Switch Theme:

Tyranid Prime joining Carnifex or Tyrant Guard units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy






Here are the facts:
-Tyranid Primes are independent characters, allowing them to join other units.
-Carnifexes are monstrous creatures.
-Tyrant Guard are infantry that have a special rule that allows them to join a Hive Tyrant to form a unit, even though he is a monstrous creature.
-There is a poorly written caveat in the 5th ed. rulebook that was written when no MC could be taken in units of more than 1 that says something about independent characters not being able to join MC units if it consists that can only consist of one MC.

1. Can a Tyranid Prime join a Carnifex unit of 3?
2. Can a Tyranid Prime join a Carnifex unit of 1 since the codex has the possibility of buying more into the unit?
3. Can a Tyranid Prime join a Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard?
4. Can a Tyranid Prime join a Hive Tyrant that lacks Tyrant Guard?

And a side related Tyranid question:
5. Can the models attacking a Hive Tyrant that is part of a Tyrant Guard unit allocate wounds directly to it as if it were an independent character? The specific entry for Tyrant Guard says that it can join the unit as an IC but says nothing about fighting like an IC.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/23 16:51:29


   
Made in us
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






yes
yes
yes
no
no (the tyrant is not an IC)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 16:56:22


Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge 
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy






Grundz wrote:yes
yes
yes
no
no (the tyrant is not an IC)

Thanks, that's what I figured and the assumptions I've been going by, but since it was kinda iffy I thought I'd get some more opinions. This way I can point Vassal opponents to the thread if there is disagreement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/23 17:09:02


   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

There is no restriction based on a squad being MCs. The line in the BGB p48 says:

"They cannot, however, join vehicle squadrons (see the Vehicles section) and units that always consist of a single model (like most vehicles and monstrous creatures)."

The key word there is "most". MCs are an example, the BGB isn't saying MCs can't be joined if they are aren't always single model units.

So, to answer your questions:
1) Yes, it can. The unit isn't a single model, so obviously it isn't always a single model.

2) Yes, Carnifexes aren't always a single model unit. You've only paid for one, but the unit isn't restricted to one.

3) Yes, same logic as 1.

4) This is a difficult question. It depends on your interpretation of the word "always". A Hive Tyrant unit is always a single model unit, so I'd say that he cannot join.

5) See the Tyranid FAQ:
Q: If a Hive Tyrant or the Swarmlord joins a unit of Tyrant Guard, is it treated as an Independent Character for the purposes of resolving shooting attacks (i.e. independent characters who are monstrous creatures can be targeted separately from the unit) and assaults (i.e. independent characters always count as separate units in an assault)?
A: No.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Grakmar wrote:

5) See the Tyranid FAQ:
Q: If a Hive Tyrant or the Swarmlord joins a unit of Tyrant Guard, is it treated as an Independent Character for the purposes of resolving shooting attacks (i.e. independent characters who are monstrous creatures can be targeted separately from the unit) and assaults (i.e. independent characters always count as separate units in an assault)?
A: No.




Wait are you telling me the Swarmlord attached to Tyrant Guard can be picked out in the shooting phase because it is a MC? Whats the point of having Tyrant Guard then?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

DarthDiggler wrote:
Grakmar wrote:

5) See the Tyranid FAQ:
Q: If a Hive Tyrant or the Swarmlord joins a unit of Tyrant Guard, is it treated as an Independent Character for the purposes of resolving shooting attacks (i.e. independent characters who are monstrous creatures can be targeted separately from the unit) and assaults (i.e. independent characters always count as separate units in an assault)?
A: No.




Wait are you telling me the Swarmlord attached to Tyrant Guard can be picked out in the shooting phase because it is a MC? Whats the point of having Tyrant Guard then?


No, the opposite! If a MC is an IC and is attached to a squad, you typically can pick it out in shooting. The Swarmlord and Hive Tyrant are the opposite. You CANNOT pick them out in shooting or even in assaults.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





However, he can be picked out should you have an ability which allows allocations of wounds made by the inflicting player. *Points at Telion/Vindicare*

Thunderfrog wrote:
+1 Str for like 5 points? To autocannons or assault cannons? Hell yea. Then the Reinforced Aegis upgrade for free AND the ability to ignore stunned shaken.. pretty much for free..
Other Dreadnaughts should just go somewhere and be a toaster.

Mattieu~~~~ It's not that eldar are bad, it's that they require a lot of intergration between units. Also, that doesnt prove anything other than GW has a huge hard-on for marines, and, given the option between making a xeno the best psykers or making a marine the best psyker, they will 9 times out of 10 choose the marine.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tzeentchling9 wrote:Mephy can't be swept. He is still a marine so he has the, "And They Shall Never Get Removed From The Table After Losing Combat Like Everyone Else Because They Are The Poster Boys" special rule.


 
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy






So what happens if a prime is joined to a unit of tyrant and hive guard and then the hive guard are all killed? Do they immediately separate?

   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Culler wrote:So what happens if a prime is joined to a unit of tyrant and hive guard and then the hive guard are all killed? Do they immediately separate?


No, they were already joined.

Once the Prime did leave, it wouldn't be able to reattach itself to the Tyrant though.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: