| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/09 16:04:58
Subject: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi everyone! A question about reserves today: When reserves come on to the table, the book states that they "move on" from wherever (table edge, sewer cover, etc.) For $64,000: Does the unit simply touch the edge of where it "moves on from" or does "moves on from" imply that it may make its move as normal from the point of deployment? Is there anything clear, RAW-wise, about this - or is it simply an interpretation of the phrase "moves on from".
|
I'm never sig worthy -Infantryman |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/09 16:50:26
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
There is no 'point of deployment'... They just move on from the table edge.
So you just measure the appropriate distance in from the edge, and place the models.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/09 18:06:26
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Do you measure from the front of the model, or do you place the model on and then measure the movement? If it is from the edge to the front of the model or base, do you force the model to make a move more than it would want to?
I say this because a Land Raider cannot move only 6" in order to get onto the field. Part of the model would be off-table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/09 18:37:54
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Do you measure from the front of the model, or do you place the model on and then measure the movement?
You measure 6 inches onto the table, and you place the front of the model there. I say this because a Land Raider cannot move only 6" in order to get onto the field. Part of the model would be off-table.
Indeed. Which simply means that you'll have to move the Land Raider more than 6 inches on the turn you bring it on.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/09 18:42:46
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
You can move it on and turn it sideways, and move under 6". As long as the furthest point of the tank is 6" or less from the table edge, it's legal.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 00:56:30
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
What about if a Broadside is coming on from reserve and rolls a 1 or a 2 for its Difficult Terrain roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 03:47:33
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Widowmaker
|
Then you're playing a weird mission and it should probably be brought up before the game starts just in case it happens.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 09:28:13
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Could I get a quote on that 6" rule? From the BGB? I might just be blind, but I'm not seeing it...
|
I'm never sig worthy -Infantryman |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 10:37:41
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
There is no specific rule that says 'measure 6" from the edge and place your models there'
It's a combination of the fact that models move on from the board edge (Reserves rules) and that models generally move up to 6" (Movement rules).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 12:49:52
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Weird Mission = Escalation and I kept my broadside with ASS off the table in a Mech Tau list Or does everyone only play gamma here?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 14:11:20
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Weird mission as in, "Why would you put difficult terrain along the table edge, and then bring your Broadside in through it?"
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 15:49:18
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
My guess is he used the A.S.S. to move and shoot. It's similar to obliterators.
What if you rolled two 1s for oblits coming on?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 16:10:23
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Why would you be walking Oblits onto the board?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 16:12:12
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Oblits would deepstrike.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 16:21:04
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Raging Rat Ogre
Off Exhibit
|
Ah, I see. Didn't know they could deepstrike.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/10 23:47:02
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
The Oblits case does not resolve the Buttsides case.
Broadsides have a 40mm wide base, so if they moved on 1 inch they would be hanging over the edge of the table. Theoretically they would then be sucked off the table because they were touching the edge.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 02:35:50
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Widowmaker
|
Posted By Aeon on 07/10/2006 5:49 PMWeird Mission = Escalation and I kept my broadside with ASS off the table in a Mech Tau list Or does everyone only play gamma here?
Broadsides can start on the board in escalation. So I guess if you are choosing to take the 'May deploy' reading, you should probably clear it with your opponent that #1 you can activate A.S.S. while off the board, and #2 how you're going to handle the difficult terrain test as you enter. Searching for rules for these peculiar circumstances will be fruitless.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 03:27:37
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Been Around the Block
The British Army, so could be any old sh*t hole in the world.
|
If you dont role enough to use ASS then you must walk on normally and can't shoot the railguns.
If you are walking into cover then you either don't make it or walk on normally into the open.
|
SERPENTE A LA PORPE |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 04:03:55
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Slightly OT but I don't think you should need your opponent's permission to use ASS to move on.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 04:37:58
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Widowmaker
|
In the case of Broadsides, it depends on when you envision the Reserve moves taking place. A.S.S. specifically references being activated in the movement phase, so this is actually a little trickier than it should be.
If the 'beginning of the turn' happens during the 'movement phase', then all is well. If not... well, yay for RAW!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 08:11:12
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I remember there being a debate on this a while back but does a unit that isn't falling back get removed if it touches the board edge? I don't they would be removed. I also don't think that a model has to completely be within the confines of the table. So, who cares if your broadside has the back few millimeters of it's base hanging off of the edge? Who cares if your landraider hangs off of the edge? Who cares if I get drunk off of PBR and collapse face first onto my deployment zone by turn 5?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 15:49:06
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
OK... I may just be hopelessly stupid, but nobody's quite answered my question.
1) "moves on to the table" - this means, or is held to mean, that the unit may make a move as normal (6" infantry, 12" jump infantry/vehicles, etc) starting from the table edge, sewer marker, whatever?
2) Can said unit then move during the movement phase, assault, etc?
Sorry if I'm just missing something - but I still feel that there could be an argument made for a model moving on from the table edge simply being placed at the edge. My opponent argued it when I tried to use sewer rats - the others in the store backed me up, but I'm not comfortable (yet) with that interpretation based on RAW.
|
I'm never sig worthy -Infantryman |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 16:58:16
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
In the case of Broadsides, it depends on when you envision the Reserve moves taking place. A.S.S. specifically references being activated in the movement phase, so this is actually a little trickier than it should be.
If the 'beginning of the turn' happens during the 'movement phase', then all is well. If not... well, yay for RAW!
Moving on from Reserves IS the movement phase. The model is performing its movement for that turn. However, as pointed out alread, Broadsides are Infantry, and so would be starting on the board in Escalation anyway. 1) "moves on to the table" - this means, or is held to mean, that the unit may make a move as normal (6" infantry, 12" jump infantry/vehicles, etc) starting from the table edge, sewer marker, whatever?
Yes, that's exactly what it means. It moves as normal, using the board edge as the start point. 2) Can said unit then move during the movement phase, assault, etc?
Moving on from the edge IS the unit's movement. It can perform as normal for the rest of the turn. but I still feel that there could be an argument made for a model moving on from the table edge simply being placed at the edge.
That wouldn't be 'moving on from the edge'. That would be 'deployed on the edge, and may move as normal'.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 20:14:32
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
However, as pointed out alread, Broadsides are Infantry, and so would be starting on the board in Escalation anyway.
Unless you choose to hold them off the table in escalation (if you play with the 'may' giving you a choice) In which case there is no rule. Would it be acceptable to then place it on the baseline if you are using ASS and only roll 1's to move on?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 20:17:13
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Would it be acceptable to then place it on the baseline if you are using ASS and only roll 1's to move on?
I don't see that you would really have any other option. There are no rules for models that don't make it all the way onto the board, but likewise, so long as you assume that the rule for removing models as soon as they touch the board edge applies only to Falling Back, there are no rules that say that a model has to be completely on the board...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/07/11 22:59:43
Subject: RE: Bringing on Reserves
|
 |
Been Around the Block
The British Army, so could be any old sh*t hole in the world.
|
Posted By coelomate on 07/11/2006 8:49 PM OK... I may just be hopelessly stupid, but nobody's quite answered my question.
1) "moves on to the table" - this means, or is held to mean, that the unit may make a move as normal (6" infantry, 12" jump infantry/vehicles, etc) starting from the table edge, sewer marker, whatever? He moves on as normal in the movement phase and may assault (not out of sewer though) or shoot depending on his unit type, he can't move again.
2) Can said unit then move during the movement phase, assault, etc?
Sorry if I'm just missing something - but I still feel that there could be an argument made for a model moving on from the table edge simply being placed at the edge. My opponent argued it when I tried to use sewer rats - the others in the store backed me up, but I'm not comfortable (yet) with that interpretation based on RAW. I think it says "moves on" not "is placed on" As for ASS if you roll snake eyes then you either don't deploy or move on your normal 6" move. Models falling back are lost if one man from the unit touches the edge. On a common sense point who wants their expensive models hanging off the board?
|
SERPENTE A LA PORPE |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|