Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:06:36
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I've heard some people play assault & overwatch such that the target can only overwatch the unit that declares the charge first. Is this correct?
Or can the target choose not to overwatch the first assault and instead overwatch the 2nd, 3rd, etc. unit that declares the charge?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:08:46
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You can choose not to overwatch the first unit, but if their charge is successful and they make it into base contact, your can no longer overwatch.
If the first unit fails to make it to base contact, you can then overwatch the second unit. (As long as you didnt overwatch the first unit)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/14 19:11:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:10:23
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It is debatable. According to one side, you are locked as soon as a unit makes it into base contact (which leads to other wonky rules). According to others you are not locked until the following Fight sub-phase (which also leads to other wonky rules).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/14 19:10:32
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:16:52
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel
|
Yup, Personally I play as once a unit successfully charges you can no longer overwatch other units. But I've seen both sides. I just prefer that method because it allows for more tactical play, do you overwatch my one model that needs say a 10" charge, or do you rely on me not making the charge and overwatch my bigger closer unit to reduce its numbers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:24:01
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:It is debatable. According to one side, you are locked as soon as a unit makes it into base contact ( which leads to other wonky rules). According to others you are not locked until the following Fight sub-phase (which also leads to other wonky rules).
It really doesn't. At all. It'd be great if you'd stop asserting that it does.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:25:03
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
So you disagree that when a unit is locked it can only make pile in and consolidation moves, neither of which charge moves are?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 19:29:15
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:So you disagree that when a unit is locked it can only make pile in and consolidation moves, neither of which charge moves are?
Never said that.
You're misunderstanding what happens. You're only locked when you're told to test. Are you told to test during a charge move - IE after it's started?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:05:04
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Happy, you are locked as soon as the first model of the assaulting unit makes it into B2B.
You also have to finish moving all the rest of the models the required charge distance before you move onto the next step, so there is no issue with other models being able to also make it into B2B.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:09:09
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Happy, you are locked as soon as the first model of the assaulting unit makes it into B2B.
You also have to finish moving all the rest of the models the required charge distance before you move onto the next step, so there is no issue with other models being able to also make it into B2B.
Except by your own admission you cannot move said models. Cannot trumps Must.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:12:51
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Why cant you move the models?
You arent at a step where a "cant" even comes up.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:16:21
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Breng77 wrote:Yup, Personally I play as once a unit successfully charges you can no longer overwatch other units.
That is how my group plays it. ( HIWPI)
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:22:23
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: Happyjew wrote:So you disagree that when a unit is locked it can only make pile in and consolidation moves, neither of which charge moves are?
Never said that.
You're misunderstanding what happens. You're only locked when you're told to test. Are you told to test during a charge move - IE after it's started?
(Emphasis mine)
The underlined is 100% incorrect.
The actual rule is: "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." (23)
Note that this rule applies at all times when the condition is met. Unless you have a quote that says it only applies when " You're only locked when you're told to test."
Do you have a quote that says this?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:26:40
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
And note i am not disagreeing with the "While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot."
I am stating that the above rule does not prevent you from finishing the assault move that caused it to be locked in combat.
You have to finish the current assault before you are allowed to do or check anything else.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:26:52
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Happyjew wrote:So you disagree that when a unit is locked it can only make pile in and consolidation moves, neither of which charge moves are?
Never said that.
You're misunderstanding what happens. You're only locked when you're told to test. Are you told to test during a charge move - IE after it's started?
(Emphasis mine)
The underlined is 100% incorrect.
The actual rule is: "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." (23)
Note that this rule applies at all times when the condition is met. Unless you have a quote that says it only applies when " You're only locked when you're told to test."
Do you have a quote that says this?
Find permission to check for locked status while in the middle of resolving a charge move. I'd love for you to actually cite a rule showing that for once.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:34:04
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
We play it that all intended assault moves against a unit are declared first. Overwatch is then resolved with the player on the receiving end of the assault deciding against which unit. Then assault moves are made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:38:38
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
which is fine if your house rulling it that way. However the rulebook clearly explains you declare charge's and overwatch, one at a time.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:42:44
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is there an example in the rulebook of multiple units charging a single unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 20:42:45
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Happyjew wrote:So you disagree that when a unit is locked it can only make pile in and consolidation moves, neither of which charge moves are?
Never said that.
You're misunderstanding what happens. You're only locked when you're told to test. Are you told to test during a charge move - IE after it's started?
(Emphasis mine)
The underlined is 100% incorrect.
The actual rule is: "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." (23)
Note that this rule applies at all times when the condition is met. Unless you have a quote that says it only applies when " You're only locked when you're told to test."
Do you have a quote that says this?
Find permission to check for locked status while in the middle of resolving a charge move. I'd love for you to actually cite a rule showing that for once.
I have, it is right here...
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." (23)
Does a unit with the initial charger in base to base "have one or more models in base contact with enemies" If the answer is yes then the unit is "locked in combat"
The rule is a condition that is applied at all times if the unit has "one or more models in base contact with enemies" As per the rule on page 23
Find permission that tells you that you must check for locked status before the rule applies. I'd love for you to actually cite a rule showing that for once.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 21:09:56
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
No deathreaper, it does not apply until after the entire unit finish's the assault move already in progress.
You do not have permission anywhere to stop the assault move already in progress.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 21:16:39
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Hmmm... no, no it's not. You must check for locked status before you can determine if it applies, correct? Are you told when to check? I can show specific instances that tell you when to check, whereas you're asserting you check every second of every milimeter of movement, firing, assault, planning your turn...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/14 21:16:49
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 21:31:51
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Hmm yes it is... You must check for locked status before you can determine if it applies, correct?
No, it applies at all times when the unit fulfills the condition. Are you told when to check? I can show specific instances that tell you when to check, whereas you're asserting you check every second of every milimeter of movement, firing, assault, planning your turn...
Irrelevant, the rule applies at all times when the condition is met, weather you are told to check or not. Eihnlazer wrote:No deathreaper, it does not apply until after the entire unit finish's the assault move already in progress. You do not have permission anywhere to stop the assault move already in progress.
Incorrect, it applies at all times when the condition for the unit is met. It is an If then statement. If a unit has "one or more models in base contact with enemies" then that unit is "locked in combat" "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it my only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." (23)
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/03/14 21:34:01
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 21:50:49
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I'm not getting this argument at all lol, when you charge, opponent declares ow, resolves it, then you move in, if you make it the charge is a success sweet, move to next unit, if failed, oh well move to next unit, declare charge then apply ow if not already done and not in combat.
What's the issue there?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 21:55:50
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:You must check for locked status before you can determine if it applies, correct?
No, it applies at all times when the unit fulfills the condition.
And how do you know if the unit fulfills the condition?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:05:07
Subject: Re:When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
Do you have to know if it fulfills the condition for it to apply? The rule does not ask you to check, it does not ask you to know. It just says if you are in b2b, then the condition applies. You know if you are in b2b because you just finished moving the model into b2b...
edit: One side is claiming a timing in the application of the condition, which does not seem supported by the rules AFAIK.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/14 22:06:24
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:07:38
Subject: Re:When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Dracos wrote:Do you have to know if it fulfills the condition for it to apply?
Yes, you have to know if a rule applies before it can apply.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:09:10
Subject: Re:When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
The rules are pretty clear. Once a unit completes its charge move into BTB, then both it and the unit that it charged are locked in combat. The chargees can no longer fire Overwatch. I've never seen anyone try to argue otherwise in a real game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:09:14
Subject: Re:When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
rigeld2 wrote: Dracos wrote:Do you have to know if it fulfills the condition for it to apply?
Yes, you have to know if a rule applies before it can apply.
May I ask where that is stipulated in the rules?
Sorry I think we have a miscommunication. You know that you just moved a model in B2B. What I'm asking is if you need to be told explicitly to check for the condition in order to "know".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/14 22:10:36
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:14:54
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Basically, deathreaper and Happyjew are stating that as soon as the first model of an assaulting unit touches b2b, that no other model in the assaulting unit can finish its charge because the unit is locked in combat and can only make pile in moves or consolidation moves.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:21:14
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Basically, deathreaper and Happyjew are stating that as soon as the first model of an assaulting unit touches b2b, that no other model in the assaulting unit can finish its charge because the unit is locked in combat and can only make pile in moves or consolidation moves.
That is indeed how I read the rules. Those posters are not to blame for how the rule was written (at least, AFAIK).
That being said, I play it that you finish your assault move with the unit. You are then locked in combat, and can not overwatch additional units declaring assaults.
|
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/14 22:24:55
Subject: When assaulting; does the target get to choose which unit to overwatch?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Everyone plays it that way. Because that is the only way to play it.
Even if you interpret the RAW to mean you somehow stop moving your remaining models into assault, you really have no reason to argue it.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
|