Switch Theme:

Do the Destroyer cult rules apply to Characters joining those units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Here's the rule :

Extermination Protocols: All units in this Formation re-roll failed To Wound rolls and Armour Penetration rolls in the Shooting phase.

If you attach a Independent Character to a 3 man H. Destroyer Squad from this formation. Say Illuminor with his Eldritch Lance, would he get to reroll Armour Penetration and Wound rolls.

He counts for all rules purposes as part of that unit which get's that rule.

If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

I would say no, because he is not a part of the formation as written. If it specifically states in the formation that characters joining the formation also gain the ability thats fine.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

What makes you think it wouldn't?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you believe a model counts as being part of the unit from the destroyer cult formation when it joins them then yes. This also means the model would lose any formation benefits it had from the formation it was from however, as it is no longer an unit from that formation which might result in the loss of relentless and MtC, not that big a deal In this case. This has some other strange implications if the model is your warlord as it is no longer in the primary detachment, etc but whatever.

I think a lot of the major tournaments currently rule this is the case, I know ITC rules whatever state as such. However those are essentially house rules, and often their rulings are sometimes in opposition to the RAW>

I think the judicator battalion would be even better as you are getting a re-roll to hit as well, and probably +1 BS from the stalker being nearby.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/08 04:39:09


 
   
Made in jp
Proud Triarch Praetorian





Hmm, units "in" the formation.
Would that be:
A) things listed in the book as one of the parts that make up a formation
or
B) things that join the formation (ie. are physically IN the formation now)
?

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I don't know but that is still a unit of that formation, it's not like a H. Destroyer unit and a unit of singular Independent Character.

It's one unit and it doesn't stop being a unit of the Formation as it clearly states in the Decurion formation that the units belong to their formations and to the Decurion detachment.

For all rules purposes that I can see is that if you do join a IC to that unit then well it becomes part of that unit.

The rule book makes it clear that independent characters that join units become part of that unit.

I think it works.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/08 04:52:01


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




It works since ICs become part of the unit.
   
Made in us
Did Fulgrim Just Behead Ferrus?





Fort Worth, TX

Then what does this say for the Royal Court formation? Do all those characters automatically lose their Royal Court benefits when they join other units, as they are now, going by the arguments presented here, part of those other formations?

"Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see.
One chants out between two worlds: Fire, walk with me."
- Twin Peaks
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a naysayer and hatchetman in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method... is love. I love you Sheriff Truman." - Twin Peaks 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

The Royal court Strangely only have move through cover and relentless as it's special rules. It's bonus is just reroll Warlord trait. Also you wouldn't lose those special rules by joining a unit that is of either a Normal Cad or another formation, but if the unit that you joined had a formation special rule say like that of the Destroyer Cult one, you'd gain that ability of the Extermination Protocol.


They still are from that formation and gaining that formation special rules, if they joined a unit that was part of a formation and had a special rule that affected that whole unit they'd gain that rule, but they wouldn't gain any special rules that did not affect the whole unit.

There's actually no way to join a formation it actually is a distinct difference as to what is going on here. The character isn't joining that formation, he is joining a unit FROM that formation and that unit has a rule that states it as a unit gains X ability.

This isn't even really a game changer of like any sort.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/08 16:51:43


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: