Switch Theme:

Drop Pod and reserves (6th Ed)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Now that it's out (for some people), let the craziness begin!

Drop Pods, do their contents count as a unit toward the 1/2 reserves max limit? Rules state that units that must come in via reserves don't count toward this limit, but would that include the contents of a drop pod since they technically have the choice.

Discuss...

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Seeing as how a unit in it's dedicated transport count as a single unit, and the Drop Pod must enter via DS, the contents would not count towards the limit.

At least that is my take on it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






Would kinda ruin a thematic pod army. Also nerfs DoA armeis a little.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Happyjew wrote:Seeing as how a unit in it's dedicated transport count as a single unit,

Is this a new 6th edition rule for reserves? It's never been true before.

...
Happyjew wrote:and the Drop Pod must enter via DS, the contents would not count towards the limit.

Hopefully we get FAQs tomorrow. Or Monday, if they can't get one guy from the web team to push an update button tomorrow to put the new docs up.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Mannahnin wrote:
Happyjew wrote:Seeing as how a unit in it's dedicated transport count as a single unit,

Is this a new 6th edition rule for reserves? It's never been true before.


Count as single unit for purposes of limiting 1/2 of your units being in reserve, page 124

Edit: But still count as seperate kill points, page 127

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/30 07:19:33


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




units inside vehicles that 'must' enter play through deepstrike do not count towards your reserve limit
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




Phototoxin wrote:Would kinda ruin a thematic pod army. Also nerfs DoA armeis a little.


It seems to ruin DP only armies as it is. As I read it, the unit counts as part of its Dedicated Transport, but an IC attached to a unit does not. So any ICs you intended to ride in the Drop Pods would be part of the total. In this case, if you had only one IC, no problem... if you had two, then one IC would have to deploy on the table without the drop pod. Which would kind of suck.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Or you could take a single groundpounder unit designed to deploy on an objective and hunker down in cover, which would allow you to attach both ICs. Say a squad of Tac Marines, or Scouts with Camo Cloaks. The Scouts would make a fluffy choice for infiltrating in and calling in the Steel Rain attack.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I want to make sure I'm reasoning this out correctly.

If I take 5 units in drop pods, 2 HQ's and 1 other unit, that means I have to deploy 1

Nothing says that it has to be one of the units that counts, only that I have to deploy 1.

So I can combat squad and hide a squad of tacticals on an objective that have a Drop Pod in reserve, and put the 2 HQ's and the other unit into reserve.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Combat squad units are the same unit until they hit the board. You dont even separate combat squads in a drop pod until it comes down, so that doesn't work.
   
Made in se
Novice Knight Errant Pilot





Stockholm Forge District; Skandian Hive Collectives

True, Combat Squads are not split until they are deployed on the table, thus you split [if so is desired] units with this rule that arrives via drop pod When they arrive on the table, a trick to fix null deployment if you want 2 HQ is to ensure that one of them can take a command squad and then give them a drop pod too.

I have a little hobby-thread going in the P&M section. Some say it's the best blog on Dakka, some don't agree, most belive it would be better if I finished at least one project some time this century and not just kept starting new ones.
Check it out, you just might like it.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/385168.page 
   
Made in gb
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Dorset, UK

The Codex Arstartes Calls This Manoeuver Steel Rain.

Steel Rain should work in 6th Edition as, as it is, Drop Pods have been improved from last edition as the second half are more likely to come in and now as vehicles are easy to kill i don't see it being much of a problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 09:33:43


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Lobukia wrote:I want to make sure I'm reasoning this out correctly.

If I take 5 units in drop pods, 2 HQ's and 1 other unit, that means I have to deploy 1

Nothing says that it has to be one of the units that counts, only that I have to deploy 1.

So I can combat squad and hide a squad of tacticals on an objective that have a Drop Pod in reserve, and put the 2 HQ's and the other unit into reserve.


I don't think this will work.

Passengers in a Drop Pod have to start in reserves. But passengers out of the drop pod do not have to start in reserve, so would need to be counted.

   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




Alright I have been playing drop pods for a while now (since 4th BEFORE you actually GOT PODS!) Here is how I figure it. Please forgive me for not being able to provide page #'s but I dont have my book with me!

Lets break it down shall we:

1 Researves: You are allowed to hold HALF rounded up of your Army in Researves
2 Drop POD Assault: Half your pods (rounding DOWN) Get placed in researve the other half arrives turn 1
Combat Squads: As per the FAQ get separated BEFORE the game but can ride in a pod or dedicated transport together.

So if this is your list
Captain*
Terminators 5*/5* Combat squad
Tac* (pod)
Tac*(pod)
Tac*(pod)
Dread*(pod)
Dread*(pod)

You have 8 Units that COUNT towards researve numbers (*). The PODS DONT count but your TAC sqauds, Captain, Dreads and the TWO combat squads of Terminators DO.
So you now MUST deploy at least 4 units . However, the Tricky part is that with the Drop pod assault rules you WILL be deploying 3 of the Pods on turn one. Is it posible to simply deploy your captain or a Combat squad of Terms during your deployment and then turn 1 Deploy the DP Assaulting pods via deepstrike?
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Drop pods and the units bought with them count as 1 reserved unit that must be in reserve (even if in combat squads)... page 124

Combat squads must be declared before turn 1 starts (SM FAQ, first column)

@Dooley, you can reserve all 5 pods (as per 124), then you have 3 other squads. A captain, and two terminator squads (as per the FAQ).

Since we divide by 2 and then round up to see how many of those 3 go in to reserve, that means 2 units can now go into reserve and 1 must be deployed, but you can put the terminators and the captain into reserve and deploy just a dread and then start the game.

EDIT: and page 36 clearly tells us the a Drop Pod does count as a unit that must be in reserve

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 14:13:13


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior







Dooley wrote:Alright I have been playing drop pods for a while now (since 4th BEFORE you actually GOT PODS!) Here is how I figure it. Please forgive me for not being able to provide page #'s but I dont have my book with me!

Lets break it down shall we:

1 Researves: You are allowed to hold HALF rounded up of your Army in Researves
2 Drop POD Assault: Half your pods (rounding DOWN) Get placed in researve the other half arrives turn 1
Combat Squads: As per the FAQ get separated BEFORE the game but can ride in a pod or dedicated transport together.

So if this is your list
Captain*
Terminators 5*/5* Combat squad
Tac* (pod)
Tac*(pod)
Tac*(pod)
Dread*(pod)
Dread*(pod)

You have 8 Units that COUNT towards researve numbers (*). The PODS DONT count but your TAC sqauds, Captain, Dreads and the TWO combat squads of Terminators DO.
So you now MUST deploy at least 4 units . However, the Tricky part is that with the Drop pod assault rules you WILL be deploying 3 of the Pods on turn one. Is it posible to simply deploy your captain or a Combat squad of Terms during your deployment and then turn 1 Deploy the DP Assaulting pods via deepstrike?


The tactical squads and dreadnoughts only count for the amount you must deploy if they are not placed in their drop pod. So you could have it where only the Terminators and Captain count, enabling you to only place the Captain. If the Tactical Squads and the Dreadnoughts choose not to use their Drop Pods, then they count. But if they are arriving via Drop Pod, they would not.

Also, if I remember rules for combat squads correctly, you cannot deploy just one-both would need to be deployed at the same time. Combat squads are now declared before deployment, and may now share a transport (SM FAQ). So A Drop Pod Squad could be combat squaded, both placed in the pod, and neither would count for the reserve limit as the pod is the dedicated transport for both, and must arrive using deep strike. But if they are not placed in the Drop Pod, they would count as 2 separate units for all purposes, including reserve limits.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Lobukia

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/09 14:25:44


I play Space Marines, Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Astra Militarum, Militarum Tempestus, Chaos Space Marines, Dark Eldar, Eldar, Orks, Adepta Sororitas, 'Nids, Necrons, Tau and Grey Knights. 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Dooley wrote:
2 Drop POD Assault: Half your pods (rounding DOWN) Get placed in researve the other half arrives turn 1


The trouble with this premise is that all Drop Pods are considered in reserve when the game begins. Even though some of them come in on turn 1 they still count as being in reserve. The only reason they come in differently than normal reserves is their special rule. This is the same for Daemons. All Daemons start in reserve, but half of them come in first turn, though they are still considered to be in reserve. The rule in question says that half your army (rounded down) must start deployed, barring anything that must be in reserves. So in your example only the Captain or one of the Terminators must start on the board. If you added a 10 man scout squad split into combat squads you could deploy them on an objective and DS everything on that list.
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




It is my understanding that the Dedicated Transport (ie the Pods) DONT count for units however, the Units INSIDE them still do? Am I over complicating things here ?
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker






Gents,

Read page 36 really carefully... units that must DS in and "any" passengers don't count for reserves math...

You may take a full drop pod army and deploy nothing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 16:02:09


6K, 7K, 5K, 8K, 7K 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

It doesn't say in the reserve rules that units IN their DT count as a unit. It says that units AND their DT count as 1 unit for reserve purposes. Drop pods are listed on page 36 as a unit that must go in reserve. So, DPs and their units do not count towards reserves, whether they are combat squads or deployed.

Edit: ninja'd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 16:08:34


DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Tactica wrote:Gents,

Read page 36 really carefully... units that must DS in and "any" passengers don't count for reserves math...

You may take a full drop pod army and deploy nothing.

+1 for being right
+1 for making my life easier
+1 for making me look the fool.

Although if you plan on using terminators/LotD you cannot DS everything as they cannot take DP.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 16:14:26


 
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




Captain Antivas wrote:
Dooley wrote:
. If you added a 10 man scout squad split into combat squads you could deploy them on an objective and DS everything on that list.


Captain Antivas wrote:
Dooley wrote:


. So in your example only the Captain or one of the Terminators must start on the board. If you added a 10 man scout squad split into combat squads you could deploy them on an objective and DS everything on that list.


The list above was an example. Ironicaly enough the list I am currently tooling around with DOES EXACTLY WHAT YOU MENTIONED.

Vulkan
Dread Pod
Dread Pod
Terms (Deep Strike)
Tac Pod
Tac Pod
Scouts 5 (infiltrate)
Scouts 5 (Infiltrate )

Now what I plan on doing is deploy the two scouts (preferably on an obj) via infiltrate and Deepstrike the Terminators utilizing all the locator beacons and hommers for optimal/sergical placement. The only ding the list recives in the new edition is that I can no longer Split the Terms into two 5 man groups and MUST decide weather or not to split the TAC squads before the game starts. I kind of liked the flexibility to split them IF NEED BE once they hit the ground or not.

Im still not 100% on the legality of this however? It all hinges on weather or not the Units IN the pods count as required units. Yes I know the PODS dont count but the UNITS RIDING IN THEM DO! So I would have 8 units and would have to deploy 4?? The entire point is to Deep strike EVERYTHING (minus the scouts) so having things NOT ride in a Pod is really not the point here.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Dooley wrote:Vulkan
Dread Pod
Dread Pod
Terms (Deep Strike)
Tac Pod
Tac Pod
Scouts 5 (infiltrate)
Scouts 5 (Infiltrate )

Now what I plan on doing is deploy the two scouts (preferably on an obj) via infiltrate and Deepstrike the Terminators utilizing all the locator beacons and hommers for optimal/sergical placement. The only ding the list recives in the new edition is that I can no longer Split the Terms into two 5 man groups and MUST decide weather or not to split the TAC squads before the game starts. I kind of liked the flexibility to split them IF NEED BE once they hit the ground or not.

Im still not 100% on the legality of this however? It all hinges on weather or not the Units IN the pods count as required units. Yes I know the PODS dont count but the UNITS RIDING IN THEM DO! So I would have 8 units and would have to deploy 4?? The entire point is to Deep strike EVERYTHING (minus the scouts) so having things NOT ride in a Pod is really not the point here.

If Vulkan is with a Tac he counts as being in the DP (since you just have to inform your opponent that he is starting the game with the unit according to pg. 39) and according to DS rules he doesn't count towards reserves since he is in a transport that is part of DS. If he is part of the Termie squad he counts as his own unit, but is 1 of 4 units that count. So you can keep 2 units in reserve and deploy 2. The 2 scouts being deployed meets that requirement and so you can choose to DS Vulkan in the pod or with the Termies.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Oh, and you round UP, unlike fantasy.
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




Captain Antivas wrote:
If Vulkan is with a Tac he counts as being in the DP (since you just have to inform your opponent that he is starting the game with the unit according to pg. 39) and according to DS rules he doesn't count towards reserves since he is in a transport that is part of DS. If he is part of the Termie squad he counts as his own unit, but is 1 of 4 units that count. So you can keep 2 units in reserve and deploy 2. The 2 scouts being deployed meets that requirement and so you can choose to DS Vulkan in the pod or with the Termies.


This is not right. While the Reserve rules state that the unit and their transport count as 1, they state that ICs must be counted separate. This means that even if you had a squad + IC in a DP, the IC counts for the math to figure how many units can be held in reserve. The consequence of this is that if you had a 100% DP list, with two ICs in it, one of them would be forced to deploy on the table.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

So you take one IC, or take a durable "scout/vanguard" unit which can deploy hunkered-down in terrain.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

CanisLupus518 wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:
If Vulkan is with a Tac he counts as being in the DP (since you just have to inform your opponent that he is starting the game with the unit according to pg. 39) and according to DS rules he doesn't count towards reserves since he is in a transport that is part of DS. If he is part of the Termie squad he counts as his own unit, but is 1 of 4 units that count. So you can keep 2 units in reserve and deploy 2. The 2 scouts being deployed meets that requirement and so you can choose to DS Vulkan in the pod or with the Termies.


This is not right. While the Reserve rules state that the unit and their transport count as 1, they state that ICs must be counted separate. This means that even if you had a squad + IC in a DP, the IC counts for the math to figure how many units can be held in reserve. The consequence of this is that if you had a 100% DP list, with two ICs in it, one of them would be forced to deploy on the table.


...or you throw a tac squad out, put the IC in a DP, and reserve the tac's empty pod... much better than a lone IC, IMHO.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

CanisLupus518 wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:
If Vulkan is with a Tac he counts as being in the DP (since you just have to inform your opponent that he is starting the game with the unit according to pg. 39) and according to DS rules he doesn't count towards reserves since he is in a transport that is part of DS. If he is part of the Termie squad he counts as his own unit, but is 1 of 4 units that count. So you can keep 2 units in reserve and deploy 2. The 2 scouts being deployed meets that requirement and so you can choose to DS Vulkan in the pod or with the Termies.


This is not right. While the Reserve rules state that the unit and their transport count as 1, they state that ICs must be counted separate. This means that even if you had a squad + IC in a DP, the IC counts for the math to figure how many units can be held in reserve. The consequence of this is that if you had a 100% DP list, with two ICs in it, one of them would be forced to deploy on the table.


As was previously posted the DS rules state that anything that must DS and any passengers do not count (pg. 36). The independent character rule you refer to applies, as I read it, to an IC who joins a squad in reserves but is not DS.
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






Passengers are only exempt if the transport is dedicated.

Marines in their drop pod - Exempt
Marines in a Storm Raven - Marines not exempt, Raven Exempt
Marines in a Rhino - Neither exempt.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Captain Antivas wrote:
CanisLupus518 wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:
If Vulkan is with a Tac he counts as being in the DP (since you just have to inform your opponent that he is starting the game with the unit according to pg. 39) and according to DS rules he doesn't count towards reserves since he is in a transport that is part of DS. If he is part of the Termie squad he counts as his own unit, but is 1 of 4 units that count. So you can keep 2 units in reserve and deploy 2. The 2 scouts being deployed meets that requirement and so you can choose to DS Vulkan in the pod or with the Termies.


This is not right. While the Reserve rules state that the unit and their transport count as 1, they state that ICs must be counted separate. This means that even if you had a squad + IC in a DP, the IC counts for the math to figure how many units can be held in reserve. The consequence of this is that if you had a 100% DP list, with two ICs in it, one of them would be forced to deploy on the table.


As was previously posted the DS rules state that anything that must DS and any passengers do not count (pg. 36). The independent character rule you refer to applies, as I read it, to an IC who joins a squad in reserves but is not DS.


Good catch!

Per the general Reserve rules, page 124, a dedicated transport and its unit count as 1, and ICs must be counted separately.
However per the more specific Deep Strike rules, page 36, a unit which always Deep Strikes does not count, nor do "any models embarked upon" it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: