Switch Theme:

Black Templar Thunder Hammers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ship's Officer






Search came up nil for this, so here's an interesting question I just stumbled upon.

My friends and I have always played BT thunder hammers as normal thunder hammers, but upon rereading the codex, I came upon a difference in wording that might drastically change the way BT thunder hammers work:

"...any model wounded by it [the thunder hammer] and not killed may not attack again until Initiative 1 blows are struck in the next Assault phase."

Given the past tense of "blows are struck," I'm curious, do BT thunder hammers make you strike again at an effective I0 - that is to say, after I1 models attack?

I'm just looking for a RAW answer here, it's probably nothing and not particularly game breaking.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Xca|iber wrote:Search came up nil for this, so here's an interesting question I just stumbled upon.

My friends and I have always played BT thunder hammers as normal thunder hammers, but upon rereading the codex, I came upon a difference in wording that might drastically change the way BT thunder hammers work:

"...any model wounded by it [the thunder hammer] and not killed may not attack again until Initiative 1 blows are struck in the next Assault phase."

Given the past tense of "blows are struck," I'm curious, do BT thunder hammers make you strike again at an effective I0 - that is to say, after I1 models attack?

I'm just looking for a RAW answer here, it's probably nothing and not particularly game breaking.
You can indeed interpret it like that, similar to how DH Thunderhammers can.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






How very intriguing. I'll see if I can get my group to play that way

Not that anything my THs touch actually survives to the next round of combat.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Just be forewarned that the alternate reading (with 'until' meaning 'at such time as') of the model striking at I1 is an equally valid interpretation (and, in my experience, a more common one-- although, like you said, most things don't survive a knock with a TH).




 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






I would read that to mean they strike at the I1 turn of the combat. I would only say they struck after I1 if it said 'may not attack again until Initiative 1 blows have been struck'.

From the responses I take it this has been argued already.
   
Made in gb
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine




Sheppey, England

I agree with the interpretation argued by kartofelkopf and Soup and a roll. For what it's worth.

Click for a Relictors short story: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/412814.page

And the sequels HERE and HERE

Final part's up HERE

 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Soup and a roll wrote:I would read that to mean they strike at the I1 turn of the combat. I would only say they struck after I1 if it said 'may not attack again until Initiative 1 blows have been struck'.

From the responses I take it this has been argued already.

I agree with this. "...until Initiative 1 blows are struck" implies that the striking of blows is still an ongoing action when you are able to attack; "...until Initiative 1 blows have been struck" would imply that the blows have finished their striking.

That said, it's still a bit ambiguous, and my knowledge of tenses isn't all that great, so it's probably something you'll have to clear up with your opponent.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'm with Cheexsta.

"not attack again until Initiative 1 blows are struck" is in the present tense, not the past. So, you'd ask, "Are Initiative 1 blows being struck?" and if the answer is yes, then they can attack.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: