Switch Theme:

Multiple assaults - attacking new units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Had this rule come up the other night and with the 5th edition FAQ released about a month ago it changes things. Rules were any unit already locked in combat and then assaulted by another unit could not attack the newly joined unit; this is because the unit being attacked wasn't engaged with the newly attacking unit at the beginning of combat.

With 5th edition FAQ G.W has defined beginning combat, which is after defenders react. So example is unit 1 (defender) is in combat with unit 2 (attacker), unit 1 is then assaulted by unit 3 (attacker) in the next assault phase. E.g:

2222
1111
3333

Unit 2 moves in to assault, unit 1 moves to react getting into base contact with unit 3 (although) more than likely unit 3 is in base in contact in order to assault), the rule bookx says that if models were engaged with one enemy unit at the beginning of combat it can only attack that unit, if it's engaged with more than one enemy unit then it may split attacks between units. As mentioned, G.W has defined start of combat, which is now after defenders react (and not start of the assault phase when thought) - so with this new defintion from G.W is it correct that unit 1 (defenders) can attack units 2 and 3 (attackers) in combat because it was engaged with both of them at the start of the assault phase, which is when defenders react and move into base contact of the newly assaulting unit.

Your thoughts, can this be done or not?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in ca
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight




This came up during a game of vassal I had. I was in the situation where he was charging unit 3 into the combat of 1 and 2 (He was 3 and 2, I was 1). He argued that I could not direct attacks from 1 to 3 because of said rule/FAq/whatever (I dont have rulebooks handy with me).

I investigated, and explained why that rule exsists. Its pretty complex but I kinda understand what it means. Here is an example assault (blue is one side and green is the other)

1111111111
11
2222111

Unit 1 is then assaulted the next turn by unit 3.

11111111113<--- New assault
112222111

Unit 1 may not move 6" toward 3, away from 2 (which they were locked in combat with) in an attempt to break away from base to base with 2. This would be an example of what is NOT allowed:

--------------->11111
--------->11111311
---2222111

However, any model from 1 that is in base to base (or 2" from b2b) with models from 3 may direct attacks toward 3 as per normal rules.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/01/11 17:14:19







 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As noted "the start of combat" is AFTER Defenders React.

So, after you've finished moving all the models involved (attackers first, then defenders), you check which models are in base contact or supporting range of each opposing unit. This determines, for the duration of that entire assault PHASE, which unit/s those models are eligible to attack.

For example, Units A and 1 are engaged in combat. For the purposes of this exercize, A is a unit of Blood Angel terminators with 4 Lightning Claws and a single Thunder Hammer (the guy on the far left), and 1 is a unit of Plague Marines.

AAAAA
11111

And unit 2, say, a single model, say, a Slaaneshi Daemon Prince, charges in to help unit 1 out:

AAAAA2
11111

Since all the terminators in unit A were already in base contact, they cannot move to React. Just the far-right model of A is in contact with both units. It is eligible to attack either, or divide its attacks if it has more than one. The other four models in A can only attack unit 1 this phase.

So, say unit 2 (the prince) attacks at I6 and kills two models. The BA player can remove whatever models he wants; but if he takes off the model in contact with the Prince, no other models will be eligible to attack the Prince this phase. The Thunder Hammer cannot possibly attack the prince, EVEN if the Lightning Claws successfully wipe out the Plague Marines on I4 before we ever get to the Thunder Hammer at I1.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Mannahnin has this 100% correct.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Ok Mannaheim that's pretty much what happened except the assaulting units angle of attacks if different. Here's exactly what happened.

HG is Honour Guard, KK are Killaz Kanz and OB are Ork Boyz.

First turn of combat is like this:

KK KK KK
HG HG HG

Next turn is the Orks turn, Boyz charge into my Honour Guard moving into base contact - my H.G don't need to react as such because the Orks have moved into base contact with them already.

KK KK KK
HG HG HG
OB OB OB

So, can the H.G split attacks onto KK and Boyz as they're in base contact with both units at the start of the assault phase.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes they can, that is exactly what is meant.

Each HK is in contact with 2 units (Kans and Boyz) and is therefore free to allocate as many attacks to each unit as they wish.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Thanks Nos thought they could

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in ie
Norn Queen






Dublin, Ireland

The BA player can remove whatever models he wants; but if he takes off the model in contact with the Prince, no other models will be eligible to attack the Prince this phase.


What, if after he removes the guy in contact with the prince, another 2 BAs are still within 2 inches of the prince. Can they attack?

Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be

By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.

"Feelin' goods, good enough". 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Ratius wrote:
The BA player can remove whatever models he wants; but if he takes off the model in contact with the Prince, no other models will be eligible to attack the Prince this phase.


What, if after he removes the guy in contact with the prince, another 2 BAs are still within 2 inches of the prince. Can they attack?


They can attack only units they were engaged with at the start of combat.

You are engaged first and foremost with any unit you are in BTB contact with.

If you're not in BTB with any enemy unit, then you get the 2" bubble.


So, those remaining guys could direct their attacks at the Prince if they weren't in BTB with anything at the start of combat. If they were in BTB, it doesn't matter how close they were to the Prince, they can't attack him.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Any models eligible to attack the prince before combat starts may do so, assuming they are still alive when their turn to strike arrrives. So assuming that the 2 mdoels within 2" *of the model in btb WITH the prince* were not in contact with another enemy unit, they would be eligible to attack the DP even if the guy in base contact is dead.

This is because, unlike 4th, you do not determine who can strike and where at each initiative step - you do it before resolving any attacks.

Not sure where you're getting that quote from, as it isnt this thread.
   
Made in ie
Norn Queen






Dublin, Ireland

Interesting, I have been playing things.....incorrectly then.

So to clarify: in Mannas case the BAs cannot attack the prince since at the start of the combat they are already engaged and in b2b contact with the plague marines?

Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be

By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.

"Feelin' goods, good enough". 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

In Mannas case only the ones in B2B can attack the Prince or within 2", though those within 2" must put their attacks on the PM because they're in B2B. In my example my entire unit was in B2B of two units, so they could split attacks.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you are not in btb with ANY unit, but are within 2" of a model who IS in btb with a unit AND within 2" of a model in btb with a different unit, the nyou can choose who you attack, and can continue to do so throughout the combat.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

As normal then

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

I would just like to point out that the FAQ did not actually change the rule, but simply clarified it for those whose reading comprehension is not great.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

It actually defined when start of assault was, start of assault would typicaly when models move into assault, yet G.W as defined it when defenders react, before blows at struck which changes things. It depends what you call start of assault.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I think Willy is more or less correct that "start of combat" was always meant to be after all assault moves and after all defenders react moves.

They tweaked the wording on page 41 and added a bullet point to make it a little clearer, but it's still a bit tricky. When it was originally tweaked I thought the "start of combat" meant the start of the assault phase, and I accidentally played it that way at the '09 Ardboyz semifinal, to my later embarassment.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Same here Manna

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: