Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 02:03:39
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
Does a ridden monster and its rider count as a single model for gaming purposes, or two separate models sharing a single base?
Two reasons I ask this:
1) Ridden monsters getting hit by mega spells like dwellers or pit of shades. If its the single model hypothesis, then a single test is taken on the highest characteristic. If using the two models hypothesis, each would take individual tests on their own respective stats.
2) War Altar and healing hand. Seen this debated a lot, but I am still not convinced on an answer. Lots of people say it only heals the Arch Lector. If you are using the single model hypothesis, then even though the spell only targets characters or champions, it states "the model" (the Arch Lector and his chariot being a single model) would heal all lost wounds in the battle, thus both the Lector and the Altar would heal full wounds. Using the two model hypothesis, then only the Arch Lector would be healed.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/12/10 02:05:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 03:35:35
Subject: Re:Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
1) it is a single model with 2 seperate profiles.
If its forced to take a test of some kind only one test is made. You use which ever characteristic is higher, so you could use the dragons Strength while using its rider's inititive.
See page 10 for details.
2) The power says Model, so it would effect both the Lector and the Altar as they are a single model with split profile.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 04:59:40
Subject: Re:Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
|
Any rulebook reference stating a ridden monster is treated as a single model?
*edit* Just found this on page 105 "As a single model, the monster and its rider are considered to be a single target.".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/12/10 05:09:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/10 09:22:15
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Man i never had a chance to show my experiese on this matter
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 02:23:06
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
On a related topic, where does it say that a cannonball hits both mount and rider? I always thought that was a terribly powerful ability.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/11 02:47:26
Subject: Re:Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The cannon rules(P113) and the Ridden Monster rules(P105)
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/16 23:36:08
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
england
|
So if a template hits a ridden monster all parts are considered hit. So in the case of a vortex or pit of shades all parts of the model need to test. So which characteristic is used for each part. Their own individually or the highest for both.
For example. Star Dragon + high elf prince. Is it two tests at i8 or one at i8 and one at i2
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 00:51:58
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
One test uzing the highest / best stat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/12/17 04:52:13
Subject: Ridden Monster rules
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
HoverBoy wrote:1. The "Templaes" rule explains what happens when a character on a monster is hit by a template.
2. This replaces the 2nd step of the "Shooting at Ridden Monsters rules" whenever a template is involved thus eliminating the randomising rules.
3. It is then followed by step 3 the wounding rules.
4. Purple Sun/Pit of Shades are spells that use templates and thus hit both the rider and his mount.
5. These spells however do not wound but cause a characteristic test, one per model.
6. These hits would mean two tests, but this would brake rule example 5, because a character and his monster are one model.
Conclusion – We have no choice but to make one test using the rules as given on page 10.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
|