Switch Theme:

Instinctive Behavior Test and Synapse that arrives from reserve  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

Greetings,

Question is whether synpase that arrives from reserves is counted when determining whether a unit has to take an Instinctive Behavior test. I have been playing it as no they don't count, maybe because of edition hangover (old FAQ stated they didn't, nothing about this currently) but I am not sure now looking into it more.

Relevant Rules:

Tyranid Dex rules
Instinctive Behavior rule snippet: "At the beginning of each of your turns, all Codex: Tyranids units with this special rule that are outside of the synapse range of any friendly Synapse Creatures (see below) must take a Leadership test --snip"

Synapse Creature rule (entire): "Models with the Synapse Creature special rule have a synapse range of 12". Friendly Codex: Tyranids models within this synapse range, including the Synapse Creatures themselves, have the Fearless special rule. If a unit from Codex: Tyranids is falling back and at least one of the unit’s models is within a friendly Synapse Creature’s synapse range before the unit moves, the unit automatically Regroups."

Reserve rules snippets:
"At the start of your second turn," etc (eg Reserve rule resolution timing is start of the turn.)
"A unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserve."

Timing snippet: "While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar. When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then the player whose turn it is chooses the order."

So we have two rules which trigger at the start of a turn. Owning player gets to decide the order. So technically one could resolve reserves first, IB tests second.
So the issue becomes, does determining whether a unit is outside synapse range constitute using a special rule at the start of the turn? It is the unit taking the test that is using a rule, not the unit that arrived from reserve -- however it is the unit that arrived from resevre that has a 12" synapse range. I can see arguments on both sides, but curious what YMDC turns up.

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Note, you quoted it yourself;

"a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from Reserves"

So, ask yourself this... is the unit that's arriving using the special rule? Or is it another unit? The answer is, obviously, that another unit is doing the check. It sees a unit with the Synapse Creature special rule within 12", so it becomes Fearless and doesn't test for Instinctive Behaviour. The rule doesn't say that the unit is ignored for all purposes, just in regards to itself.

This is to make sure that a unit with "at the start of your turn, activate this ability" can't activate it if they're also arriving from Deep Strike. The clarification is required since, as you pointed out, they'd otherwise be able to choose the order that lets them do this.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






It says special rules that must be used at the start of the turn. Synapse doesn't have to be used at all. It is always in effect. A unit that arrives from reserves would not and could not make a ib test. But a unit with synapse that arrives from reserves is generating synapse as per normal.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Lictor





That's what i lean to^^

But i always have played as you have OP and always will till the new dex. If i've got a harder list i won't be doing synapse rescues, it's only my tame/ fluff lists that really require this clarification.

But the big question is the Leviathan rerolls rule.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

I think you are golden. The BRB snippet about timing is pretty clear. Both Instinctive Behavior and Reserves happen at the start of your turn. You get to decide which one happens 1st.

does determining whether a unit is outside synapse range constitute using a special rule at the start of the turn?

Absolutely. It is a rule called "Instinctive Behavior".
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

Thanks guys, looks like folks are leaning the way I am leaning

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: