| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/07 03:48:47
Subject: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Resentful Grot With a Plan
Silver Spring, MD
|
Hello,
I'm sure this may have been covered but I am looking for clarification and search has yeilded little fruit. From looking at the terminator entry in codex SM, I noticed that it states that terminators may fire heavy weapons and still assault. My friend here believes his SW terminators with combi-bolters can fire and still assault. I believe this is not true as bolters are rapid fire and not heavy. I could not find anywhere else to reference this. He says he always could since 3rd ed. I just showed him the terminator entry. Was he correct or was I?
Next question. In our game he had these combi weapons, plasma to be exact. he drop podded in and tried to "doube tap" the plasma part. I told him one shot per game is the rule and showed him the combi weapon section. He says that that meant that he could fire the combi part only once but it does not limit the rate of fire of the gun. in the intrest of time and gamesmanship I let him go with that. But by the rules as I saw them I think he couldn't. Was I wrong or was he?
Thanks.
|
Club me. Ain't I cute?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/07 03:57:24
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Right for the first question you want page 36 of the rule book Where it says "some rare units count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units can move and fire heavy weapons. such units can charge after firing"
The second one your friend is right he has got a one shot plasma gun which means if he is within 12" he can rapid fire it which would be two shots then it is used up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/07 15:04:27
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Terminators could assault after firing indirect ordnance if they had any As long as you are either stationary when firing rapid fire weapons or can move and shoot heavy weapons, then you can assault after firiing. Doesn't matter what you fired.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/07 16:25:37
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
First Question - Terminators can Assault no matter what they fire. skyth has it right, the rule book give two different types of units and says they may assault after fireing. Saying anything else is an intent arguement.
Second Question - Combi weapons let you fire once as that weapon, so a Terminator Sergent can take a Combi-Plasma, double tap it, and charge afterwords (if he didn't deepstrike).
|
Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 13:14:00
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Colorado
|
follow up question:
Space Wolf Terminators with combi-bolters; do they get to use True Grit for the extra Attack?
|
While the wicked stand confounded
call me, with thy saints surrounded |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 14:08:02
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Those aren't bolters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/15 19:23:28
Subject: RE: Terminators, bolters, and charging into assault
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
follow up question:
Space Wolf Terminators with combi-bolters; do they get to use True Grit for the extra Attack? Pg 76 BBoR Universal Special Rules for True Grit "this ability is not usable with combi-weapons of any sort"
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|