Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 16:55:58
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Given the latest FAQ, can Anrakyr still use his ability? It does require line-of-sight, but the CCB is an open-topped vehicle.
---
Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:12:13
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Since it requires LoS and if the FaQ you posted is correct, then you can not use it while embarked.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:13:46
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Nope. The Open-Topped vehicle rules only give permission to "fire" out of the vehicle.
The Fire Points rules gave permission to fire or use a psychic power from a fire point, but that's now been restricted by the brand-new FAQ to just shooting.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:15:14
Subject: Re:Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
To expound upon what DR is getting at, is that Open-Topped vehicles still have Fire Points through which you must draw LoS, just not specific Fire Points.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:17:25
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I can manage that, I think. Just means that I'll mind-in-the-machine less, or not move flat-out as much with the CCB.
I don't have my BRB in front of me, can you embark and disembark on the same turn? (I'm guessing no)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:19:03
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
No, sadly. Yeah, this does make Anrakyr significantly less awesome. I'd say easily half the Necron players at Conflict this weekend were using this combo.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:34:30
Subject: Re:Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
I'd say it makes Anrakyr almost entirely useless. There is nothing he can do that a regular Overlord can't, for cheaper.
You could always run him outside a CCB, but that doesn't seem too great.
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:49:38
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
but is an open topped vehicle a firepoint? Just because you can shoot out of it doesn't mean it's a fire point
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:51:15
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
He still does the surfboard lord trick, although for 65 points more.
He still has tactical options for that 65 points, including upgrading a unit of immortals to be more tar-pitty. When his barge gets popped, he can still Mind-in-the-Machine. You can always hop him out for a spell too (drive over something, moving only 12", hop out, Mind-in-the-Machine, Tachyon Arrow, hop back in next turn).
I agree though, for competitive lists, I'll be re-thinking his inclusion, and likely going for the Surfboard Lord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:51:36
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
bagtagger wrote:but is an open topped vehicle a firepoint? Just because you can shoot out of it doesn't mean it's a fire point
Open-topped do not have FP, instead the passengers may fire, measuring range and los from the hull. Same thing basically.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:51:41
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
bagtagger wrote:but is an open topped vehicle a firepoint? Just because you can shoot out of it doesn't mean it's a fire point
For the vehicle to function within the ruleset, your passengers need to fire from a firepoint, even though it looks like the entire vehicle is a firepoint. Automatically Appended Next Post: pretre wrote:bagtagger wrote:but is an open topped vehicle a firepoint? Just because you can shoot out of it doesn't mean it's a fire point
Open-topped do not have FP, instead the passengers may fire, measuring range and los from the hull. Same thing basically.
I have to agree with Don Mondo from the rumor thread:
don_mondo wrote:
Don't have specific fire points. They just use the entire hull as a fire point. But it's still a fire point, or they are unable to shoot at all..................
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 17:53:57
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:57:04
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
just because the definitiions are the same doesn't mean they are the same. Take eldar dire swords and ID they do the same thing but EW does not grant protection from the dire sword because the dire sword does not say it causes ID. It does not say that open topped means it has one big fire point. therefore it's not a fire point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 17:58:09
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
pretre wrote:bagtagger wrote:but is an open topped vehicle a firepoint? Just because you can shoot out of it doesn't mean it's a fire point
Open-topped do not have FP, instead the passengers may fire, measuring range and los from the hull. Same thing basically.
This can go either way; O-T says they have no "specific" fire point, which may be meant to mean they still use the Fire Point rules, but they just aren't limited in number. The Fire Point rules being the part of the vehicle rules which actually talks in any detail about shooting out/grants permission to do so. Some folks read the O-T rules as granting independent permission, but I think it's debatable.
Doesn't matter either way for this question, though.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 18:33:01
Subject: Re:Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
From one of the other threads about this issue:
Lehnsherr wrote:What they are saying is that outside of the"Fire Points" section of the rulebook, you have no permission to use anything while embarked on a vehicle.
The Fire Points section gives you permission to shoot while embarked.
Then you look up "Open Topped" to determine how that specific rule interacts with "Fire Points" in order to be able to even fire to begin with.
The Open Topped section says to measure from the hull, as there are no "specific fire points" on an open topped vehicle.
In order to fire though, you still draw permission from the "Fire Points" section of the book, and according to the new FAQ which specifically mentions "Fire Points" Anrakyr can no longer use his ability while embarked on the CCB.
QFT.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 18:49:05
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So does that include a KFF or Hood/Runic weapon? Automatically Appended Next Post: I'll answer this myself it only applies to los so KFF and Hoods still work fine from vehicles
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 18:50:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 18:51:43
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
bagtagger wrote:So does that include a KFF or Hood/Runic weapon?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
I'll answer this myself it only applies to los so KFF and Hoods still work fine from vehicles
Exactly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 18:53:29
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't believe a KFF requires LOS.
|
What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money
"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:52:48
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
I don't believe there are any Open Topped Vehicles that have fire points. So technically the BRB change has no effect on them.
That being said, I suspect that this ruling was specifically written to nerf Anrakyr (Tzeentch knows why he wasn't exactly OP).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 19:55:50
Subject: Re:Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
That... makes me sad. Was he really so powerful that he warranted a nerf? Guess I'll be going with Zandrekh/Obyron now.
Although... I guess if you just threw Anrakyr in a Nightscythe with a squad of Immortals and then dropped them into the middle of a battle, it might still work. Eh, but still, he's no longer the Necron Surfboard Champ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 19:57:22
Tomb Kings.... In SPAAAAAAACE! (5500)
Tomb Kings.... Not in SPAAAAAAACE! (2500)
Bearers of the Word of Lorgar (2500) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:07:49
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
There are 2 kinds of transports regarding how passengers draw LoS. Transports with fire points and open topped. If this faq was to affect both cases then it would have simply said that passengers may not use non shooting abilities that require LoS. No need to further elaborate and specifically mention the fire points.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:12:43
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
copper.talos wrote:There are 2 kinds of transports regarding how passengers draw LoS. Transports with fire points and open topped. If this faq was to affect both cases then it would have simply said that passengers may not use non shooting abilities that require LoS. No need to further elaborate and specifically mention the fire points.
You mention fire points because all LOS-drawing rules depend on Fire Points to work. Just because you know how to draw LOS and fire from an open-topped vehicle, doesn't mean the open-topped vehicles shooting rules aren't reliant on the Fire Point rules to function.
The Fire Point rules are what give embarked passengers the right to fire. Then open-topped rules explain how they work in conjunction with the Fire Point rules. See Lehsnerr's (sp?) post above for a concise definition of how this works.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:20:20
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I am saying that since it mentions specifically fire points it affects transports with fire points. If it were to affect ALL transports then there would be no need to specify fire points at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:41:09
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
copper.talos wrote:I am saying that since it mentions specifically fire points it affects transports with fire points. If it were to affect ALL transports then there would be no need to specify fire points at all.
All transports have fire points defined. To talk about transports is to talk about "transports with fire points". Some may have zero fire points, but even that is defined in their entry. An Eldar wave Serpent, for example, has Fire Points: None in its entry.
I am not around my library of codices right now, but what do Dark Eldar Raiders say for Fire Points? Or the CCB?
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 20:51:31
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
How can you use a non existant fire point? Can I use a non existant access point too and disembark from the front of a wave serpent?
The faq talks about fire points. You have to use a fire points for the faq's ruling to be valid. Vehicles with no fire points are not affected by this faq. Automatically Appended Next Post: How can you use a non existant fire point? Can I use a non existant access point too and disembark from the front of a wave serpent?
The faq talks about fire points. You have to use a fire points for the faq's ruling to be valid. Vehicles with no fire points are not affected by this faq.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 20:51:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:03:10
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
copper.talos wrote:How can you use a non existant fire point? Can I use a non existant access point too and disembark from the front of a wave serpent?
The faq talks about fire points. You have to use a fire points for the faq's ruling to be valid. Vehicles with no fire points are not affected by this faq.
Right, which are tanks with no transport capacity. Any transport will have a 'Fire Points' entry, even if it is 0. That means a FAQ talking about fire points is talking about all transports, since all transports have fire points, even if the fire point entry is 0.
It's sort of like Ballistic Skill. A model may have a Ballistic Skill of 0. It doesn't mean that the model doesn't have a Baliistic Skill. 0 is the value.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:03:27
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Good job open topped vehicles do still have fire points then
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:20:35
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
puma713 wrote:Any transport will have a 'Fire Points' entry, even if it is 0..
puma713 wrote:I am not around my library of codices right now, but what do Dark Eldar Raiders say for Fire Points? Or the CCB?
I have both the DE and Necron books in front of me and none of the Open Topped Transports mention Fire Points, even to say Fire Points: 0 or None.
And the Nightscythe does mention Fire Points so its not an oversight.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 21:30:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:22:38
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Thanatos_elNyx wrote:puma713 wrote:Any transport will have a 'Fire Points' entry, even if it is 0..
puma713 wrote:I am not around my library of codices right now, but what do Dark Eldar Raiders say for Fire Points? Or the CCB?
I have both the DE and Necron books in front of me and none of the Open Topped Transports mention Fire Points, even to say Fire Points: 0 or None.
Hm. I'll have to check it out when I get home. It may not matter to the big picture - just that when a FAQ references a vehicle with a fire point, they are referencing all transports, not just "transports with fire points".
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:31:54
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I confirm Thanatos_elNyx. Open topped transports do not mention at all "firepoints".
And in any case, when a faq affects all transports, it is worded to affect all transports. Not transports with firepoints...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/16 21:44:05
Subject: Can Anrakyr use Mind-in-the-Machine while one a CCB?
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
copper.talos wrote:I confirm Thanatos_elNyx. Open topped transports do not mention at all "firepoints".
And in any case, when a faq affects all transports, it is worded to affect all transports. Not transports with firepoints...
You're misquoting the FAQ. It references 'a vehicle' - that would be any vehicle. May a model embarked upon a vehicle use its fire points to draw LOS?
If you're discussing vehicles that don't have firepoints, then the discussion is moot anyway. All the rules for Open-Topped say is that the vehicles don't have "specific" fire points, but that they draw LOS from the hull of the vehicle. That is to say the hull of the vehicle is the fire point. Why would that sentence need to be so clarified? Why mention fire points at all if they had no bearing on the Open-Topped rules?
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
|