Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 23:47:16
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
|
A couple questions. First, with the Banner of Devastation do the boltguns keep rapid fire? Also can I fast blessing or maldictions out of land raiders?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 23:51:21
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Standard of Devastation : Yes. Nothing states it is removed, just an additional bonus if within 6" of the standard (applicable to the full range of the boltgun).
*** EDIT *** (of course I could be wrong)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/19 00:01:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 23:56:16
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
|
If that is the case, would it fire eight shots within half the weapons max range (doubling the shots) or would it jus give me one extra shot for a total of five?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 23:57:40
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Razakil wrote:If that is the case, would it fire eight shots within half the weapons max range (doubling the shots) or would it jus give me one extra shot for a total of five?
Neither, as it will be fired as a Salvo 2/4 weapon or a rapid fire weapon.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 00:21:38
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Did the OP mean *cast* blessings? If so, no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 00:29:34
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
You can pick between firing as Salvo or a Rapid Fire weapon. There isn't ever a reason to use Rapid Fire when you have the Salvo that I can see so you'll always use the Salvo profile if you qualify.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 01:05:34
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Grey Templar wrote:You can pick between firing as Salvo or a Rapid Fire weapon. There isn't ever a reason to use Rapid Fire when you have the Salvo that I can see so you'll always use the Salvo profile if you qualify.
Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo. Also, salvo can only fire half of its range if you move, so rapid fire would come in handy if you have to move.
EDIT:
You can only cast spells on the unit thats in the LR or on the LR itself.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/19 01:06:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 01:53:54
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Terrifying Treeman
The Fallen Realm of Umbar
|
Razakil wrote:A couple questions. First, with the Banner of Devastation do the boltguns keep rapid fire? Also can I fast blessing or maldictions out of land raiders?
No, re-read the text
No, you can only cast powers on the unit you are embarked with and (I think) the LR itself
|
DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 11:05:43
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Texanity wrote:Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo.
This is correct, you don't get the choice, any boltguns within range ARE Salvo weapons full stop. It doesn't say anything about creating a new profile for the weapon, nor does it use any wording like "may" or "choose to". Page 66 if you want to check.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 12:39:26
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Texanity wrote: Grey Templar wrote:You can pick between firing as Salvo or a Rapid Fire weapon. There isn't ever a reason to use Rapid Fire when you have the Salvo that I can see so you'll always use the Salvo profile if you qualify.
Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo. Also, salvo can only fire half of its range if you move, so rapid fire would come in handy if you have to move.
EDIT:
You can only cast spells on the unit thats in the LR or on the LR itself.
Its worth noting to the OP that Bikes are relentless and therefor even while moving, can fire 4 shots.
I am fairly certain that you can cast powers out of vehicles that have ports like Razorbacks, but not Land Raiders.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 13:30:40
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
Moridan wrote:I am fairly certain that you can cast powers out of vehicles that have ports like Razorbacks, but not Land Raiders.
You can only use the fire points of a transport for psychic shooting attacks. You are not allowed to use them for line of sight for blessings or maledictions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 13:36:58
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And Razorbacks don't have firing points.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 15:43:49
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mandor wrote:Moridan wrote:I am fairly certain that you can cast powers out of vehicles that have ports like Razorbacks, but not Land Raiders.
You can only use the fire points of a transport for psychic shooting attacks. You are not allowed to use them for line of sight for blessings or maledictions.
I hate not having my books at work.
So you can shoot out of fire points, but you cant see out of them to cast a blessing on a friendly vehicle next door? hmm
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:10:19
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Mandor wrote:Moridan wrote:I am fairly certain that you can cast powers out of vehicles that have ports like Razorbacks, but not Land Raiders.
You can only use the fire points of a transport for psychic shooting attacks. You are not allowed to use them for line of sight for blessings or maledictions.
Line of sight has nothing to do with it. Even powers that don't require line of sight can't be used on targets that are not embarked upon or the embarked vehicle.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:16:33
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Texanity wrote: Grey Templar wrote:You can pick between firing as Salvo or a Rapid Fire weapon. There isn't ever a reason to use Rapid Fire when you have the Salvo that I can see so you'll always use the Salvo profile if you qualify.
Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo. Also, salvo can only fire half of its range if you move, so rapid fire would come in handy if you have to move.
EDIT:
You can only cast spells on the unit thats in the LR or on the LR itself.
Meh, wasn't sure about the exact wording. Should have clarified.
Either way, the Salvo profile is always going to be better.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:26:05
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Super Ready wrote: Texanity wrote:Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo.
This is correct, you don't get the choice, any boltguns within range ARE Salvo weapons full stop. It doesn't say anything about creating a new profile for the weapon, nor does it use any wording like "may" or "choose to". Page 66 if you want to check.
So it says that they are no longer Rapid Fire?
Why cant the Boltgun have two types?
Psycannons are Heavy4/ Assault2, they have two types, so we know having two types is possible.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:30:26
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Purely an academic argument as there would never be a reason to not use the Salvo profile.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:39:50
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Grey Templar wrote:Purely an academic argument as there would never be a reason to not use the Salvo profile.
Unless the firing model moves and the target is 23 inches away.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:51:00
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote: Super Ready wrote: Texanity wrote:Are you sure you can choose? It dosnt say you MAY fire as a Salvo, it says you treat them as salvo.
This is correct, you don't get the choice, any boltguns within range ARE Salvo weapons full stop. It doesn't say anything about creating a new profile for the weapon, nor does it use any wording like "may" or "choose to". Page 66 if you want to check.
So it says that they are no longer Rapid Fire?
Why cant the Boltgun have two types?
Psycannons are Heavy4/ Assault2, they have two types, so we know having two types is possible.
It doesn't have two types because there's nothing saying it has two types.
It's Rapid Fire. The Banner says it is now Salvo.
Nothing about keeping Rapid Fire or giving you an option.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 16:55:19
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
But it doesn't say it loses Rapid Fire, which it must say for the weapon to lose it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 17:03:56
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Grey Templar wrote:But it doesn't say it loses Rapid Fire, which it must say for the weapon to lose it.
That's not true.
The rule says that they "treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons"
There's no allowance to treat them as Rapid Fire.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 17:46:53
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: Grey Templar wrote:But it doesn't say it loses Rapid Fire, which it must say for the weapon to lose it.
That's not true. The rule says that they "treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons" There's no allowance to treat them as Rapid Fire.
They are rapid fire, and we treat them as salvo. Where does it say a weapon can not have 2 types? we know having two types is possible because Psycannons have 2 types.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/19 17:47:19
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 17:50:11
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Grey Templar wrote:But it doesn't say it loses Rapid Fire, which it must say for the weapon to lose it.
That's not true.
The rule says that they "treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons"
There's no allowance to treat them as Rapid Fire.
They are rapid fire, and we treat them as salvo.
Where does it say a weapon can not have 2 types?
we know having two types is possible because Psycannons have 2 types.
The rulebook doesn't state what you can't do, only what you can. The psycannon they specifically tell us it has two types, ie, they give a two-type profile.
That is not the case here, all boltguns within a certain range are treated as salvo 2/4. If you're in that range, your boltgun is salvo 2/4. You no longer have the original profile to choose.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 17:57:41
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Target wrote:The rulebook doesn't state what you can't do, only what you can.
Really? it is a permissive ruleset
The psycannon they specifically tell us it has two types, ie, they give a two-type profile.
That is not the case here, all boltguns within a certain range are treated as salvo 2/4. If you're in that range, your boltgun is salvo 2/4. You no longer have the original profile to choose.
Boltguns have the Type Rapid Fire, the banner says to treat them as Salvo2/4, It does not say that Rapid Fire is removed.
Permissive ruleset tells us that Rapid Fire only goes away if the rules say it goes away. The Banner does not say that rapid Fire is removed, so it is not.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:02:43
Subject: Re:Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:Target wrote:The rulebook doesn't state what you can't do, only what you can.
Really? it is a permissive ruleset
The psycannon they specifically tell us it has two types, ie, they give a two-type profile.
That is not the case here, all boltguns within a certain range are treated as salvo 2/4. If you're in that range, your boltgun is salvo 2/4. You no longer have the original profile to choose.
Boltguns have the Type Rapid Fire, the banner says to treat them as Salvo2/4, It does not say that Rapid Fire is removed.
Permissive ruleset tells us that Rapid Fire only goes away if the rules say it goes away. The Banner does not say that rapid Fire is removed, so it is not.
If you attempt to use Rapid Fire you are not treating the boltgun as a Salvo 2/4 weapon.
Therefore you're breaking a rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:08:18
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You are treating the boltgun as a Salvo 2/4 weapon, but it has rapid fire, so you chose to use Rapid fire Type instead of Salvo 2/4 Type.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/19 18:08:38
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:11:58
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:You are treating the boltgun as a Salvo 2/4 weapon, but it has rapid fire, so you chose to use Rapid fire Type instead of Salvo 2/4 Type.
How can you treat it as a Salvo 2/4 weapon if you're using Rapid Fire?
You'd have to treat it as a Salvo 2/4/Rapid Fire weapon (using the Psycannon as an example). The Banner does not give you permission to do that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:21:26
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Because they are treated as Salvo2/4, and the base profile is Rapid Fire, and as nothing removes Rapid Fire from the profile, they Bolters retain the Rapid Fire Type.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:26:01
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:Because they are treated as Salvo2/4, and the base profile is Rapid Fire, and as nothing removes Rapid Fire from the profile, they Bolters retain the Rapid Fire Type.
And again - if you're using Rapid Fire you are absolutely not treating the weapon as Salvo 2/4.
You're treating the weapon as Rapid Fire/Salvo 2/4.
Does the Banner give you permission to treat the weapon as Rapid Fire/Salvo 2/4?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/19 18:58:09
Subject: Two DA questions
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Because they are treated as Salvo2/4, and the base profile is Rapid Fire, and as nothing removes Rapid Fire from the profile, they Bolters retain the Rapid Fire Type.
And again - if you're using Rapid Fire you are absolutely not treating the weapon as Salvo 2/4.
You're treating the weapon as Rapid Fire/Salvo 2/4.
Does the Banner give you permission to treat the weapon as Rapid Fire/Salvo 2/4?
I'm gonna have to go with rigeld2 on this one.
|
GW Apologist-in-Chief |
|
 |
 |
|