Switch Theme:

Codex Marines Orbital Bombardment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster



Orklando

So everyone seems to think that Orbital Bombardments in the Codex Marines list cannot work first turn. I ask them to find this rule and they cannot (because it's not there). Orbital Bombardment is treated exactly like a shooting weapon which can be fired "provided that the Chapter Master did not move in the preceding movement phase." To me it seems pretty obvious that the "preceding movement phase" is the movement phase directly preceding that Shooting Phase, i.e. the one in the same player turn. Thus I can fire it first turn as long as the Chapter Master did not move.

If by some stretch of interpretation the "preceding movement phase" meant "not the immediately preceding movement phase, but rather the one in the previous turn," then it is true that the Orbital Bombardment would not work the first turn. However, my opponents probably would like that (bad) interpretation even less, because it would mean that I could start the game in a Land Raider, stay still the first turn, then move the LR 12", hop out, shoot my Orbital Bombardment (at the unit i'll be assaulting,) and then assault them, because Orbital Bombardment is an Ordnance Weapon, not a Heavy Weapon, and there's no restrictions on Movement and firing Ordnance if you're not a vehicle (which is why they put that above restriction there in the first place.)

Does anyone here interpret the "preceding movement phase" to mean the one in the previous player turn, not the one immediately preceding the current Shooting Phase?
   
Made in gb
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Spreading the word of the Turtle Pie

Hell no.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Dude, seriously. What?

The "preceding movement phase" is the last movement phase to happen before you shoot it.
Anyone who thinks otherwise needs to be shown Pulp Fiction 9001 times.

An orbital Bombardment can be used on any turn that you do not move in the movement phase, so you can use it T1 as long as you don't move. Note that even if you are in Terminator Armour or on a Bike, you still must not have moved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/05 19:36:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Columbus, OH

Yeah, I figured its treated as a heavy weapons firing
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

unclehomefries wrote:Yeah, I figured its treated as a heavy weapons firing


No, that's the whole point of Gwar's post. It's NOT treated as a Heavy Weapon, since there are units/models that can move and fire a heavy weapon. It's treated as it's own special class, an Orbital Bombardment, and if you move, it doesn't matter what special rules you might have allowing you to shoot Heavy Weapons, you move, no Orbital Bombardment.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





We seem to get one of these OB threads ever so often

No, you can NOT move at all and fire OB. At all!

No, you can NOT fire OB from *inside* a Land Raider!


The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







BoxANT wrote:We seem to get one of these OB threads ever so often

No, you can NOT move at all and fire OB. At all!

No, you can NOT fire OB from *inside* a Land Raider!


YOU CAN HOWEVER FIRE FROM INSIDE A RHINO OR ANY OTHER TRANSPORT THAT HAS A FIRE POINT SO LONG AS THE VEHICLE DID NOT MOVE AT ALL!

CAPSLOCK IS CRUISE CONTROL FOR COOL!!!!!!!!!

And now I'm done

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/05 23:30:43


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster



Orklando

While we're at it, another message for nearly everyone who plays against my Codex Marines:

STERNGUARD'S BASE ATTACKS *ARE* 2, IT'S NOT JUST VANGUARD! YES, WHEN I CHARGE NEXT TO PEDRO EVERY STERNGUARD GETS 4 ATTACKS!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Florida

Sternguard are JAM: Just Another Marine

Comparing tournament records is another form of e-peen measuring.
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Columbus, OH

Whoops my bad on the mix up. Sorry!
   
Made in ie
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife




Ireland

Gwar! wrote:



CAPSLOCK IS CRUISE CONTROL FOR COOL!!!!!!!!!



EVEN WITH CRUISE CONTROL, YOU STILL HAVE TO STEER.

See you in the Obitchuaries
GENERATION 9: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.

Blood Angels 1.5k 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Youch - check your dates before posting, please!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: