Switch Theme:

Embarking on a Night Scythe  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut






Is there any way that models can embark back into a Night Scythe? I can't seem to find a way since you can't disembark or embark into zooming flyers unless specified (Invasion Beams allow disembarkation) and Night Scythes can't hover.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The NS can only zoom, so no. There was a FAQ entry that allowed re-embarking, but it's no longer there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/01 08:13:51


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

They don't need the FAQ entry, the codex entry explicitly allows them to re-embark.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





 DanielBeaver wrote:
They don't need the FAQ entry, the codex entry explicitly allows them to re-embark.


Where does it state that you are allowed to embark on a zooming flyer?

/e: are you referring to the example?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/01 15:04:57


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

I'll check the codex when I get home from work, but I'm pretty sure that the Night Scythe's codex entry explicitly allows them to embark if they are in base contact - the FAQ from last edition just clarified that.
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




Off the top of my head it allows them to disembark, but not embark from the entry in the Codex. The old FAQ allowed them to embark back on the flyer.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/07/01 15:51:34


 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





You are correct in saying that an old FAQ allowed embarking on a Night Scythe. This FAQ, however, has been changed as it was created before Flyers were introduced to 40k. In the most recent FAQ, you can see that there is no rule change allowing that. And as tallguy already pointed out, the codex only gives explicit info on how to disembark from a NS.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 DanielBeaver wrote:
I'm pretty sure that the Night Scythe's codex entry explicitly allows them to embark if they are in base contact
The Codex also explicitly says the Night Scythe is a Fast Skimmer.
So any mention of embarking/disembarking is already outdated.

Personally I'd stick with the previous FAQ on the situation if they've forgotten to add it to the current. Not exactly RaW but makes the game work
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





No, it doesn't. If you use the old FAQ, you are clearly breaking the rules.

The old FAQ was written back when the NS was still a Skimmer and therefore, you could always (dis)embark. After 6th and the Flyer rules kicked in, the information was removed as Flyer rules explicitely disallow embarking on a zooming Flyer - and the NS can only zoom. The codex talks about Access Points and where they are, but since you zoom, you can't embark.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/01 18:13:43


   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

No, the previous FAQ was after it had been changed into a Flyer (about 2-3 versions if FAQ after in fact).

If clarified how to use the Invasion beam to embark while Zooming.

   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

Does it not clover/clear this up in "Death from the Skies" ?

That's still valid... or at least more up to date than the necron codex....

.. although I have no idea how this impacts with regards to the ork flyers ...?



The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

The new Ork codex is more up to date than DFTS.
It's only a week old
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

yes, what I was refering to was I have no idea how or if the ork flyer rues had changed since then either..


thinking about it did the Vendetta rules -- transport capacity -- change from DFTS and their new book ...


...

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

there is nothing about re-embarking in the iCodex, which has all the FAQs incorporated into it.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Hmmm going to check it right now. Hopefully is.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Checked DitS and it says nothing about embarking, just that the base is used as an Access Point.

RAW, therefore, you may not re-embark in the NS.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/01 18:27:40


   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator



Thornton Colorado

Just read the codex the night sythes section under access points tells you how to embark on it,

10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
 
   
Made in us
Navigator





Carbondale, IL

ChapertMasterRagnaValick wrote:
Just read the codex the night sythes section under access points tells you how to embark on it,


Which doesn't help when you're not allowed to because the Flyer is Zooming. BRB explicitly disallows embark/disembark from Zooming Flyers. The page was amended to let them disembark (Invasion Beams! special rule overrides the restriction), but Invasion Beams doesn't say it lets you embark. There was a 6e FAQ listing (as a FAQ, not errata or amendment) that bizarrely stated you could get back in, but that's gone.

Additionally, under the standard rules, a transport is limited to 6" of movement if passengers embark/disembark. Invasion Beams gets around the disembark, but not the embark. If a Flyer is forced to move less than 18", it crashes.
So... even if you interpreted the words in the Night Scythe section as allowing for it to embark, the thing would still crash on the turn that you did. GG.

SIUC Strategic Games Society, a Roleplaying/Tabletop/Card student organization/club at Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
 Vermis wrote:
 Bronzefists42 wrote:
I noticed that the plastic glue label recommends wearing something akin to a hazmat suit when handling the glue. I have been using it for years and never used gloves or anything nor do I know anyone who does. ShouldI be worried for my health?

Well, there's a slight risk of gluing something together with it. Only slight, mind.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

It just seems weird that something that was perfectly legal in 6th edition (via the FAQ) is now illegal, despite nothing having changed in the flyer rules.
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator



Thornton Colorado

A codex over roles the rule book and the FAQ over roles the codex it really is that simple

10000
1250
Check out my Blog for local events and other 40K things
http://lightofterra.blogspot.com
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Sigvatr wrote:

The old FAQ was written back when the NS was still a Skimmer and therefore, you could always (dis)embark. After 6th and the Flyer rules kicked in, the information was removed as Flyer rules explicitely disallow embarking on a zooming Flyer - and the NS can only zoom. The codex talks about Access Points and where they are, but since you zoom, you can't embark.

No. The Night Scythe became a full fleged flier in 6th edition and any 6th edition FAQ dealing with the Night Scythe is written with that fact in mind. The FAQ allows the models to embark by using the base in lieu of an access point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/01 19:10:40


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

While I know that FAQs can (and do) change rules, I would like to point out that since there has been no wording changes, and what allowed them to embark in the first place was an FAQ, and not an Errata/Amendment, as far as I'm concerned, this:

Q: Is there any way to embark back onto a Night Scythe?
A: Yes – follow the rules for Embarking on page 78, treating
the Night Scythe’s base as its Access Point. Note that this is
possible despite the Night Scythe being a Zooming Flyer.

is still applicable. Even if it is not RAW.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





It's part of the old FAQ and it is no longer part of the current one - thus it has zero bearing on any rules issue. Unless I am mistaken and I did not find it and / or look at an older FAQ version than the one you took it from.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/01 20:02:13


   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I took it from the last of the 6th ed FAQs for the Necron codex. And as pointed out using it may not be RAW, but as far as I'm concerned (iow HIWPI) it is still applicable.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Hm it's a difficult one to judge. As a Necron player, I'd happily do it. As a judge / TO, I don't think I could (can) as there's a lack of RAW backing it up - in the contrary, the opposite is correct RAW.

Tough one.

   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





based on this argument, where is the access point located on the NS so that they can Disembark/Embark?

So what does it say in the Necron Codex?

Page 51 Necron Codex "Access points: Treat the wormhole Gateway on the underside of the Night Scythe as its Access Point. For the purpose of embarking or disembarking from a Night Scythe, measure to and from the model's base. For example, models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."

Note that no where in the Necron Codex is there a Special Rule called "Invasion Beams"

Page 61 DFTS "Invasion Beams: A unit that begins it's Movement Phase embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, ETC.) so long as the Vehicle has not moved more than 36in. in the Night Scythe moves more than 24in in the same turn then the Disembarking unit can only fire Snap Shots.

Now two things.

First, the FAQ adds the Invasion Beams Rule to the Night Scythe while not removing nor telling us to ignore the Access points Rule.

Second, the number of Access points is changed 1 (The Models Base ) in the FAQ.

Thus a Zooming Night Scythe has permission, due to both the Access Points and Invasion beams Special Rules to Embark a unit while zooming.

This fits with the Clarification that was given in the older FAQ regarding this subject, and nothing has changed about the Night Scythe rules which leads me to believe one cannot embark upon a zooming Night Scythe.

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Access points isn't the issue, keep in mind that they are also used for disembarking. The problem is the Night Scythe only being able to zoom and zooming, in general, disallowing any embarking.

   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."

Codex overrides main rule book. If models wish to embark they may given the above stipulation.

RAW, RAI, how reasonable people should play it, all wrapped into one nice tidy bundle.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





barontuman wrote:
Codex overrides main rule book. If models wish to embark they may given the above stipulation.

So its a fast skimmer too then?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




barontuman wrote:
models wishing to embark within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all the models of the unit are within 2in of the Night Scythe base."

Codex overrides main rule book. If models wish to embark they may given the above stipulation.

RAW, RAI, how reasonable people should play it, all wrapped into one nice tidy bundle.


True, but continue with the RAW. Plane moves 6", crashes, unit goes into reserves.
   
Made in de
Repentia Mistress





Santuary 101

CrownAxe, the vehicle type was changed by the recent faq. Yet the part about embarkation was not. So barontuman has a point.

DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+

Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: