropping a platoon which contains multiple DT units, then a single reserves roll is made for all of the DT units in that platoon, and they all come in or they all stay off.

However, nowhere does it explicitly state that you can do this. But nowhere does it state that you must give DT to each unit in a platoon either. The case could be made, RAW, that you must assign Drop Troops to the entire platoon, because there is no explicit exemption as there is in the case of LI. But most people treat them the same.

After all, it's not like the IG player is trying to take an empty Devilfish or anything...
(ducks and runs...)


-S

2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: