Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman






Sheffield, United Kingdom

If a Librarian is in a Land Raider, when he uses gate of Infinity does the tank teleport as well?

Blood for the Blood God  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

No, the tank is not him or his unit.


   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

'A unit he is with' is a little vague, but within the rules of 40K we sort of have to assume it means 'a unit to which he is joined'... otherwise, you're going to have to come up with some arbitrary distance as to just how far away the Librarian can be before he is no longer 'with' the unit.

In that context, since the Librarian can not join the vehicle as a unit, no, he would be unable to teleport the vehicle.

 
   
Made in fr
Fighter Pilot




Strasbourg France

I agree with them... think about, a tp landraider is sort of unfair... ( Would be hilarious tho )
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

mayfist wrote:I agree with them... think about, a tp landraider is sort of unfair... ( Would be hilarious tho )

Yeah, deep striking Land Raiders would just be ridicul... oh...


 
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





"I shoot my krak missile at your Librarian squad. It hits."

"OK, I'll allocate it to the Land Raider."

"wha.."
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

insaniak wrote:
mayfist wrote:I agree with them... think about, a tp landraider is sort of unfair... ( Would be hilarious tho )

Yeah, deep striking Land Raiders would just be ridicul... oh...



Or even Codex GK Raiders Via the Summoning ... WTH gotta hate on Vanilla (lol)

   
Made in gb
Steady Dwarf Warrior





Sheffield, United Kingdom

I don't think you can teleport a land raider as it is a separate entry taken as a transport. A rhino on the other hand can only be taken as a transport and so could possibly be thought of as a upgrade for the unit.

Dice for the dice god! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






lord kryz wrote:I don't think you can teleport a land raider as it is a separate entry taken as a transport. A rhino on the other hand can only be taken as a transport and so could possibly be thought of as a upgrade for the unit.


Excepting it(the Dedicated transport of any sort) is a separate unit from the Unit purchasing it; this is clearly spelled out on page 92 of the BRB(under "Multiple unit choices"). Along with the fact that you are not forced to keep your DT in coherency with its purchasing unit, and said Purchasing unit would never be able to embark on the DT(both because only infantry may embark into transport unless otherwise specified and because the Transport would not be able to embark upon itself).

Furthermore any unit in a transport of any kind is still a separate unit from the transport as it may fire at a separate target should the transport have firepoints/is open-topped, and the unit is not removed if the vehicle is destroyed(excepting some specific circumstances that are included in the disembarkation rules), and finally shooting directed at the transport never directly damages the transported unit(it can only effect the unit after it has been fully resolved on the transport).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/29 20:19:19


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






what if it's bought as the dedicated transport for the unit of terminators he is with? okay sorry, just being a jerk... Oh yeah, and Nemesis Falchions flowcharts still give them +2 attacks if you ask the right grammar nazi too.

What would Yeenoghu do? 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

"Damn, I didn't hit the Land Raider."
"Yep, and now the Land Raider attacks back with two attacks, automatically hitting with a Strength of 14 and ignoring armour."

EDIT: Misinterpreted the above post... but oh well. Try giving your dedicated CCS chimera FNP by buying the CCS a med-pack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/29 21:03:55


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman






Sheffield, United Kingdom

Kommissar Kel wrote:
lord kryz wrote:I don't think you can teleport a land raider as it is a separate entry taken as a transport. A rhino on the other hand can only be taken as a transport and so could possibly be thought of as a upgrade for the unit.


Excepting it(the Dedicated transport of any sort) is a separate unit from the Unit purchasing it; this is clearly spelled out on page 92 of the BRB(under "Multiple unit choices"). Along with the fact that you are not forced to keep your DT in coherency with its purchasing unit, and said Purchasing unit would never be able to embark on the DT(both because only infantry may embark into transport unless otherwise specified and because the Transport would not be able to embark upon itself).

Furthermore any unit in a transport of any kind is still a separate unit from the transport as it may fire at a separate target should the transport have firepoints/is open-topped, and the unit is not removed if the vehicle is destroyed(excepting some specific circumstances that are included in the disembarkation rules), and finally shooting directed at the transport never directly damages the transported unit(it can only effect the unit after it has been fully resolved on the

transport).

even though it would be hilarious to see a tank try and embark its self

Blood for the Blood God  
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Well, as long as all your unit keeps in coherency and never moves faster than the slowest model... go ahead and DS your Land Raider. And make sure it runs off the board with the rest of the squad when they fall back.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: