Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 14:07:09
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
If there is a wagon with burna's in it. I charge my CCB into assault with it. The burna's can't hurt AV 13, so they do not overwatch. The CCB moves into base with the wagon. Then I declare my scarabs are charging at the wagon, can the burna's overwatch the scarabs?
The reason I ask, the CCB can't be locked in cc so are the burna's considered to be in CC?
Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 14:15:51
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Due to the wording of Overwatch (can only fire Overwatch once per turn) it implies you are not actually locked into combat until the Fight sub-phase. AS such, if you do not try to raost the CCB, you can still roast the scarabs.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 15:58:43
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you can overwatch the scarabs if the same actual assault phase and overwatch hasn't been used prior in the same assault phase.
Happyjew is spot on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 16:00:20
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Even if they're in base-to-base with another enemy? Are you sure?
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 16:28:41
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can only use 1 overwatch a turn (with that unit). So your fine there. You cannot use overwatch locked in CC, however a vehicle cannot be locked in CC so your good there too. ( pg 76)
Due to the wording of Overwatch (can only fire Overwatch once per turn) it implies you are not actually locked into combat until the Fight sub-phase. AS such, if you do not try to raost the CCB, you can still roast the scarabs.
Units in BTB contact are locked in combat so could not shoot at a a second unit charging them.
Edit for clarity.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 16:35:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/18 16:34:49
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Happyjew wrote:Due to the wording of Overwatch (can only fire Overwatch once per turn) it implies you are not actually locked into combat until the Fight sub-phase. Fragile wrote: You can only use 1 overwatch a turn. So your fine there.
The restriction on only firing Overwatch once per turn is on units being charged. "Also note that a unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/18 16:38:11
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 02:39:50
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The given example is burnas in a wagon. Since the embarked unit is never locked in combat, it can Overwatch against every assaulting unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 03:19:45
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
rigeld2 wrote:The given example is burnas in a wagon. Since the embarked unit is never locked in combat, it can Overwatch against every assaulting unit.
No, they are still restricted to 1 overwatch a turn.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 03:54:33
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
Mesa, AZ
|
I do not believe the embarked unit is restricted to only firing once. Page 21, "Also note that a unit being charged may only fire Overwatch once per turn."
Please note the underlined part. An embarked unit is never the unit being charged, the vehicle is.
|
“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”
"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 04:00:14
Subject: Re:Charge overwatch question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Hmmmm, maybe. I still wouldn't try and claim it except in the most competitive of environments.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 04:43:59
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well by strict RAW, that would appear to be correct, however, I think this falls into poor wording again and I dont think GW would change such a fundamental rule for units in a transport without clarifying that in the text.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 04:45:19
Subject: Re:Charge overwatch question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I suppose you could justify it by saying the models in the transport are in a more secure firing position and so are able to fire more then once at charging enemies/are desperate to not die in a steel coffin and so defend it with greater vigor.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 04:51:13
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lol, well I could justify lots of things in the rules  Whether they are correct or not is a different story.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 10:47:10
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
You should remember that all charge moves are done at the same time. So there is no problem with burnas burning the scarabs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 10:50:23
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
pizzaguardian wrote:You should remember that all charge moves are done at the same time. So there is no problem with burnas burning the scarabs.
Not in 6th.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 15:46:28
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
There is nothing I have seen to back that up. Otherwise two squads that assault one enemy squad would hit at different times.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/19 15:47:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 16:46:14
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Actually pg.20
1. Declare Charge
2. Resolve overwatch
3. Roll charge range
4. Charge move
5. Declare next charge
So each charge is done separately. That's my issue. However the big question is, can the burna's overwatch when the CCB is in base with the wagon?
Thanks again
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 17:04:20
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
knightpredator wrote:Actually pg.20
1. Declare Charge
2. Resolve overwatch
3. Roll charge range
4. Charge move
5. Declare next charge
So each charge is done separately. That's my issue. However the big question is, can the burna's overwatch when the CCB is in base with the wagon?
Thanks again
That's been the way since 3rd ed (bar the overwatch), shooting happens at the same time so why don't charges?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 17:12:44
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Because shooting *doesn't* happen at the same time. One unit shoots, then the next unit shoots.
Same with Charges.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/19 23:44:13
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
coredump wrote:Because shooting *doesn't* happen at the same time. One unit shoots, then the next unit shoots.
Same with Charges.
Actually, done in the "charge sub phase" all at once until complete. brb p. 22 right column 4th para. Than move on to fight phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 00:19:29
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Byte wrote:coredump wrote:Because shooting *doesn't* happen at the same time. One unit shoots, then the next unit shoots.
Same with Charges.
Actually, done in the "charge sub phase" all at once until complete. brb p. 22 right column 4th para. Than move on to fight phase.
It doesn't say that. It says in the 3rd paragraph "Once all the models in a charging unit have moved, the player can choose another unit and declare another charge if he wishes." Meaning you finish with one charge then do another. One at a time.
Then the 4th paragraph says that after all charges have been completed you fight. It doesn't mean what you think it means.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 00:52:30
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Captain Antivas wrote: Byte wrote:coredump wrote:Because shooting *doesn't* happen at the same time. One unit shoots, then the next unit shoots.
Same with Charges.
Actually, done in the "charge sub phase" all at once until complete. brb p. 22 right column 4th para. Than move on to fight phase.
It doesn't say that. It says in the 3rd paragraph "Once all the models in a charging unit have moved, the player can choose another unit and declare another charge if he wishes." Meaning you finish with one charge then do another. One at a time.
Then the 4th paragraph says that after all charges have been completed you fight. It doesn't mean what you think it means.
My point is, they aren't locked until the fight phase. So as long as overwatch isn't used on the first charging unit, the until can overwatch on the second charging unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 03:00:29
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Byte wrote:
My point is, they aren't locked until the fight phase. So as long as overwatch isn't used on the first charging unit, the until can overwatch on the second charging unit.
Pg 23. Under "Who can Fight".
Units that have one or more models in Base contact with enemies are locked in combat.
That means once you charge and have a model in BtB (meaning not a failed charge) you are locked in combat and the unit being charged can not fire Overwatch.
It then goes and states what a locked unit can or can not do. It also gives the definition of being engaged. Being locked in combat and being engaged are different things.
EDIT: To the question at hand. Yes the burnas can fire at the scarabs because they are not locked in combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/20 03:04:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 03:26:34
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Do note that P.23 covers the Fight sub-phase, and not the Charge Sub-phase.
Charges happen in the Charge Sub-phase.
If they were to adhere to Pg 23. Under "Who can Fight" then once the initial model makes contact they could no longer move except for pile in moves, which is not true.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 04:13:46
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
DeathReaper wrote:Do note that P.23 covers the Fight sub-phase, and not the Charge Sub-phase.
Charges happen in the Charge Sub-phase.
If they were to adhere to Pg 23. Under "Who can Fight" then once the initial model makes contact they could no longer move except for pile in moves, which is not true.
Being locked in combat is a definition. It just happens to be defined in the Fight-sub phase. If you look at several other place in the book it refers to pg 23 for the definition of Locked in Combat. It is a global definition and not limited to the fight sub-phase. Movement( Moving and Close Combat pg 10) , Shooting (Who can shoot pg 12) and Assault (Declaring Charge pg 20) all refer to the definition of being locked in combat. In the index the rules for Locked in Combat are given as being on pg 23. EDIT: and pg 28, but that refers specifically to not being able to shoot into a close combat.
And the permission to move the rest of the unit after the Initial Charger is given on pg 21 under "Move Initial Charger". Other wise you would be right. Once the first model makes contact they would be locked and not able to move without that specific permission to move the rest of the unit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/20 04:17:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 04:35:14
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Cant trumps Must. P.23 trumps P.21 Or they are not locked in CC until the fight sub-phase. Either way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/20 04:35:53
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 06:11:19
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, a unit becomes locked in combat when the charge move places the charging unit in BTB. Gloom spelled it out pretty clearly. Your argument that once a unit is locked in combat it cannot move other than pile in is immaterial to the charge move which locked in in combat.
Charge move locks it in CC. Once in CC, it cannot further move...etc.. until CC is resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 06:41:09
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fragile wrote:No, a unit becomes locked in combat when the charge move places the charging unit in BTB. Gloom spelled it out pretty clearly. Your argument that once a unit is locked in combat it cannot move other than pile in is immaterial to the charge move which locked in in combat.
Charge move locks it in CC. Once in CC, it cannot further move...etc.. until CC is resolved.
Right, the Charge move locks it in CC.
So Either
1) Once the initial charger makes base contact it is locked in combat and no other model from the unit can move, since now the unit cant move and Cant trumps Must.
Or
2) They make the charge move as normal because they are not locked in CC until the fight sub-phase.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 10:45:06
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
DeathReaper wrote:1) Once the initial charger makes base contact it is locked in combat and no other model from the unit can move, since now the unit cant move and Cant trumps Must.
Page reference for this? I can't see anything to suggest that a model can't charge if his unit is already locked in combat. The closest I can find is p20, which says that a unit can't declare a charge if the unit is already locked, but by the time the unit is locked the charge has already begun so this doesn't change anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 14:54:38
Subject: Charge overwatch question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I think the rules are pretty clear, that once you move into b2b with the enemy unit, they are locked in combat. Therefore, as previously stated, once you get into base to base in the charge sub phase, they can no longer fire overwatch. It makes you choose, do I overwatch the squad of termagants who might not make it in, or do I save it for the genestealers in case the gants roll like crap.
|
|
 |
 |
|