| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 09:52:36
Subject: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Had this situation come up in a game last night: A Necron lord with a res orb VoD'd a group of Immortals into my backfield, and scattered close to several of my units. There were enough Immortals to surround the lord. On my turn, I charged 12 Genestealers at them, almost completely surrounding them. My attacks killed every Immortal. First, the lord is not part of the unit, so he cant be attacked, correct? Second, what do you do with the fallen necros? My opponent said that they lie down where they were killed. When I pointed out that I wanted to sweeping advance into the lord, he said that they couldnt, because the necros were in the way, and theres nothing that says he cant do that. Several players around us agreed that the rules were vague, and they'd seen Necron players doing that before. So is this correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 09:57:34
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
A friend of mine did the same thing before, mainly as that's how it's been played not really as something of an intent to screw me out of an assault. Reguardless if you read the Necron codex it states that for models that are awaiting WBB Rolls are actually removed from the table and kept aside, and if they make their WBB they are then placed in coherancy with their unit. So you can't use "dead" models to block consolidation/pile in moves to get more models engaged in CC the next turn. Also unless there were some other Immortals within I think it's 6" of that unit he can't make a WBB on the dead ones unless there was at least one Immortal in the squad alive. EDIT: The codex states that they're laid on their side but don't have to follow unit coherancy rules. However it DOES explicitly state that they can not be attacked in any way and are seen as battlefield debris. Thus you're allowed to move through them like any other scenic battlefield debris, so unless your Necron opponent wants you attempting to balance your models on his fallen Necrons, he'll politely move them out of the way and keep them aside to do their WBB and will then place them in coherancy with their unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 10:04:59
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Fallen Necrons don't effect the game in any way. They technically aren't there. Because they're dead. You need some sort of marker there so that you know where they were if there's a chance to bring them back, but that's just so you put them back in the right place if they make their WBB.
Also, if you killed all of the immortals and there were no other immortals or tomb spyders nearby, then he couldn't have brought them back anyway, so there's no point in keeping them there.
Guy was cheating.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 10:45:21
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So his lord with the res orb couldnt bring them back? He said that a res orb allowed a WBB roll even if there were no more models around, and if models had been killed with a melee weapon that didnt allow a save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 11:40:17
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Rez orb only allows you to bring models back who were killed by instant death or power weapons. Dead necrons count as NOTHING in terms of space(lay down, can someone step over you?). If your friend wants to argue this point, replace his necrons with coins and keep playing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 13:16:32
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
That's a common mistake with the rez orb, players read it as "always gets a WBB roll" instead of "always gets a WBB roll even against instant kill and power weapons". Very different. Same thing happened with the old ATSKNF, marine players thought they "automatically get to regroup" but it was later shown that you can still shuttle a unit off the board because the rule actually read "automatically get to regroup even when below 50%" . Necron player sounds like a weasel to me. I imagine he got half his immortals back and veiled and shot the hell out of your genestealers? I think it was all intentional, what an arse. - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 17:14:51
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Pirate Ship Revenge
|
Oaka... what? I don't see what's so different in what you posted there. In both instances it's 'always' exept one has examples. You've mis-quoted the rule perhaps?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 18:58:33
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Blackship Exhumation
|
The difference is they do not get a WBB if the unit is completely wiped out. Most people play it as the first example provided by Oaka which would allow WBB if the unit is wiped out and no other necron of the same kind is withing 12" (I think its 12). However that is not what the Res orb does it just gives WBB when against weapons that would cause instant death or weapons that allow no save.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/22 20:00:29
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Don't Tomb Spiders let you bypass the need for a surviving model of the same type? Not that the original poster mentioned a Tomb Spider being nearby...just saying...
|
-S
2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/23 01:59:36
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
It's possible that the Necron player had a tomb spyder, in which case you would be correct. But hotflungwok's surprise upon learning that the ressurection orb does not allow it and the fact that his opponent told him the immortals got WBB rolls because of the lord help to draw the conclusion that there was no spyder and the Necron player interpreted an item of wargear incorrectly... or blatantly cheated. I personally suspect the latter due to the claim by the same player that his lord couldn't be assaulted by the genestealers because of downed immortals, it helps define the player's character to me. I have a personal bias against Necrons, however. @ Zubbiefish: I'm sure the rules are misquoted. What I meant to show was that the ressurection orb removes two specific exceptions from the normal WBB rule- weapons that are double the toughness and weapons that allow no armor saves in close combat. Because of the wording of the wargear, however, many players believe that all the exceptions to the WBB rule are removed as long as the model is close enough to the lord. That is incorrect. - Oaka
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/23 05:23:24
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
K, he was doing it wrong then. Ill have to 'enlighten' him.
I still crushed him though. Phased him out turn 6 having lost 600/1850 pts, and I controlled all 4 table quarters. He didnt bring nearly enough heavy dakka to take on a godzilla army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/23 08:33:14
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
Resurrection orb won't help in the situation described. A Tomb Spyder within 12" will allow a WBB roll if there is another Necron of the same type anywhere on the battlefield. (think I got that right)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/08/23 11:20:01
Subject: RE: Do fallen necrons get in the way?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Pirate Ship Revenge
|
Ok, got it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|