Switch Theme:

Vehicles over lapsing the board  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Valdosta, Georgia

I believe I know that rule on this issue, but before i pass judgement I need feedback.

One of my fellow 40k player play with IG, and alway bring 3 Vendatta Gunship. He believes that its okay to measure from the base of the Vendatta rather than the model, so he places the Vendatta's tail off the board. I told him that illegal and is destory.

Now i know that I'm correct about models being off board, it destory but i cant find in the rules book.


so help me find the rule please

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/03 14:50:41


Overall Tournaments 11-2 2012
WarGame Con Best General RTT 2012
WarGame Con Team 12th 2012
ATC Team Fanastic 4 plus 1 17th overall (nercons (5-1) 2012
Beaky Con GT WarMaster Nercons (5-1) 2012 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




100% illegal to leave models off the board

Have a look at the BRB FAQ, you will find any model that does not make it on fully from reserves is destroyed. Models do not have permission to go outside the edges of the board so he cannot place them there

You cannot measure from the base, following the rules for skimmers with the added exception of using the base for embarking / disembarking and contesting objectives.
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Valdosta, Georgia

Thanks nosferatu1001

Overall Tournaments 11-2 2012
WarGame Con Best General RTT 2012
WarGame Con Team 12th 2012
ATC Team Fanastic 4 plus 1 17th overall (nercons (5-1) 2012
Beaky Con GT WarMaster Nercons (5-1) 2012 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

There was a big 22 page debate on this topic not so long ago, before the FAQ came out and cleared it up.

Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Note the OP didnt specifically mention reserves, I just mentioned it to cover the most likely reason someone would bring vendettas on 6" - in order to fire all the cannons
   
Made in us
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




Dallas, TX

What about models that are already on the board but part of its base, hull, etc is hanging off the edge because of player movement.

Does the same rule apply?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





How did the model get into that position?

Because there are no general rules for leaving the table beyond falling back.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




mrfantastical wrote:What about models that are already on the board but part of its base, hull, etc is hanging off the edge because of player movement.

Does the same rule apply?


The player has no permission to move the model there in the first place. See my first post....
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

mrfantastical wrote:What about models that are already on the board but part of its base, hull, etc is hanging off the edge because of player movement.

Does the same rule apply?


Yeah, you can't have you hull hanging off for any reason. Vendettas have to move 12" and Baneblades have to do a crab walk on.


The ruler is sadly NOT on the table, no matter how much it hurts my brain to say.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Kelowna BC

Diplomacy Intervention Tactic:

Obviously the question about the rule has been answered, BUT:

If he makes a fuss about it, just tell him that the rule can be exploitative because the whole vehicle can't be shot at. Say you have a, i dunno, lascannon marine at the same table edge, but between the vendetta and marine is a stand of trees. The Vendetta can't be seen through the trees, but its tail can be seen off the board edge by the marine. If the marine can't shoot of the board edge, then the vendetta can't reasonably be allowed protection from being halfway off the board.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/03/03 19:12:50


 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





daedalus wrote:

The ruler is sadly NOT on the table, no matter how much it hurts my brain to say.


Keep in mind that your issue with the ruler not being on the table comes about because of differences in language.

In the "language" of the rules, the ruler is indeed not on the table.
In the "language" of real life, it is.


Just like in the "language" of math two negatives added together equals a positive, as opposed to the "language" of real life where two wrongs does not make a right.

I see these carefully hidden attempts at injecting real world reality and logic into rules discussions all the time.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

At the risk of playing devil's advocate, is there anything denying checking range/LOS for something that's not positioned directly above part of the tabletop?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Steelmage99 wrote:
Keep in mind that your issue with the ruler not being on the table comes about because of differences in language.

In the "language" of the rules, the ruler is indeed not on the table.
In the "language" of real life, it is.


Just like in the "language" of math two negatives added together equals a positive, as opposed to the "language" of real life where two wrongs does not make a right.

I see these carefully hidden attempts at injecting real world reality and logic into rules discussions all the time.


Yes, well, to be fair, you're supposed to fall back to the standard English definition of words when they're not explicitly defined in DA ROOLZ. Thankfully, with the new version of the FAQ, we now have a suitable rule for such an occasion.

As far as your language and concept of negative, I think you're conflating two different wildly separate definitions of negative, one being fact, the other concerning itself with more abstract concepts of justice and morality.

You also shouldn't assume such nefarious intent. I was merely putting it in terms of the original argument posed by Gwar, to which we now have an answer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/03 19:52:28


Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger



stockton, ca aka Da Hood

So I was discussing this with a necron buddy and he mentioned that a monolith is over 6" wide, can it not walk on from board edge? What about missions that font allow deepstrike and force heavies off the board, some modified dawn of war for example, would they be destroyed?

Eldar 8+ years/CSM 4+ years
If your around the northern CA area, check out our gaming group, Central California Commanders on Facebook for dates of tournaments and events! And we're always looking for new commanders!

BAO2012-4/3/0
GoldenThroneGT2012-4/2/0 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Yes, by the rules it would count as destroyed.

Keep in mind that this isn't indicative of the rule being the problem, but rather the model.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I thought it was FAQd that a Land Raider (and by extension a Monolith) could move on the table 6 inches to fire, and hang off the back side?

Am I mitsaken?

EDIT:

Well I couldn't find that in the space marines or 40k FAQ, hmm, I could have sworn I had seen that before. Ah well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/03 21:25:30


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, the exact opposite in fact

If it cant make it on the table it is destroyed
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





OK, but seems a bit harsh, for models that aren't 6 inches or less doesn't it?

Just surprising, balance wise, shouldn't any tank be able to drive onto a battle and fire?

I'm not trying to question the rules here, just, the balance. I don't think long models should be penalized. Drawing a difference between coming on from reserve and other intentionally placed moves like deep strike and normal movement.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not "harsh", it's a balancing factor for being able to put anything into reserve - you may need to sacrifice a turn of shooting, or shoot less.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

huge_eldar wrote:So I was discussing this with a necron buddy and he mentioned that a monolith is over 6" wide, can it not walk on from board edge? What about missions that font allow deepstrike and force heavies off the board, some modified dawn of war for example, would they be destroyed?


As I recall from the 22 odd page thread that discussed this issue before the new FAQ came out, a Monolith is just shy of 6" across, so it can indeed make it onto the table if coming from reserves that way.

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That's good, because not being able to float on because of a max move of 6 inches would be absurd.

nosferatu1001 wrote:Not "harsh", it's a balancing factor for being able to put anything into reserve - you may need to sacrifice a turn of shooting, or shoot less.
Well it surely seems that way now doesn't it. That's effectively 2 turns of lost shooting then, at least, T1 and T2, assuming it even shows up, I don't think I would do that in many circumstances. In Dawn of war it would take your first turn of shooting as well.

It also means all tanks larger than 6 inches in length must move onto the board at flank speed, never less? I understand the balance concept but that seems overly gamey, couldn't they just as legitimately cautiously advance? I guess not.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/04 21:13:29


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




How is it "gamey"?

It is a function of the model. Is it "gamey" to be able to shoot more easily at a Valkyrie, when other skimmers could have gained cover from a lower building than it can?

How is it gamey for you to take a known, calculated risk (turn it arrives, how many weapons it can fire when it turns up) to put all of your models in reserve when deploying second?

Prior to the FAQ they COULD "cautiously advance" - GW said no.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Augustus wrote:That's good, because not being able to float on because of a max move of 6 inches would be absurd.
If it could not DS there would definitely be issues.

A friend that plays Necrons insists monoliths are slightly more than 6" and plays it as such.

/shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:How is it "gamey"?
Because a models behavior under the same set of rules isnt consistent, becoming dependant on model length. A predator could move on and fire and a landraider can't because it's bigger.

That's just a poor abstraction, caused by a geometric oddity, I'd call that gamey, as in doesn't make much practical sense, for game balance reasons, and appears to be caused by flukes in the rules.

Thinking about this a little more, I suppose one could move a landraider on sideways, where the dimension is smaller laterally, and then only have gone 6 inches, which is technically correct but practically silly as clearly tracked vehicles don't go sideways (well I suppose it could be rolling over sideways...). Another example of something gamey, coming on sideways to move 6 and get the shot(s).

EDIT:

If you don't see whats wrong with telling a Necron player they can't come in from reserves with their Monolith because it can only move 6 and therefore can not get completely on the board, I don't think anything I can explain will help. So in Dawn of war they have to deep strike or be destroyed when they arrive from reserves? That's what we are talking about here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/04 22:13:36


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Augustus wrote:So in Dawn of war they have to deep strike or be destroyed when they arrive from reserves? That's what we are talking about here.
And valkyries, for example, need to show side armor. We are indeed talking about the rules here.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It isnt gamey: it's the rules

Seriously - should the Valkyrie get to be mounted on a lower base, as it's gamey that it cant get cover saves so easily?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The size and height of models frequently has a game impact.

This ruling is making players (particularly, but not exclusively, people using Valkyries) obey one of the bedrock assumptions of wargames- the table edge is the edge of the area of play. You cannot have a unit overhang it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

The only problem I have with this rule is that it makes reserving Baneblades utterly useless. I suppose a quick house rule fixes it though, we let them hang over the edge.

However, is there any way to bring a baneblade on from reserve? If you come on and turn 90 degrees you can't turn back without going over the edge again, so you are stuck.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Lawndale

Landraiders can still shoot the turn they arrive thanks to the PotMS. Valks can too because they are Fast. The baneblade, strickly speaking, is not a legal 40k model so you need not worry about how it makes it on the table.

The Monolith is 6" long, and 6.5" wide. It must face forward or backwards in order to arrive from reserve, unless it is deep striking. No one is going to split the hair of a model trying to get on legitimately. A LR can show up and turn 90 and get on the table. Valks cannot.

11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




MARINE landraiders can. Chaos dont get PotMS, not anymore.

The Baneblade IS a legal 40k model - it's in IA1 and takes a complete force org.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The Baneblade is a hole in the FAQ rule. If you're playing a game allowing one, you need to come to agreement about how to handle it with your opponent.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: