| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/23 15:56:34
Subject: Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
I have one to add... Are models in transport vehicles "on the table" for things like tele homers/Brother C/Apothecaries, psychic hoods, and such. Or is it treated like 4th and a simple no?
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/23 17:34:19
Subject: Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Between the Sun and the Sky
|
Units inside of a transport are assumed to occupy the space occupied by a transport, so they can capture objectives, but I don't know about individual models. This is one of the few things that does need an FAQ.
|
Catch me if you can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/03 23:52:40
Subject: Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Anyone else have a say in this?
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/04 01:36:57
Subject: Re:Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
Mississippi
|
Csm in transports with icons measure 6" from the transport to summon lesser daemons or use the teleport homer abilities of the icon. Units of troops in vehicles can control objectives.
Page 66: If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.
Wouldn't need that clarification if they weren't on the table.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/04 01:44:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/08 06:55:37
Subject: Re:Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
Adding on: for Old Zogwort's (sp?) Squig psychic ability, are you able to target IC's inside transports? If so, do you measure to the hull?
|
"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."
-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/08 07:14:23
Subject: Re:Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitor with Xenos Alliances
|
Models in vehicles are considered on the table, it is only to ease the frustration of trying to fit all the models inside or on a vehicle that it isn't required.
Cadian16th wrote:Adding on: for Old Zogwort's (sp?) Squig psychic ability, are you able to target IC's inside transports? If so, do you measure to the hull?
I'd say no, unless it specifically says otherwise to target a unit you have to have line of sight. Being in the tank you can't get line of sight.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/11 19:45:42
Subject: Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
Aliso Viejo, CA - But wishing I was in Seattle
|
Red_Lives wrote:Anyone else have a say in this?
My gaming group has come to the conclusion that yes, units inside a vehicle can use tele homers and the like, so I think you're right Red_Lives.
IMO 5th Ed has gone the way of more common sense... yes the troops are really inside said vehicle. No you can't draw los to them to attack them directly but guess what they can mostly do things to the outside world and still count as being inside.
Yay for transports! :-)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/11 19:57:23
Subject: Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
The rules don't currently give a complete answer to this question.
In some places the rules say how embarked models can do some things that are like what disembarked models do (chaos icons, shooting from fire points, some psychic powers). But in other places, not so much.
The fact that models can do some things while embarked doesn't mean they can necessarily do other things that aren't mentioned. In order to conclude logically that they can, you have to introduce an error of composition.
So some parts of this question need an FAQ.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/11 20:44:28
Subject: Re:Transports and "on the table"
|
 |
Snord
|
I Might be walking a thin rope now, but if we are lucky the new SM codex till set some things straight (hopefully but now nescessarily)
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|