Switch Theme:

First draft. Tank-Shocking FAQ.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Due to the large number of threads relating to the Tank-Shock and Ram actions that have been about squadrons, I’ve decided to start writing an FAQ or clarification list for interactions such as: Ramming of squadrons, Walker DoG, Deffrolla hits and the like.

I’m going to work in a ‘top-down’ fashion, "For Y follow as if X with following exceptions, in case of X follow for as if Z with following exceptions." As written in the rule book. I don’t expect to tackle every question in this initial post but if people feel strongly that my interpretation or process is not accurate please feel free to discuss it – I’m hoping we’ll soon have another ‘short’ document that can help make many peoples games smoother in the evolving game that is 40K. Unfortunately I would still recommend one to have a rule book to hand while reading this guide. Due to the sheer number of interactions we are addressing.
I'm quite happy to keep adding questions about consecutive interactions if it's needed and I'm sorry it's such a beast to read at the moment.
Also if someone could provide me with an appropriate disclaimer to place at the top that'd be peachy ^_^


*******
So you want to Tank Shock.

Q1) Can I Tank Shock with anything that has wheels?

A) No. To Tank Shock (or Ram) one’s vehicle type must be ‘Tank’ or one must be granted special permission – this could be from a piece of war gear such as an Ork Ramm or Dark Eldar Torture-Amp.


Q2) Why is declaring a Tank Shock or a Ram important?

A) A Tank Shock will pass through and disrupt (tank shock) enemy non-vehicle units and is forced to stop short of enemy vehicles. A Ram will pass through and disrupt (tank shock) enemy non-vehicle units and will collide with and drive through (ram) enemy vehicles. When a tank shock is declared one can choose how far to go and the vehicle may be able to fire some weapons depending on how far it has travelled. However, a ram forces the vehicle to move as fast as possible and prevents it from firing regardless of how far it travels. See pages 68 and 69 of the BRB for more details.

Q3) I wish to Tank Shock that infantry with my Tank Squadron… How’s that work?

A) We are told that a squadron of vehicles must all move the same speed. This is however in reference to ‘Cruising’ or ‘Combat’ speeds not a measure of distance. (Page 64)
When declaring a Tank Shock one does this for each vehicle in the squadron following the directions for orientation and declared movement on page 68.

This means that one could Tanks shock with one vehicle of a squadron and move around an obstacle with another _as long as coherence is maintained at the end of the move_ (remember vehicles have a 4” coherency threshold).

This also means that one can Ram with one Vehicle of a squadron and Tank Shock with another. Why would I ever want to do that? If one vehicle in ones squadron has no weapons left one could use that vehicle to Ram and the other to Tanks Shock keeping them safe from the effects of a Ram)

Q4) I want to Tank shock some infantry with my squadron, how do we do that?

A) As with movement of infantry or shooting all actions are done in the order the player chooses unless a rule forces them otherwise. This could mean that one vehicle moves normally, one Tank Shocks and one Rams as long as coherency is maintained at the end of the move.

So declare the action of the first vehicle measure the move and resolve any interactions caused. It’s possible for multiple units to be hit by one vehicle or that different units will be hit by different vehicles of the squadron or – no problems.
Once a unit has been reached complete the instructions for the Tank Shock or Ram as per pages 68-9
Remember each event must be resolved in the order reached.

Q5) Now she’s Ramming my squadron with hers! What do we do?

A) You follow the instructions as-per this guide and the rule book!

Q6) Two of my squadron vehicles were right next to each other, does this mean my unit would take two D6 lots of hits from her Deffrolla and two Ram hits? as it hit both and caused two rams?

A) No. Even if it appears that two models are hit at exactly the same time it’s not actually possible for this to actually happen - as that would require one to move an object that is flat and tangential to the two other perfectly parallel objects the exact same distance from the first – Otherwise known as – ‘if your having this happen go buy a more accurate tape measure, then another and another……’ And after resolving the ram and rolla hits ones vehicle squadron may move out of the way/around the wagon as per the Tank Shock rules.

Q7) My squadron was one of walkers… Help!

A) I’m only going to say this once, I hate you.
Walkers follow rules for Vehicle squadrons, however, if they are not rammed from the rear arc they can DoG. This is done in the same way as a DoG for infantry. If the walker model fails the DoG it takes a hit in the Rear Arc – This point is moot however because a failed DoG results in the model being removed – this is the same type of effect we see from a SAG gun.
After the DoG or if they take the ram hit. Move the unit out of the way as per the Ram/Tank Shock rules.
Q8) Well it turns out the she was a dirty Ork player and is using a Deffrolla =( On my unit of walkers while I elected to DoG?

A) Okay Tank Shocking causes things a Deffrolla add D6 hits to them DoGging (lol) a Rolla causes a further D6 hits. Note that one should roll these dice individually due to the wording, the first when the Tank-Shock contact is determined the second when one chooses to DoG.
The Deffrolla hits are caused against the victim unit. As such, may be allocated out using the rules for shooting or assault against a squadron - work out G’s and P’s and allocate out.
However one can’t allocate the Ram hit away from the hit model as the Ram rules don’t allow for this.

Q9) Wait why can’t I allocate the Ram hit but I can allocate Deffrolla?

A) The Deffrolla hit the unit so we can allocate the glancing and Pen hits from the Rolla. Now if the squadron has a common armour value (the mode of the armour values) we use this for all damage rolls. If it doesn’t then we use the AV of the closest visible facing (the one we hit)

We may not allocate a hit from a Ram however because the Ram rules tell us to complete all actions specifically against the hit vehicle.

Q10) I had a skimmer and I dodged a Deffrolla…

A) Follow the rules ^_^
Stop in contact and that’s it.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/06/30 07:46:23


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Q2's answer's a little bit misleading because there are one or two other differences between what happens when one declares a tank shock and when one declares a ram, things like control over the distance traveled and whether the vehicle gets to fire after the action.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/28 13:51:14


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I very much dislike the fact that you claim to be an expert and people should use your rules.

1. Who cares if you have wheels? I don't and I can put wheels on any model I want to and still call it a tank.

2. You forgot to put in rules.

ie You have to declare how far you are moving. You have to move in a straight line. No mention of terrain in your decription.

So let me do this.

1. Declare your action and how far you are moving.

2. Pivot your vehicle (tracked or wheeled) and move it as far as you said you are going; as long as there are not test to be made for breakdown. If you go through cover you must roll your dangerous terrian check for each piece you go through.

3. If the unit is touched by the vehicle then test are made. Either it be a leadership test or a Ramming test. If ramming you'd see if you damage the other vehicle.

4. If a unit made it's moral check they can either move out of the way or DoG. If they failed, they fall back. For ramming you'd resolve your damage roll.

5. If you DoG'd, you find out the result. If you did not stop the vehicle your guy dies and the vehicle continues to move. If the vehicle continues on into another unit then you repeat the above steps. If you were ramming and desroyed the vehicle, you can continue on and repeat the steps above. Remember that you are going through a crater so another dangerous terrain check is made.

That is pretty much it. Now to blow your minds.

BP = Baal Preditor
CR= Chaos Rhino
CM= Chaos Marines.

BP------CM(6 inches)----------------CR(17 inches)

Can my BP Tank shock the CM's and if it is still moving Ram the CR?

If yes that's Tank +1, Armour +3, Distance +5 for 9 total coming at the CR. Which is awesome!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/28 16:42:54


 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






Elitest Jerk wrote:I very much dislike the fact that you claim to be an expert and people should use your rules.

1. Who cares if you have wheels? I don't and I can put wheels on any model I want to and still call it a tank.

Well, no. You can put wheels on a tank and call it a tank. If you put wheels on your Weirdboy, sorry, not going to let you call it a tank.

I believe what he's trying to say is that it's easy to draw the false conclusion that any vehicle can tank shock, and is answering that idea with "nope, only Tanks!"
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut







Elitest Jerk wrote:I very much dislike the fact that you claim to be an expert and people should use your rules.

1. Who cares if you have wheels? I don't and I can put wheels on any model I want to and still call it a tank.
2. You forgot to put in rules.
***
Removed from your quote so I'm not posting swathes of rules text from the BRB.
***
That is pretty much it. Now to blow your minds.
BP = Baal Preditor
CR= Chaos Rhino
CM= Chaos Marines.

BP------CM(6 inches)----------------CR(17 inches)
Can my BP Tank shock the CM's and if it is still moving Ram the CR?
***
Also removed for rules reasons
***
. Which is awesome!



Hi Elitest Jerk, thanks for taking the time to read - while we are being helpful it might interest you that 'Elitist' is the correct spelling of your username - if you wanted to indicate that you feel your above the common man that is 'Elite' and all.

I’m a little confused however - I’m struggling to find that post you mentioned where I claimed to be an expert?

1) It is true you could call anything you want a tank - I can't stop you - your accuracy however may suffer. The question was intended as a nice little introduction to the article - some light fun of 'come on guys reading comprehension isn't that bad is it? One that's purpose was to remind people that a model must have the vehicle type ‘Tank’ in one's codex entry to be able to Tank Shock.... something you appear to have still not understood in your post. If you're just 'calling it a tank' then you aren’t playing Warhammer 40K by the rules.

2) This isn't meant to replace the rulebook. I, in fact, did mention that one might benefit by having the rulebook in front of you when you're reading. We also don't like posting whole sections of the rulebook here on dakkadakka

2a) That’s a wonderful description of how to Tank Shock or Ram with a single vehicle – What happened to dealing with squadrons Tank Shocking units? Or a squadron of tanks Tank Shocking a squadron of tanks? You may notice that these are some of the main issues I’ve attempted to tackle here.


Okay now for your example/question.
One can’t perform the actions as you’ve described.
What you have said (this may not have been what you intended however) is that your Baal will tank shock the CM unit then Ram a CR. This has two problems, firstly you can’t turn a tank shock into a ram half way secondly if you’d tank shocked them you would have stopped 1” away from the CR. You would have had to declare a Ram for a distance equal to the top speed of the Baal. The CM will be Tank Shocked as normal, but you have hit them with a ram action so that you would in turn be able to ram the CR. This is the place were question two would have been helpful to you - I've rephrased it a little now. Can you understand now that you would have to declare a Ram according to the rules on page 69 to accomplish your goals?


Solkan: I get what you are saying – it’s just cause problems for Elitest (sic) Jerk there too!

"Q2) Why is declaring a Tank Shock or a Ram important?

A) A Tank Shock is used when one wants to only hit non-vehicle units. A Tank Shock forces one to stop 1” away from a vehicle.
A ram is used when one expects or wants to contact a vehicle. A Ram action has all the features of a Tank Shock with the added rules for the method of performing it and the effects one would cause upon a collision between vehicles. See page 69 of the BRB for more detail."

Is that a bit better? Feel free to post your own edit/language if you want.


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






I believe that it's a problem with parsing the sentence structure you used.

He seems to have interpreted it as "Can I tank shock with anything that has wheels.", as in "if it has wheels, rather than tank treads, can I still tank shock with it?"
He thought you were saying "Once you put wheels on your vehicle instead of tank treads, you can't tank shock with it anymore.".

When what you meant was "Can I tank shock with anything that rolls, whether or not it has "tank" written on the side?", with the answer "Nope, just tanks, not any just old vehicle with wheels.".

I can see how it could be misinterpreted that way, but it would not be my first conclusion upon reading.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
ChrisCP wrote:Hi Elitest Jerk, thanks for taking the time to read - while we are being helpful it might interest you that 'Elitist' is the correct spelling of your username - if you wanted to indicate that you feel your above the common man that is 'Elite' and all.

Unless he's the most elite of them, I believe. Though I doubt that was the intention.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/29 06:50:08


 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nightbringer's Chosen wrote:I believe that it's a problem with parsing the sentence structure you used.

He seems to have interpreted it as "Can I tank shock with anything that has wheels.", as in "if it has wheels, rather than tank treads, can I still tank shock with it?"
He thought you were saying "Once you put wheels on your vehicle instead of tank treads, you can't tank shock with it anymore.".

When what you meant was "Can I tank shock with anything that rolls, whether or not it has "tank" written on the side?", with the answer "Nope, just tanks, not any just old vehicle with wheels.".

I can see how it could be misinterpreted that way, but it would not be my first conclusion upon reading.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
ChrisCP wrote:Hi Elitest Jerk, thanks for taking the time to read - while we are being helpful it might interest you that 'Elitist' is the correct spelling of your username - if you wanted to indicate that you feel your above the common man that is 'Elite' and all.

Unless he's the most elite of them, I believe. Though I doubt that was the intention.


No, sorry that was not what I meant to say What I meant to say was "Can I Tank Shock with anything that has wheels?" which was to be followed by "No." and a succinct detailing of the condition(s) one must meet to tank shock. All he did was assert his right to free speach he enjoys in America to remind us he is able to call anything a tank he wants.

And no, that is still not actually correct. The word 'Elitest' doesn't actually exist.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC


General criticism up front, and then point by point.

You should really cite the page number for making your interpretations so everyone can play along at home.

Some of these questions are... unnecessary.

And point-by-point:

Q1- did you mean to answer the question "Can any vehicle tank shock, or just tanks?" ?

Q2- that's not exhaustive of the differences. Ramming requires moving at maximum distance, and can allow for contacting multiple vehicles and units, where tank shocking is a declared distance and cannot be used to contact vehicles.

Q3- the ramming/tank shock rules for moving replace the normal rules for movement. You pivot, declare distance (for tank shock) and move... why are squadrons unbound by this directive?

All the vehicles in a squadron will move the same distance and perform the same type of action- tank shock, ramming, or normal movement... no mix and matching, as the rules DO NOT permit this.

Q4- what rule tells us a squadron cannot force multiple checks as it shocks/rams? There's not a rule telling us things happen simultaneously in 40k (with the exception of HtH initiative speeds). The only restriction here is that a player must complete all of a unit's movement before moving another unit. So, Tank A contacts your squad- make your check; DoG or get out of the way. Tank 2 contacts your squad- make your check; DoG or get out of the way. Tank iii contacts your squad- make your check; DoG or get out of the way.

**For an example of how 40k is decidedly non-simultaneous in it's execution, consider two adjacent, but independent combats; one involves a dread and a Nob with power klaw, and another involves 5 ork boyz and 3 tac marines. I (foolishly) opt to do my Nob's combat with the dread first. The dread whiffs, and I penetrate it! I roll damage-- a 6. The blast catches 3 of my ork boyz in the other combat, killing two of them. Even though the boyz would normally swing at a higher Initiative than the Nob with power klaw, because 40k does not have a simultaneous system (outside of single combats), those boys are dead with no chance to swing.**

Q5- There's no requirement for it to be the closest model ramming the closest model. There's no dictates on which vehicle in the squadron contacts first.

Q6- It's NOT DONE IN THE SAME WAY AS DoG FOR INFANTRY. It's resolved as a ram, the unit isn't removed, etc, etc. No where does it say the model is removed. In fact, it says the model takes the ram as normal, but on the rear armor.

Q7- I don't know that the rolls are separate- the wording suggests that the d6 from choosing to DoG are an "additional d6" -- in addition to what? In addition to the first d6-- i.e., 2d6. It's unclear, but I think the wording supports a single roll-- otherwise, a tank shocking BW could force up to 3 separate morale checks (one for the tank shock, one for casualties, another for a separate attack's casualties).

I agree that the ram should probably not be assigned out-- but, again, what support in the rules do you have for the conclusion?

Q8- Meh-- all of the ramming rules are written in a single vehicle tense. I'd argue the squadron rules, as more specific to the situation, would allow for RAW assignation of the ram result.

Q9- You got this one right!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/29 09:33:59





 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut



Vancouver, BC, Canada

Another thing to note it that you don't move models that are tank shocked unless the tank finishes it's movement on top of them and then you move those models.

It is moral test, DoG and if the DoG fails then you remove the model that DoG and then keep moving the tank. If the tank happens to stop on a model then that model would get moved.



kartofelkopf wrote:

Q6- It's NOT DONE IN THE SAME WAY AS DoG FOR INFANTRY. It's resolved as a ram, the unit isn't removed, etc, etc. No where does it say the model is removed. In fact, it says the model takes the ram as normal, but on the rear armor.



What it does say in the ramming a walker section is "..., or it can attempt a 'Death or Glory!' attack in the same way as infantry (it cannot do this, however if it is rammed in its rear arc). " and then, "If it chooses 'Death or Glory!' and its attack fails to stop the ramming tank, the walker will not be ready for the impact and is hit on its rear armour in the collision."

This is why, I assume, he believe that the model is removed instead of just being rammed. Because the walker is DoG like an infantry if it fails to stop the tank it would be removed as per the infantry section for DoG. The second bit is obviously replacing the bit in the DoG section but since it just says gets rammed in the rear armour instead of saying something like, "instead of removing the walker, the walker will be hit in it's rear armour in the collision." then it doesn't actually replace the bit from the infantry section of DoG.

Of course I agree with everything that kartofelkopf has said and think there are some big errors in the tank-shocking FAQ.
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






ChrisCP wrote:No, sorry that was not what I meant to say What I meant to say was "Can I Tank Shock with anything that has wheels?" which was to be followed by "No." and a succinct detailing of the condition(s) one must meet to tank shock. All he did was assert his right to free speach he enjoys in America to remind us he is able to call anything a tank he wants.

Apologies, it's a bit difficult to explain what it is that I mean.

Your question, "Can I Tank Shock with anything that has wheels?" can be, with the way this language is used, taken to mean one of two things, though the way you intended (1) is more common.
1) "Can I Tank Shock with anything so long as it has wheels?", to which you answer "no, just things with the 'tank' classification, etc.".
2) "Can I Tank Shock with anything that I have put wheels on, or do the wheels invalidate its 'tank' status?", to which Jerk answers "Oh hell no, just because I thought my Predator looked cool with wheels instead of treads doesn't mean it can't Tank Shock anymore!", the answer to this reading being "Having or not having wheels does not at all affect a model's ability to tank shock, only whether or not it is a Tank."

One is a question of exclusion, the other of inclusion.

kartofelkopf phrases it well, and more concisely.

Hopefully that was clearer.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So you can't tank shock and ram in the same turn.

I think that is silly.

So you can't tank shock a vehicle and you can't ram non-vehicle units.

Sounds silly to me.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Elitest Jerk wrote:So you can't tank shock and ram in the same turn.

I think that is silly.

So you can't tank shock a vehicle and you can't ram non-vehicle units.

Sounds silly to me.
Not silly at all.

In short, in order to ram, you MUST declare it as a ram, and you get the bonus of Tank Shocking anything in the way.

If you just Tank Shock, you cannot ram.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut







Q1) Seems to be causing people some distress, so I think I'll leave it that way. (I personally feel it's quite clear, as the answer tells one what conditions need to be met to think about tank shocking - I will however include the page ref.)

Q2) Did you look at the re-phrased Q2 I did for solkan? Also remember this isn’t intended to replace reading your rule book carefully – exhaustive listing of the minutiae of the rules is just unnecessary – when there’s (now) a handy page reference.

Q3) I’m not sure how you’ve reach the conclusion that I’ve said Tanks in a squadron that Tank Shock are not bound by those directives.
I say “When declaring a Tank Shock one does this for each vehicle in the squadron following the directions for orientation and declared movement on page 68.”
That’s pretty watertight to me.

Next bit,
“When moving a tank, the player can declare that the vehicle is going to attempt to make a tank shock attack instead of moving normally.” Page 68
We move each vehicle in a squadron right? So for each one we are moving we can decide the action they perform as we are told ‘When moving A tank….’

We are told that all vehicles in a squadron move at the same speed as in cruising etc, nothing to do with moving the same distance.
“When a squadron moves, all of its vehicles move at the same speed (i.e. they all move at combat speed, at cruising speed, etc.).” Page 64


Q4 & 5) Yep yep. Lets have another look at that mess, next post.

Q6) Just as Brock says. We are told to do it in the same way as infantry and nothing tells us to ignore the line of “the model is removed,” Page 69

Q7 & 8) I believe that if they had wish us to roll 2D6 instead then that’s what we would have been told to do.
In addition you line of reasoning about 3 morale checks is flawed as “pass a Morale check at the end of that phase,” Page 44 your understanding of that rule is wrong.

As for the Ram hit being assigned out would you care to explain how you would perform all of the actions you are told to in the course of a Ram if you did assign the hit out? Because I’m fairly sure you would not be able to complete the action – thus you can’t assign the hit out.

You may feel this is incorrect but as far as following the text in the BRB it’s how it would have to be done. If you can find a way to complete the action otherwise please detail it

I'll be back in a bit to look at 4 & 5 - they are the ones that troubled me the most.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Who made up a rule that you can ram but tank shock? Is this even in the rule book.

If you tell me that I can't tank shock a unit and then ram a vehicle because I didn't say "I'm ramming"; I'm going to look at you like you are stupid.

So if you say ramming that = tank shock.
If you say tank shock it doesn't = ram.

Hmmm, sounds like someone is being picky with words. Are we really going to spit hairs in a game that is made for fun????
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Elitest Jerk wrote:Who made up a rule that you can ram but tank shock? Is this even in the rule book.
If you tell me that I can't tank shock a unit and then ram a vehicle because I didn't say "I'm ramming"; I'm going to look at you like you are stupid.
So if you say ramming that = tank shock.
If you say tank shock it doesn't = ram.
Hmmm, sounds like someone is being picky with words. Are we really going to spit hairs in a game that is made for fun????


In a tounament - yes. In a casual game I would stop you correct you etc. The point is one can't say "I'm going to see if you DoG before I decide I'm going to ram that vehicle." one must say "I have an intention to do as much damage as possible" so one's opponent can react in a fully informed manner.



kartofelkopf
In short I agree with your interpretation. I attempted to go with the simultaneous interpretation in my first draft as an attempt to play devils advocate and to try and make it as “simple as possible”. This individual approach also matches the rules for the movement. So a new Q4)


Q4) I want to Tank shock some infantry with my squadron, how do we do that?

A) As with movement of infantry or shooting all actions are done in the order the player chooses unless a rule forces them otherwise. This could mean that one vehicle moves normally, one Tank Shocks and one Rams as long as coherency is maintained at the end of the move.

So declare the action of the first vehicle measure the move and resolve any interactions caused. It’s possible for multiple units to be hit by one vehicle or that different units will be hit by different vehicles of the squadron or – no problems.
Once a unit has been reached complete the instructions for the Tank Shock or Ram as per pages 68-9
Remember each event must be resolved in the order reached.

Q5) Now she’s Ramming my squadron with hers! What do we do?

A) You follow the instructions as-per this guide and the rule book!

Q6) Two of my squadron vehicles were right next to each other, does this mean my unit would take two D6 lots of hits from her Deffrolla and two Ram hits? as it hit both and caused two rams?

A) No. Even if it appears that two models are hit at exactly the same time it’s not actually possible for this to actually happen - as that would require one to move an object that is flat and tangential to the two other perfectly parallel objects the exact same distance from the first – Otherwise known as – ‘if your having this happen go buy a more accurate tape measure, then another and another……’ And after resolving the ram and rolla hits ones vehicle squadron may move out of the way/around the wagon as per the Tank Shock rules.






Automatically Appended Next Post:
kartofelkopf wrote:
ChrisCP wrote:
You can't hit the same squadron twice as a Ram is a Tank Shock and as such the rest of the squadron moves to avoid the vehicle in the same fashion as a any other unit would. (In so far as my reading of the situations goes)



Where in the RAMMING rules does it say vehicles get out of the way after a RAM is performed?

I see in the TANK SHOCK rules where INFANTRY move out of the way... but the RAM rules don't say anything about vehicles moving out of the way.


I don't think you could actually see that as the rules refer to "Enemy units" - otherwise we couldn't tank shock bikes, MC, beasts, Jump.......

So;
"Ramming is a special type of tank shock move and is executed the same way," page 69
It goes on to give details of what to do with the exception that Ramming causes (a collision)
The Tank Shock rules page 68 tell us what action "Enemy units" take after a TS occurs.
A vehicle squadron is a unit and we know "If the test is passed the unit will simply let the tank move through," page 69
So a collision occurs, which is still a tank shock so we do the ram thing while still allowing the unit to do the Tank shock thing, because after all a Ram is a Tank Shock.

I've copied this across to the TS guide thread too - trying to keep it (my reasoning) in the same place.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 05:53:17


"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Proposed replacement for Q2:

Q2) Why is declaring a Tank Shock or a Ram important?

A) A Tank Shock will pass through and disrupt (tank shock) enemy non-vehicle units but will stop 1" away from enemy vehicles. A ram passes through and disrupts (tank shocks) enemy non-vehicle units but will also impact and attempt to drive through (ram) enemy vehicles. When a tank shock is declared can choose how far to go and the vehicle will be fire depending on how far it actually travels. However, a ram forces the vehicle to move as fast as possible and prevents it from firing regardless of how far it travels. See pages 68 and 69 of the BRB for more details.
---
It's a bit long winded, but it's more informative, and points out what the crucial differences are.
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Cheers. Edited it a little have changed original too.


Q2) Why is declaring a Tank Shock or a Ram important?

A) A Tank Shock will pass through and disrupt (tank shock) enemy non-vehicle units, but is forced to stop short of enemy vehicles. A Ram will pass through and disrupt (tank shocks) enemy non-vehicle units and will collide with and drive through (ram) enemy vehicles. When a tank shock is declared one can choose how far to go and the vehicle may be able to fire some weapons depending on how far it has travelled. However, a ram forces the vehicle to move as fast as possible and prevents it from firing regardless of how far it travels. See pages 68 and 69 of the BRB for more details.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in be
Regular Dakkanaut




Elitest Jerk wrote:Now to blow your minds.

BP = Baal Preditor
CR= Chaos Rhino
CM= Chaos Marines.

BP------CM(6 inches)----------------CR(17 inches)

Can my BP Tank shock the CM's and if it is still moving Ram the CR?

If yes that's Tank +1, Armour +3, Distance +5 for 9 total coming at the CR. Which is awesome!


"ramming is a special form of tankshock"
You simply declare a ram and aim for the Rhino. If it hits the CM, they're tankshocked, along the way to the rhino.

"ANY" includes the special ones 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: