Switch Theme:

Dual Storm Bolters on Mark of Wulfen HQ unit! :) Can I do this and get 2 shots per Sbolter or not ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate





the outer reaches of the Galaxy

Hey guys ...

I am new to the table top play (TTP is what I'm calling it) of 40k but I have been a long time admire of it and an avid 40k video game fan since Space Hulk first released for the NES in 1996! I am so siked to finally have met a friend with some real long time knowledge of the TTP version and who is also really creative with conversions. I am even more siked that's he is mentoring me on how to learn and play the game! Unfortunately, he is not awake 24/7 to answer all my "noob" questions lolz! So, I thought I'd make this post to cater to all my whims and advice seeking efforts.
So, spread the wealth of knowledge ! Just be gentle prease ... I still have my 40k baby teeth.

1. If I choose dual storm bolters on an HQ NON terminator unit, do I get 2 ranged attacks with each bolter in ranged phase or does the second storm bolter only add a +1 to the ranged attack during this phase? I Haven't seen it in the rule book yet.Hey guys ... thanks for the quick replies...
This is not for a standard infantry unit but instead a Space Wolves Wolf Guard Battle Leader which (according to their codex) can act as an HQ unit.
My Idea is to have him carry 2 storm bolters (one in each hand) for awesome ranged that still allow for assault because they are categorized as assault weapons and do not restrict assualt like a rapid fire or heavy weapon. And, I want to pair that with his melee skill augmented by "mark of the wulfen" which "ignores all Wargear and instead uses his TEETH for a D6+1 for attack and adds rending:
Also on top of that I'm adding in "Wolftooth Necklace" with which adds "an automatic +3 for all to hit rolls on monstrous, walkers and units with 5+ toughness." AND, this unit only cost 101 points!!

See since I'm just starting out I will only have a 500 point army so I need to pack as much power and cost saving I can in every unit.

I don't see why logically I can't do this ... I mean. For one, other posts do say that 2 storm bolters one in each hand is legal; and, I'm not talking about using them in melee phase. In melee phase I'm using "mark of the Wulfen" which uses the units TEETH to gnash at the opponent according to the codex.

So my question still remains With all this added situational info... is it legal for me to use 2 storm bolters, one in each hand and get 2 ranged attacks from each bolter during ranged phase?

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/07/18 09:48:00


 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

1st. Wrong forum, this is the fantasy section.
2nd. An infantry model can only shoot one ranged weapon per shooting phase unless he has a special, rule allowing him to do so, having additional ranged weapons provides no bonuses other than having flexibility if they do different things (BA chars with hand flamer and infernus pistol are hillarious).


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you have a look at the rules for shooting, it states each model is only allowed to use a single weapon in each shooting phase. Monstrous creatures have an exception tot hsi rule, but other than that you are restricted to 1

So, while you can BUY 2 stormbolters, you have absolutely 0 practical benefit from doing so.
   
Made in us
Ambitious Space Wolves Initiate





the outer reaches of the Galaxy

ahhh bummer, but thanks for info and sorry I'm still learning the lay of the land for this site.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
ps I think it's the right section ... says "40k You Make Da Call" at the top and bottom. Not fantasy section I don't think

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/18 10:55:22


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

KillThemAll wrote:
ps I think it's the right section ... says "40k You Make Da Call" at the top and bottom. Not fantasy section I don't think


You had indeed posted it in the WFB section, we moved it here.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: