Switch Theme:

Can Terminators Massacre  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




 

I don't have my rulebook handy, so this is from memory...

In the massacre section of the BBB, it says when you wipe out a unit, your roll d6 etc etc.

Down below it says Terminators cannot sweeping advance ( which now means chase a unit falling back) and can only consolidate 3 inches.

So, can Terminators massacre? I swear I've seen it in an FAQ somewhere that says yes. Or am I misremembering?

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

I do believe that they cannot take a D6 massacre just the 3" consolidation.

RB

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Terminators may only consolidate 3" or d6" if the unit actaully wipes the opponents unit out.

pge 25 sm codex. terminators may not sweeping advance.

sweeping advance and massacre rules are on pg 43 of the rulebook.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

They can however, make an initiative check to massacre (IE winning assault and being B2B). But the end result is that they may NOT move 1d6, they only ever consolidate 3 inches.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Posted By Green Angel on 10/21/2006 5:05 PM

 

I don't have my rulebook handy, so this is from memory...

In the massacre section of the BBB, it says when you wipe out a unit, your roll d6 etc etc.

Down below it says Terminators cannot sweeping advance ( which now means chase a unit falling back) and can only consolidate 3 inches.

So, can Terminators massacre? I swear I've seen it in an FAQ somewhere that says yes. Or am I misremembering?



Oh and can someone quote for me the exact line or page number that connects the massacre result with the sweeping advance or 3 inch only consolidate for Terminators?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Posted By ATI on 10/21/2006 8:25 PM
They can however, make an initiative check to massacre (IE winning assault and being B2B). But the end result is that they may NOT move 1d6, they only ever consolidate 3 inches.

Umm...That's sweeping advance there if you are rolling I, you can only get massacre if you kill everyone in the first round of combat.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

Incorrect, sweeping advance is what you get for having a massacre this occurs in only one of two ways.
1: You kill all your opponents in combat (this can happen regardless of which turn of the assault happens)
2: You kill all of a group of opponents because you won an initiative check after your opponent failed a morale check AND is still in base to base with your models. (resulting in death of the entirety of that unit)

In both of these situations you have caused a massacre. The sweeping advance is what happens afterwards which is 1d6(happens after a massacre). However, Terminators may only ever consolidate which is a 3" move (no roll required). If you won an assault because your opponent made a "fall back" move then you only consolidate 3".

Thus if a terminator gets a massacre instead of getting the normal sweeping advance they get the 3" consolidation move instead.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

They can however, make an initiative check to massacre (IE winning assault and being B2B). But the end result is that they may NOT move 1d6, they only ever consolidate 3 inches.

Incorrect, as terminators may not sweeping advance, they may not compare intiative values.

Incorrect, sweeping advance is what you get for having a massacre this occurs in only one of two ways.

Correct, except it is a consolidation move, not a sweeping advance.

1: You kill all your opponents in combat (this can happen regardless of which turn of the assault happens)
2: You kill all of a group of opponents because you won an initiative check after your opponent failed a morale check AND is still in base to base with your models.   (resulting in death of the entirety of that unit)
In both of these situations you have caused a massacre


Correct. 


The sweeping advance is what happens afterwards which is 1d6(happens after a massacre).

Incorrect. It is a consolidation move.

pg 44 of the rulebook, second paragraph under "consolidation":

"If a unit is CONSOLIDATING due to a' massacre!' result, it moves d6" instead of 3".

Now if a unit of terminators massacre a unit due to wiping the unit out, then they may move d6" according to the rules.

Consolidating d6" has nothing to do with sweeping advance for terminators since they cannot compare initiative values, it is consolidating due to massacre because of the first example you gave.

Lets go over the sequence in the assault phase starting with step 3. (pg 36 of the rulebook) Italics are my addition

3) Determine assault results. Total up wounds inflicted. The side which inflicted the most wounds overall in the combat is the winner. (Note: this is where the massacre result for terminator would tbe determined, allowing them to consolidate d6" )

4) Loser checks morale. The loser has to pass a Morale check or fallback. If the loser passes the test, go to step 7. (Note: This is where you would determine the 3" consolidation if the losers fail their morale test, since terminators cannot  compare initiative values in step 5)

5) Breaking-off and consolidation. Units falling back from close combat must test to see if they successfully break off, if they fail they are destroyed. The winners may engage a new foe or reorder their ranks. (Note: Since terminators cannot compare intiative values for the sake of sweeping advance, you may only consolidate 3" or d6'' during this step, depending on wether your opponents unit is fleeing or was massacred.)

So, if termies cause the unit they are engaged in to flee, they consolidate 3".
If they massacre the unit they are engaged in, they consolidate d6".

My previous statement still stands.

   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Pirate Ship Revenge

I always thought it was the 3" thing... but that somehow seemed wrong. Thanks, Hellfury, for clearing that up.

I have nothing useful to add.
http://otzone.proboards34.com/index.cgi>the OT
Welp, that link ain't no good nomore. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: