Switch Theme:

movement in ruins  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Montain Home, Ar

How is movement through ruins handled? Can you "go through" the walls or must you use a door? Also, if you are moving a vehicle around the base of the ruin, the ruin being on a piece of foamboard, do you have to roll a difficult terrain test each movement for that vehicle? I am a little unsure about both of these since I have been told two different things.

Thanks gang


 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

In the BGB, you can barrel through walls and such but cannot shoot through them. They also go on to say that all terrain can be changed by the players, so you can do whatever you want to do with your terrain in your games.

General rule of thumb, though- you can move freely through ruins while taking a difficult terrain test/dangerous if the moving model is a vehicle. For the boundaries of terrain, just use the edges of the foamboard or base so you have a clear in/out line.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Buildings have doors and windows. Ruins have door-shaped gaps and window-shaped holes.

Ruins are not buildings... They are a base of area terrain which you can move through freely (except up to second levels). The rules for buildings do not apply unless agreed the terrain will act as buildings pre-game.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nkelsch wrote:Ruins are not buildings... They are a base of area terrain.


To Nitpick:

They are only "a base of area terrain" if both players agree that the ruins should be area terrain. they can be classified as area or non-area terrain.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Montain Home, Ar

Well, the ruins we use are mounted on foam board with about a 1-1 1/2 inch border. I had my Hellhound on the border, still being in the difficult terrain, and I had to roll even though I was not leaving the terrain. Did I need to roll again or should I have been able to move freely in the terrain?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

you have to roll anytime you enter, or leave, or move through the area terrain.

So you still have to roll even though you are not leaving the terrain. (Though you only roll once per move, so if you go forward 2 inches, then turn and go through the terrain 4 inches without leaving, it is one roll at the beginning of the move.)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Montain Home, Ar

ok

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: