Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 06:44:06
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi guys, sorry if this has been brought up before but the browsers where I work are terrible and half of the functions of this site do not work(its my works fault, security side of things disable alot of browser stuff).
I have checked the FAQ and in the RB, Death Ray says mark a point, roll 3d6 and draw a line between the 2 points, does the first point have to start over a model or can it be beside one and then go over models from there?
Also, if the answer to my question is that you don't have to start it on a model, then can you fire it over a unit in melee combat, because technically you are not targeting a unit in melee. The main reason I question this and don't go by the rule where you cannot fire into close combat, is because you are not actually shooting at a model, you are firing a line between 2 points and anything(friend or foe) under it is hit. The only way I can see you hitting your own men with that weapon is if they are locked into melee combat and you want to kill something that is tieing up a unit of yours. Otherwise, what would be the point in putting the friend or foe part in?
Just need some clarification, otherwise, I need to adjust tactics. I played a game last night, and I did ask the other player, and he went with you can because you aren't targeting the unit itself, but I would like clarification for future fights so we dont have to stand there scratching our heads going,"wtf, is it actually possible" because with the way the rules are written in the codex, I cannot see why you couldnt do that. Please correct me if im wrong. Would of won the game regardless, but just nice to know. Automatically Appended Next Post: To add to that, I also ask this question because if you use a blast or LB template, and it scatters onto a unit locked in melee combat, it still hits.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/25 07:38:18
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 08:31:48
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
The point is placed within the arc of fire for the Death ray and no more than 12in away, the only restricting to this is should you choose to fire your Tesla Destructor's you have to fire them at a valid target that was hit by the death ray.
I think you will find many people that will challenge the idea of drawing the line through an active assault even though you are not directly targeting it.
Other than that there is no restriction to whether you target a model or not when you first fire the Death ray.
|
3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 08:46:57
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hi and thanks, thats what we thought and I did ask the other player if he was ok with it and he was because of the the RAW states it so, if a player had an issue, i wouldn't do it, but as RAW, i can't see why.
Also, just so I am understanding the death ray completly. Does it act like a template, in that any model under the line is automatically hit or do I still need to roll to hit on BS for that?
|
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 11:31:01
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BLADERIKER wrote:The point is placed within the arc of fire for the Death ray and no more than 12in away, the only restricting to this is should you choose to fire your Tesla Destructor's you have to fire them at a valid target that was hit by the death ray.
I think you will find many people that will challenge the idea of drawing the line through an active assault even though you are not directly targeting it.
Other than that there is no restriction to whether you target a model or not when you first fire the Death ray.
You can definitely draw through an active assault. The Death from the skies makes it pretty clear you can even draw it through your own models. It seems based on the quote below it does not suffer any "targeting restrictions" because you target a point on the ground not a unit.
"Then, draw a straight line (considered to be l mm wide) between the two points, Every unit. (friendly or enemy, but excluding Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures)"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/25 11:34:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 12:00:29
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Saltis any model under the line is auto hit so you dont have to roll to hit them, just to wound, the BS is only used for the TL Tesla Destructor.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/25 12:01:26
Somewhere close to 25'000pts
I lost count a few years back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 12:27:38
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for the reply guys and clarification, i must have missed the death from the skies thing, we had already played like that, i just wanted clarification incase I get any arguments when I try it in future. The help is much appreciated from a fellow overlord!
|
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 17:10:36
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
What about multi level areas? I fired my Death Ray last night and they said i had to choose a level. What do others think?
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 17:15:22
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Mythra wrote:What about multi level areas? I fired my Death Ray last night and they said i had to choose a level. What do others think?
I would have thought that it wouldnt make a different unless ur talking about a building, in which case, then going straight down, as long as you can make the distance is ok to touch each of the models? I leave that as a question because its equally confusing, it says 2 points on the table, if a level is on the table, then it should be able to shoot at. Going on what people have said previously in here would state that it can fire on multiple levels as long as your dice rolls meet the range you need.
|
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 17:18:19
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Wow that does sound right.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 17:34:23
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Death ray is specifically models under the line. As it is written now. I would say it hits all levels.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 17:58:54
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Ok.
The point you choose can be anywhere in the weapons range, so it's front 45 degree arc, but you can only kill things within the 45 degree arc in front of the gun, so it's a moot point.
You cannot fire into melee, it's a BRB rule, the only way to do it is if a special rule says you can, or you scatter into melee.
Finally regarding ruins, the rule tells you to choose a point on the battlefield, not a point above the battlefield, so you RAW cannot hit things in ruins, though few people would argue you can't choose a level and only hit that level.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/25 18:08:47
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:Ok.
The point you choose can be anywhere in the weapons range, so it's front 45 degree arc, but you can only kill things within the 45 degree arc in front of the gun, so it's a moot point.
You cannot fire into melee, it's a BRB rule, the only way to do it is if a special rule says you can, or you scatter into melee.
Finally regarding ruins, the rule tells you to choose a point on the battlefield, not a point above the battlefield, so you RAW cannot hit things in ruins, though few people would argue you can't choose a level and only hit that level.
First point you can kill anything in LOS, the 45 degree arc only matters for targeting. There is debate about if LOS is front arc or 360.
Second point you aren't firing into combat - this seems to be a big mental block for people that don't like that the deathray can razor models in a combat.
Read Death form the skies Death Ray entry regarding your final point your interpretation is wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 16:35:21
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Please provide rules citations as to why your points are anything other than opinions.
1: You can only kill things in your LOS, and a vehicles los with the weapon in question is 45 degrees, while you could draw a perpendicular line from the vehicle, you can only hit things in the area.
2: You cannot fire into melee, unless it's accidental through scatter or you have a rule stating you can. Using the death ray is firing a ranged weapon.
3: The doom scythe death ray creates a 1 mm thick line between two points on the battlefield, IE on the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 16:48:44
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:Please provide rules citations as to why your points are anything other than opinions.
1: You can only kill things in your LOS, and a vehicles los with the weapon in question is 45 degrees, while you could draw a perpendicular line from the vehicle, you can only hit things in the area.
2: You cannot fire into melee, unless it's accidental through scatter or you have a rule stating you can. Using the death ray is firing a ranged weapon.
3: The doom scythe death ray creates a 1 mm thick line between two points on the battlefield, IE on the table.
To further your #3 point. I believe it's the general consensus, maybe even FAQ'd, I can't remember, that JoTWW(which also draws a line along the table) cannot hit models on upper levels of ruins.
But you're #2 is wrong. You can't target units in CC, and death ray doesn't target units just a point on the ground. I don't like it but it's legal.
Caboose
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 18:15:21
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It seems neither of you have access to Death from the skies to read the new wording of death ray.
1. you maybe right since its on a vehicle.
2. you clearly don't understand the rules. Its not targeting anything in close combat and thus not breaking the rules. You are not allowed to target your own models either but death ray sites you hit your own models in the current wording. Deathray can be run through a close combat as well as friendly models. It is unique in that. Like I said you seem to have a mental block as to what is and isn't targeted. Death Ray does not target models it targets points.
3. again wording in death from the skies.
I would like to post the full rule of death from the skies so you can read it and understand why you are wrong, but i think the forum prohibits more than just snippets.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/26 18:16:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 18:22:21
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
tgf wrote:It seems neither of you have access to Death from the skies to read the new wording of death ray.
1. you maybe right since its on a vehicle.
2. you clearly don't understand the rules. Its not targeting anything in close combat and thus not breaking the rules. You are not allowed to target your own models either but death ray sites you hit your own models in the current wording. Deathray can be run through a close combat as well as friendly models. It is unique in that. Like I said you seem to have a mental block as to what is and isn't targeted. Death Ray does not target models it targets points.
3. again wording in death from the skies.
I would like to post the full rule of death from the skies so you can read it and understand why you are wrong, but i think the forum prohibits more than just snippets.
1. Didn't disagree because it's true
2. Made it pretty clear that I agreed death ray can go through units in CC.
3. Don't have Death from the Skies, but it wouldn't surprise me if it said they can hit units on different levels based on GW's recent love for Necrons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 18:32:17
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Death from the skies doesn't change a thing. The guns range is 12, still a 45 degree arc in front of the weapon. The starting point must be in this zone, the other one doesn't have to be.
With regards to the firing into melee aspect, yet again you are using a ranged weapon that is having it's line purposefully drawn over units in melee, making such a line illegal.
The bloodly text says "To fire the death ray" meaning it's clearly a ranged weapon just from that. A ranged weapon that doesn't have expressive permission to hit targets in melee.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 18:37:28
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
tgf wrote:
You can definitely draw through an active assault. The Death from the skies makes it pretty clear you can even draw it through your own models. It seems based on the quote below it does not suffer any "targeting restrictions" because you target a point on the ground not a unit.
"Then, draw a straight line (considered to be l mm wide) between the two points, Every unit. (friendly or enemy, but excluding Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures)"
This is a hard one. On the one hand the rule above does not explicitly mention anything about overriding the restrictions on firing in assaults. On the other it does say "every unit" which could be taken to mean it does override it.
If we do allow it to fire into an assault then I'd say both units involved would have to take a hit.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 18:39:41
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
juraigmamer you are going to have to go read your rules, but deathray hits stuff in close combat there is not rule that requires a ranged weapon to have permission to hit, only to target. Go read your rules and stop being circular.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/26 19:30:40
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Off the top of my head:
Blood Lance - specifically states it cannot hit units locked in cc.
Vibro Cannon - FAQ'd to be able to hit units locked in cc.
JotWW - does not specify either way.
Therefore we have precedence for being able to hit units locked in cc unless specifically stated otherwise. Or at least that is how I read it.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 06:51:53
Subject: Re:Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I appreciate all the replys and I am taking all on board. This is the main reason why I brought this up, because due to RAW, I am not TARGETING a model in CC, I am firing between 2 points and as it happens, yes, there are enemy models there.
Clively - On your point, its only models under the line that get hit, so if I could position the line in a way that my models don't get hit, then it wouldn't hit them.
If I had an enemy model and I have surrounded it, and then I fire the death ray over and hit some of my own models, essentially sacrificing some of my own models to hit it. That would be the only way to hit my own models.
|
D ====> IMMA CHARGIN MAH TESLA!!
D ====> ====> ====> IMMA FIRE MAH TESLA!!
(from 2nd and 3rd edition, current value unknown)
- 1500-ish (more models that arent useable)
- 2650
WHFB Dark Elves - 1400ish |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 12:38:05
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can definitely draw it through your own models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 13:52:34
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
TGF, go ahead and quote the revised text from DFTS. We don't permit quoting wholesale from books, but quoting the relevant section to allow discussion is permissible and counts as Fair Use.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 14:43:34
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
As if that would help us with anything, but the quote is:
"Every unit (friendly or enemy, but excluding Zooming Flyers and Swooping MC's) underneath the line suffers a number of hits equal to the number of models underneath the line in that unit."
Fact: You cannot shoot at units in Close Combat.
What does 'shoot at' mean?
Is it the intent of harming them?
Is is the act of targeting them?
Is it hitting or wounding the targets with a shooting attack?
Fact: You nominate two points and draw a line between them.
Does this line "count" as a template?
Are the units under the line considered as targeted?
In my opinion you are not allowed to target models locked in CC.
The Ray targets two points and draws a line between 'em, so it doesn't target any model.
Therefore you can use the Death Ray on units in melee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 14:48:37
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I thought the fact was you cannot target units in CC. As you definitely can shoot at units albeit accidentally via scattering at least.
Regardless of that though I don't see any RAW preventing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/27 17:04:40
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You can't target units in cc with a shooting attack. There are also specific additional provisions on blast markers and templates that you can't place them so that they cover any models in cc; although blasts are allowed to scatter there.
There does not appear to be any prohibition on Death Ray into cc, as it apparently doesn't target the models it covers (hence why you can cross/kill your own models with it).
Bear in mind, however, that the TL Tesla Destructor does need to target, and can only shoot at one of the units crossed by the line, so if you don't want to waste those shots, you want to try to make sure the line crosses at least one unengaged enemy unit.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/28 02:24:33
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ray: To fire the death ray, nominate a point on the
battlefield anywhere within the weapon's range, then
nominate a second point within 3D6" of the first. Then,
draw a straight line (considered to be l mm wide) between
the two points, Every unit. (friendly or enemy, but excluding
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures)
underneath the line suffers a number of hits equal to the
number of models underneath the line in that unit. If the
vehicle's other weaponry is fired in the same shooting phase,
it must be fired at. one of the units hit by the death ray.
Another reason to believe you can hit models in CC intentionally with this weapon is the fact that there is no scatter yet it still includes a clause for hitting your own models indicating you can deliberately draw the line through your own units and CC without breaking any targeting rules.
The second point is that is specifies models underneath the line and is not specifically a template weapon. This is why I believe if you draw it across a multi-level ruin you may be able to hit models standing vertically aligned.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/28 02:28:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/28 02:31:58
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I think it can't hit units on upper floors, personally. Or maybe just on one selected floor. It does say units under the line, and it also specifies that the line's a line, a mm wide. Treating it as a plane infinitely high seems wrong to me.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/28 02:37:59
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin wrote:I think it can't hit units on upper floors, personally. Or maybe just on one selected floor. It does say units under the line, and it also specifies that the line's a line, a mm wide. Treating it as a plane infinitely high seems wrong to me.
Could easily be run that way I would not object to either interpretation on that particular point of the weapons effects.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/28 03:37:24
Subject: Doom Scythe and Death Ray
|
 |
Inexperienced VF-1A Valkyrie Brownie
|
Mannahnin wrote:I think it can't hit units on upper floors, personally. Or maybe just on one selected floor. It does say units under the line, and it also specifies that the line's a line, a mm wide. Treating it as a plane infinitely high seems wrong to me.
I would agree, except it says select the first point ON the battlefield, and then select a second and draw a line between them. So, if you roll 9 inches, and have that second point in the air above 2 levels of ruins, as long as your line is only a total of 9 inches, then everything -under- the line is hit. One way, RAW, to handle that. But having your line go from the board up into the air eats up that distance.
I don't run dooms, so I haven't gamed this before...
|
|
 |
 |
|