Switch Theme:

Chaos Blood Frenzy and Reserves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Do Chaos reserves with Blood Frenzy (ie with the Mark of Khorne or Dreadnoughts that roll a 1) get to roll for the extra movement on the turn they arrive from Reserves? Reserves are rolled for at the start of the turn and the unit is moved onto the board as soon as the roll is successful. Since Blood Frenzy (for both Dreadnoughts and Khornites) is only rolled for at the beginning of the movement phase, one could argue that you roll for Frenzy after you've rolled for the Reserves. The flip side is that the start of the turn, as defined on page 14 of the BGB, is the start of the movement phase. Because of this, you can't roll for Frenzying units that are off the table when the roll is made. Then one could argue that Blood Frenzy never states that the model has to be on the table to be able to roll for it... Thoughts?
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

This is a contended issue with synapse, instinctive behavior, and advanced stabilization systsems as well. While getting a d6 extra movement from the frenzy is certainly a benefit, you could only take this stance if you have a solution for the issues where a model fails these beginning of the turn rolls and can't move at all.
Such as rolling fire frenzy on the dread, failing the IB check with gaunts, rolling snake eyes with Broadsides?

The easiest and most consistent method I've found treats the models as off the table and exempt from pre-movement rolls, a successful reserve roll will always result in a full normal movement from the unit onto the table.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I fully and totally agree with Moz.

Playing it any other way leads to way more headaches than it solves.

So I'll stick with = models off of the field of play are not affected by on table (in-game) rules unless specified otherwise.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: